Ratings based on 1,746 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: An exhilarating experience at the resort. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Numerous activities, amazing food and drinks. It's a paradise.
Expedia concierge was very helpful and provided us with multiple options with regards to things to do around the resort. Overall a great experience booking through expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We had a beautiful room with an ocean view. Staff was great as was the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Superb hotel in a quiet part of the coast

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Everything about this hotel was great! Perfect venue for couples.
Cons: Everything was in good condition, but given it's a beach resort, there will no doubt be a constant challenge to keep everything well maintained.
Location: You can take a bike ride to Puerto Morelos. The bike ride is nice but the town isn't very interesting. Tulum is not far away. Chichen Itza ~2hrs.
Located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen, this hotel is positioned in a quiet location that's perfect for relaxation. The food, service, staff and facilities are all brilliant. The design of the hotel makes it feel very spacious and we had no difficulties with bar service or restaurant availability. Evening entertainment was good, particularly the main events. The Excellence Club is a great upgrade, with its own pool and private beach section. The staff do a great job of looking after you there. There were *lots* of anniversary and honeymoon guests, and several wedding ceremonys while we were there. And yet, these events don't encroach upon the enjoyment of others, because everything is so well organised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Perfect venue for a wedding.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: It was always very clean and the food was the best! Also adults only makes for a nice retreat.
Location: The location was great. Although we did not do anything on this trip, Playa de Carmen is close by.
We were here for a wedding and the venue was perfect. Although it was windy for the week we were there, it was still beautiful. The food was awesome, the drinks were first class, and the staff was great. We would like to come back at a time when the pools are a bit warmer, but for January it was still mostly comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as host of your wedding celebration and for taking the time to share your experience with all Expedia readers. We are amused to read your amiable words regarding your experience with us and to know that you had a perfect wedding at our resort. Thank you for mentioning the friendly and attentive service provided by our staff and the delicious food & drinks served which made your experience so memorable. It will be a great honor to welcome you again soon and provide another amazing stay. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence Riviera Cancun - Second Visit

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The very friendly staff
Cons: Food quality had slipped in some areas.
Location: Beautiful beach and warm water in the Gulf
This was our second time at this facility and it is quite luxurious and the staff are top notch. Plenty of bars and restaurant to choose from. We did find the quality of the food not quite as good as our first visit, which was a surprise. Not bad, just not quite as good as I remember. Nightly entertainment was of high quality as well. Overall a very good all inclusive adults only resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun once again as your getaway destination and for recommending to all Expedia users. It is great to know that once again you enjoyed our luxury resort and the excellent services & activities provided by our staff. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We will be more than happy to be able to serve you again in a near future! Please, receive our warmest regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, just don't use the onsite dive shop

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The dive shop
Location: It's not nearby, but definitely go to one of the Cenotes and Chichen Itza
The hotel, the facilities, the food, the staff are all great, you almost don't need to leave but make sure you do there is so much to see away from there. The only downside for me was the dive shop, I had a terrible experience with the guide. I got the impression they tend to get guests that want a couple of dives and nothing more, the guide was beyond surprised I had my own kit. When we arrived at the dive site (the wreck) he was over the side and in the water before I was even kitted up, if I was a novice or nervous diver who was meant to do my kit check ? The dive itself was absolutely first class but the instructor called it after less than 20 minutes despite me showing him on my computer I still had 15 minutes bottom time and over half a cylinder of gas left. He wasn't interested at all, and surfaced and on the trip back to shore had the audacity to ask me for good feedback. $81 for that experience, I was not impressed. I fed this back at the dive shop and they apologised and said they had previous complaints but offered nothing. If they had previous complaints why was he there, he is not safe. I was not after a refund but did expect a gesture given they knew this was a problem. If you do more than the occasional dive, go into town, to a proper dive shop ( I did afterwards) it's cheaper and you get proper service from proper divers rather than reps chasing commission.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent vacation in Excellence Riviera

