Ratings based on 1,525 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The best hotel for vacation we enjoy a lot the food are very good quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great all-inclusive, beautiful location

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, modern, and very comfortable. Our every need was taken care of!
Cons: The beach is not the best-- full of seaweed and not great for swimming, though this isn't something the hotel can necessarily control.
Location: We did a day trip to Tulum-- very fun! We had many options to choose from when picking a day trip. It seemed like there was a lot to do!
We loved our stay at Excellence Riveria Cancun. Staff were wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We saw nothing but smiling faces! The resort is gorgeous, though the beach is a bit sea-weedy. Food was good overall, though some restaurants were better than others-- a few of the restaurants were a little bland. The rooms were huge and very clean, very comfortable. There were several different pool areas and activity areas so we never felt crowded or cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Best hotel I've stayed at in Mexico

Posted Aug 28, 2015
This was, hands down, the best hotel I've stayed at in Mexico! It was honestly, one of the best hotels I've stayed at period. the service and food was fantastic! You will never want to leave the lazy river! We will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city, ok

Love this resort!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
This was our second time to this resort. The staff is always so friendly and accommodating. Their is a minor seaweed problem this time but it's beyond their control. We still had a great time! Other resorts were not putting in near as much effort to clean it as Excellence did and their entire resorts smelled of it. It only smelled if you were right on the shoreline. Food is always great. I recommend anyone to try them if you haven't already. So many people are return customers so that says a lot. Cannot wait till next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great resort and great people.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The staff! Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The grounds were also well maintained.
Location: This resort is set off away from everything. You can catch a cab or van to Playa del Carmen or Puerto Morelos if you would like.
From the time you step off your transport until the time they put your luggage back on, the staff is excellent. The resort is very well maintained and offers a little bit of something for everyone. There are plenty of quiet pools away from the beach, party pools with a swim up bar down by the beach and of course the beach. There is the seaweed issue going on so you couldn't get into the water, but that's a whole Caribbean issue not an Excellence issue. There is a very good assortment of buffet meals for breakfast and lunch. They have chilaquillas and Mexican coffee, what else do you need?!? The Wi-Fi can be somewhat spotty and the best signal area is the lobby area. Luckily they have a very nice coffee shop (all inclusive) with a variety of drinks and pastries in the lobby as well as numerous couches. It's a great place to get a cup and relax and catch up on anything internet related if need be. The evening dinner restaurants are decent and if nothing else, room service is 24 hours a day! The bars serve 5 different beers and most of the high end liquors as well. We generally don't go to the same resort and always mix it up for variety, but this is one place we may actually return to! If not this one, we may try one of their sister resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Greatest Vacation of My Life

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Amazing French restaurant, PHENOMENAL staff and customer service, great pools, AMAZING activity staff - Ximena, Fernanda, and German are great
Cons: More outlets in the room would be helpful. Other than that, everything was excellent!
Location: The location is great. Only 20 minutes from the airport makes for a very short drive after your flight. We went nearby to a dolphin excursion.
Literally. My new bride and I visited here on our honeymoon without much knowledge other than reading reviews and comparing it to other resorts in the area. Since it was our honeymoon, we were looking for a resort that was adults only but didn't have a club-like atmosphere. This was that place. With mostly couples, it became a fun place to grab unlimited food and drinks while playing volleyball with other people. We spent every night watching one of the fantastic shows that they had which included an urban dance show, a circus-like balancing act, as well as a Michael Jackson Tribute. There's way too much to comment on but one thing I will mention that will always remain in my memory is looking out over the lazy river in the morning and hearing the calming music from the Spa playing throughout the grounds. This was the most relaxing and comforting way to start my day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful hotel and great all-inclusive amenities

Posted Aug 23, 2015
This is the perfect place for couples searching for a relaxing, adults only resort. It feels smaller than it is--pools are spread out, and lots of restaurants and bars so nothing is too crowded, but there's still clear "fun" areas like the main pool. The food, drinks and service were amazing. We are pretty picky but when your WELL liquor is tanqueray and stoli it's going to be a good trip :-) the restaurants were fantastic. Best was definitely the French restaurant, but Spice, the Lobster House, and Basmati were all really good too. For lunch, Las Olas on the beach was the best meal of the day. It was always something new and revolved around a theme, like seafood. The staff was also great--everyone just seemed so happy. You could see them hanging out together during their breaks, playing beach volleyball and having a drink. Everyone, regardless of whether they were bartending, cleaning rooms or just walking by, greeted you with a smile and hello. Everyone also spoke pretty good English which was great. The only drawback was the beach, but that's not the hotel's fault and the seaweed wasn't so bad our last days there. Stayed for 8 days total and can't wait to go back. Gone to 4-5 star resorts in the area before and this was by far the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kaukauna, WI

Great Getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Smaller resort with plenty to enjoy. Could join in the fun at main pool or lots of space to find quiet for just relaxing. Food was GREAT.
Location: Didn't really leave resort except for the snorkel trip which was great.
Booked our trip on Monday left on Tuesday for 4 nights. Spent a great and relaxing time. Swimout room was great choice. Plenty of sun and pool time during the day. Only drawback was seaweed on the beach they tried to keep it cleaned up but mother nature is tough. Still beach was nice and plenty of space to relax. Took one snorkeling trip right from hotel out to the reef you can see from beach short 25 min boat ride and 45 minutes of snorkeling, very nice plenty to see. Hotel is very very nice. Numerous restaurants to choose from each night with no restrictions on dining options. Restaurant on beach for lunch had a different theme each day, We were truly impressed with selection and quality of the food, everything was delicious. Entertainment at night was fun and variety was good. Not a wild party atmosphere but very enjoyable for couples and small groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Excellent resort! Very personable staff that go above and beyond to make you feel special!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It was excellent just like the resort name.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The grounds, service, and food!!!!!!!
Cons: Our only negative was the ocean, which is mother nature, not the hotel's fault. We did not get in the water due to the seaweed. This is abnormal.
Location: Beautiful beach disregarding the seaweed. We walked to Puerto Morelos.
The resort was over the top, more than we ever have been to in service, food and the grounds. The resort employed 700+ employees. With 11 restaurants, 6 winding pools, 9 bars, and a beautiful spa what was there to want? We upgraded to the Excellence Club, which gave us a section which had “our” own pool, bar, and lounge. The grounds included fountains, foliage, and many structures including gazebo, stage, ice cream shack, and theater. Restaurants…..There were two people in charge of each table, white linens all the time including napkins that were put in your lap. We could go to our lounge for snacks, drinks, coffee. The breakfast buffet was overwhelming – thinly sliced meats, fruits, omelet made to order, mimosas, bloody Mary, yogurts, cereals, warm Mexican foods, breads, pastries, waffles, pancakes, juices, cheeses, meats, eggs, potatoes, sandwiches, and made to order crapes. For lunch, we usually ate at the Oceanside lunch buffet which featured a certain food everyday usually cooked on a large grill or skillet with an open air eating deck on the ocean as well. You could also get a wood-baked oven personal pan pizza to go. We ate dinner at Agave (Mexican), Basmati (Indian), La Isabella (French), Spice (Japanese hibachi), and Toscana (Italian). Food was incredible! We used room service twice – once they set it up in our room; and the other we had them put it in the “nook” at the door, so we did not have to deal with anyone. Aroma Café for coffee drinks and shakes.