Ratings based on 2,512 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort, pools & swim up bar amazing.

Posted May 23, 2017
Jorge & Fidel are poolside waiter/bartender were fantastic!! The banana mama was not short of flavor or alcohol!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Relax with your loved one(s) in this paradise!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Everything! The staff are incredibly kind and professional, and the facilities are very beautiful and well-maintained.
Cons: Honestly, nothing!
Location: Location is great--right on the water, with access to water sports like SUP and kayaking. They also offer tours to Tulum and nearby cenotes.
The Excellence was hands-down the most incredible travel/hotel experience I have had in my 10 years of international travel. The staff (Javier at reception, Elio at the swim-up bar, Ricardo and Modesto at the restaurants, and Marisol with housekeeping to name just a few) were unbelievably kind, professional, and attentive. The rooms were gorgeous, with clean marble floors, a beautiful elevated king bed, a walk-in rainfall shower, and a lovely view from the balcony (with daybed!). We opted for extra spa services at Miile, which we also can't recommend highly enough. The hour of hydrotherapy before combined with our 100 minutes of couples massage was unreal. My fiance and I loved being able to unwind and focus on quality time with each other in this gorgeous 5-star community and would recommend it for anyone looking to relax in the sun, eat good food, drink good drinks, and enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lives up to its name

Posted May 21, 2017
Great food, staff and cleanliness in the resort, will definetly stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing!

Posted May 20, 2017
This was my first time in mexico at an all i clusive resort and it was amazing! The staff was super friendly and quick! The amenities were great and all the food and drinks were great! The only too I have for other travelers is to go with the "local experts" for your day trips instead of the hotel concierge you will save quite a bit of money for the same trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. The beach is nice and clean.

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Entertainments need to be improved.
The staff is nice and friendly. I love the mattresses on the beach. Not a lot of entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yelm washington

The staff at this resort is like no other

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: shopping
Location: Puerto Morales is ok for shopping there are a lot of things to do outside the resort.
This was the best resort in the area as far as we are concerned and can't wait to go back. The food was good and waiters by the pool are excellent Josue and Fidel were the best. No need to leave this resort except for shopping as the resort stores are expensive and limited. Other than that In our opinion this is the best all inclusive we've ever been too. The spa was great, and the staff works hard day and night to make sure everything is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dianne, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as your holiday destination and for taking a valued time to share your experience. It is a great honor to receive such a high rating review from a valuable guest and to know that you found with us your preferred getaway destination. We are also very pleased to read your kind words regarding the excellent service provided by our colleagues and for the pampering treatments from the spa. Thank you for your amiable comments and appreciation! We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable getaway! Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Bed bugs, Junior suite 4008

Posted May 15, 2017
Look at the pictures. No response from hotel after two emails.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Liza, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this discontent to our attention. On behalf of all the staff and the management at Excellence Riviera Cancun, we deeply regret not exceeding your expectations. At Excellence Riviera Cancun the satisfaction & wellness of our guests is one of our main priorities. To preserve the high-quality service that distinguishes us, strict health & safety standards are established throughout the property, with the objective of delivering the most relaxing and safe vacation experience. Rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the attention of the management on the property. Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal in order to further discuss this matter or in case you require any future assistance. Please receive our warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted May 12, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel 11 times now.. The hotel is clean and the people are friendly.. We would not go anywhere else. The weather there was perfect and so was our vacation at the Excellence Riviera Cancun..
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing once again Excellence Riviera Cancun, for being a loyal guest, and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are honored to have received such a high rating review from a valuable guest. We are also thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, due to the friendly and excellent personalized service provided by our colleagues and the outstanding facilities encountered. It will be a privilege to welcome you back soon and provide you once again a remarkable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend!

Posted May 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great food, and very friendly staff!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steph, Thank you for choosing and recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun for all Expedia users. We are very glad to know that you had an amazing stay at our resort and the facilities and the excellent services provided exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellence Club 5/2017

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Service, location, food, connections to local things
Cons: WIFI, WIFI, WIFI
Location: Lots of things to do and see. We didn't do much since the reason we were there was to relax; and we were able to do that very well.
Just returned from a 6 day stay. Had stayed at Excellence resorts in the past, never before in the Excellence Club. Too bad, now the bar has been set so high. Extraordinary service, sparkling clean rooms. outstanding food. Tennis pro, with whom I played daily, was dedicated and knew his stuff. Made it fun for players of all levels. Bring your raquet. We stayed in the 8000 series rooms and they, too, were outstanding. Private, yet convenient to everything. Pools on either side of the room, away from the music. One thing needs improvement: WIFI is inconsistent, but far better than that in Punta Cana. Not horrible, just not what I expect in 2017. We cannot say enough about the level of service and hospitality from the staff - from the General Manager, whom we met, to the concierge, to the wait staffs, bellmen, cleaning crews. Outstanding. Truly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Allow us to thank you for taking a valued time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. It is very gratifying to read your words regarding your stay with us and know that Excellence Riviera Cancun was able to provide you such a memorable and relaxing experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the excellent service & activities provided and the beautiful facilities that made your stay so enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another fantastic experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!