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: - Suite - Food - Cleanness - Staff - Swimming pool - SPA - Life band
Cons: Nothing can think of
Location: Only 30 min away from airport.
In Dec 2016 my husband and I spent one week in Excellence Rivera Cancun and that was one of the best vacation ever! Room was equipped with everything what can we could think of; our outside amenities as we’ve stayed in swim-up suite (hummock, kind-size sunbed, Jacuzzi and separate assess to huge swimming pool) made us want to stay in a room all day. Room service was 24 hours and it was cleaned twice a day! Bar was refilled every day without any reminders. Food was delicious and fresh! I don’t remember seeing such variety! There are 7 or so restaurants on a site and multiple bars. No reservation was required and we can visit any restaurants we in a mood for: Mexican, French, Japanese, Indian, Lobster House… Also there is a coffee shop where you can grab fresh espresso etc. with pastry. Territory of the hotel looks beautiful because of Christmas decoration, well maintained gardens and plenty of sculptures and fountains. Clean beach with white silky sand, sunbeds and towels made us feel comfortable. But don’t wait 11 am – you want find free sunbed in a shadow place. It worth to visit SPA on site! Every evening it was a different kind of entertainment from life band to thematic parties. Staff was SO friendly, they tried to make our stay perfect. We felt welcomed and didn’t have any communication issues. To summarize, I would like to thank management and all staff for doing such a great job and wish in 2017 success and 5* rating on all websites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as your holiday destination and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are honored to have received such a high rating review from a valuable guest. We are also thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, due to the friendly and excellent personalized service provided by our colleagues and the outstanding facilities encountered. Thank you very much for your detailed review in which you point so many positive aspects of your experience with us. It will be a privilege to welcome you back soon and provide you once again a remarkable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rowlett, Tx

Very nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: 1) No children. 2) Service. 3) The various pools, including the lazy river. 4) The beach.
Cons: Nothing to speak of.
Location: The facilities were so nice, we did not feel the need to schedule any offsite trips.
We visited during the Christmas week and fell in love with the hotel. Everything is first class from the moment you arrive and are greeted at the door by your name and a glass of champagne. The food at the various restaurants was very good, although some dishes can be hit or miss. Service, everywhere, is excellent and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jim & Susan, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. We are very pleased to know that your experience in our resort exceeded your expectations. We are also looking forward to welcoming you again and provide another memorable vacation! Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellence is Excellentè!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We loved this resort! Upon arrival, we were greeted with glasses of champagne and warm towels. Check in was a breeze. We found the facilities to be huge and a little overwhelming at first but after a couple of days, we learned our way around. The beach was beautiful with daily activities. The beach was crowded and chairs filled up by 9AM. Late arriving guests to the beach who couldn't find spots either sat on the sand, or dumped towels that were already reserved in empty chairs so that they could use the chairs. Yes people, it's that crowded! Drinks were also served on the beach. We loved the restaurants and the food. None of the restaurants required reservations but there are long wait times and dress codes. We loved our room which was cleaned early every day and the refrigerator was stocked daily. The staff is WONDERFUL and friendly. Any issues were resolved immediately. Oh, and we also loved the lazy river which was quiet and peaceful. Do stay here, you will love this place. It's a home away from home. I was sad to leave, but I know I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Monique, Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as the destination for your holidays and for recommending us to all Expedia users. It is very gratifying to read your kind comments regarding your stay and to know that our partners, delivering an excellent service, were able to give you a memorable experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the quality and variety of food encountered that made your stay so delighting. It will be a privilege to welcome you back next year and provide you once again a remarkable experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Amazing experience.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
My mom and dad and I stayed over Christmas. We were blown away by the hotel. We had two rooms both the jr suite with pool view which is their base room. It was amazing. Huge room with a huge jacuzzi tub a sitting area with a couch and a balcony with a couch. I can't imagine how nice the more pricy rooms are. We had turn down service each night and the house keeping crew were amazing. The design of the pools is great as the lazy river set up allows for a feeling of seclusion and privacy when you are laying out or swimming. The only two minor complaints would be the food and the ocean. The food was fine nothing to write home about but not bad. Portion sizes for side items were very small but since it is all inclusive you can always order more. My favorite meal was the day I ordered breakfast in my room and looked out over my balcony. The beach had its pros and cons. The sand was perfect. White and fine grained. The issue with that is the water was a little murky because the sand was so fine it would get brushed up with the waves. But if you go a little further out it seemed clearer. The other issue is seaweed. However they are all over keeping the beach clean. They have a machine that cleans the seaweed every hour and staff that rakes up in between. The drinks are very good a little lighter on the alcohol during the day and a little stronger at night which is great for me so I don't get too tired too early! I would definitely stay here again and reccomend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as your Christmas getaway destination and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are delighted to read that you found a memorable time at our resort and the beautiful facilities & ambiance was a perfect scenario for your holidays. Thank you for adding remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your experience so enjoyable. We also would like to congratulate for your engagement. In addition, we appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to improve in order to provide the best vacation experience and services that our guests deserve. It will be a privilege to welcome you back in a near future and provide you once again a remarkable experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!