Ratings based on 2,232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, Ny

Lives up to its name.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The Excellence Riviera in Cancun is nothing short of its name. Enjoyable, relaxing, great food and fun entertainment. Two of the staff, Jorge at the bar outside of the theater during the entertainment and Oscar on the beach during the day were absolutely exceptional - attentive, interested in learning the guests' names and drink/food preferences, and was on top of asking for refills (double checking to make sure we weren't being bashful and really wanting one but not saying so, as well!). Cannot recommend more highly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible all inclusive.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We spent 9 nights here. It is by far the best all inclusive hotel we have ever stayed at. Great selection of drinks (not local spirits, remy Martin and tanquerray gin etc) with brilliant staff. Room was incredible as was the daily topped up included mini bar and room service. Very sad to be leaving! Would 100% return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Top shelf drinks Friendly staff Beautiful beach and resort Same time next year:)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with lots amenities to offer

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: All the amenities, the staff, the service, and the activities offered.
Cons: FOOD. they can do much better with their food, for a hotel like that, you would assume the food would be top notch
Location: You don't really have to leave the hotel, but if you do. You azre about 25-30 min away from cancun and playa del carmen
This was our first experience in an all inclusive resort, and it was amazing. The hotel is pretty great, they always have something going on. from activities, to shows, to music we were entertained at all time...The only thing that was not good and can do a better job at is the food. They had 9 restaurant to choose from, and we only really actually like 1 or 2 of them. The rest were not good to be honest, they can improve there. Otherwise it was an EXCELLENT experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
My wife and I stayed for our 11th anniversary, resort and facilities were amazing! All inclusive, really was all inclusive. Rooms were like living in a palace and the pools are clean and very well maintained. Food was just ok and beer selection could have been better. Overall, I would definitely recommend it, totally lives up to it's name, Excellence!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Ángeles

Beautiful hotel the best.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful hotel the best, the service was great The restaurants buffets show margaritas the beach in front of the hotel everything was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Entertainment

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The overall stay is perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary. We enjoyed our time at the pools and beach. The evening entertainment was not very engaging. We noticed a mix of age groups and entertainment is geared more towards an middle age group. Most bars closed down by 11pm. However the service and resort is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Couldn't have asked for a better trip!! It was absolutely perfect from the moment we stepped foot through those doors!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything you want/need and more.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Loved it for our honeymoon. Would really like to send our parents one day too. It's kind of funny... I like having kids at our wedding, but at this place, I was soooo happy they were all gone. Adults only was pretty key.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Can

Great All Inclusive Vacation!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
We stayed in an Ocean Front Junior Suite in the Excellence Club. We received a cool moist towel and a glass of campaign as soon as we got off the bus. The service is excellent! We checked in at the Excellence Club Lounge, which had lovely sandwiches and snacks + deserts. Also a great bar selection, including Remin Martin VSOP, Grey Goose and 12 year single malt scotches. Our room was great with jacuzzi baths inside and on the balcony. Also huge walk in shower. The pools are everywhere and very clean. There are plenty of bars around the pools and great service on the beach. The sand is white and perfect and the water is very good, except 2 out of 5 days, when there was a bit too much sea weed for my taste. Great restaurants and good variety; especially liked the French and Tapas. Food options for lunch are plentiful, with at least 5 options per day, not including room service. All in all 4.95 Stars!