Ratings based on 2,450 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

beautiful hotel. great beach. great food.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: na
Location: fairly excluded but you can arrange any excursion
They made a mistake with booking so we received an upgrade for 4 nights then our regular booked room for three nights. It was an inconvenience to have to move but they were very gracious to us. All was well. Great place. Did not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Excellent hotel facilities & services

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: This resort had all the amenities and services that were advertised and lived up to the Excellence name.
Cons: This resort should have a shuttle service from and to the airport that could be reserved so that the hassle upon arrival could have been avoided.
Location: Resort was located on a sugar-fine sandy beach. And, very long winding pool provided for lounging spots, with staff nearby for bottled water or drink
I had a hernia develop 2 days after check-in at the Resort. The doctor on duty recommended that I go to the emergency section at a private hospital in Cancun for a 2nd opinion. The hotel Guest Service Manager quickly assisted us with transportation and when I agreed to have surgery there, she helped to have our Junior Suite moved much closer to the restaurants and theaters. A wheelchair was also provided when I returned to the Resort and the staff at all locations were very accommodating to make us comfortable. P.S. The doctors, nurses, and surgeon at the Private Hospital Hospiten in Cancun were very good and my recovery to date has been excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Excellent hotel with great food beaches and staff

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Excellent staff at this hotel with focus on taking care of customers. The food was awesome. Really enjoyed the French restaurant and Mexican fiesta night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Larry, Thank you for choosing and recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun for all Expedia users. We are very glad to know that you had an amazing stay at our resort and the excellent services provided and the delicious food encountered exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Best trip ever

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: food, staff, drinks, facilities, activities
My husband and I chose this hotel for our honeymoon. We saw the awesome reviews and decided to give it a try. All the wonderful reviews were true! Everything was awesome. The food was exquisite, the facilities were gorgeous and the staff was stellar. I specially want to talk about the staff in this place; they made our experience something memorable. The activities team (Jezer, Leidy, Carlos, Monica et. al) were wonderful hosts. Every time they saw us they made us feel welcome and special. All of them were super friendly and helpful and really went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. They even remembered our names and where we were from. The staff at the restaurants was also incredible. For example, Pablo from Las Olas would always tell us what activities and menus were planned for the next day so we wouldn't miss it. There was also this waitress at the pool/beach area that would make sure we had food and drinks and even brought us towels when we forgot to get dry towels and we were trying to get out of the pool. When on a vacation, you can always find someplace with good food; you can check pictures of the hotel to see the amenities and facilities but it is very hard to find a hotel with such an awesome staff. All of them were just impressive, they were the soul of that place. We are really grateful for the way we were treated in ERC. It is a fantastic hotel and we are definitely planning on going back (hopefully soon!).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Majo, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as your honeymoon destination and for taking a valued time to share your experience with all Expedia users. We are honored to have received such a high rating review from a valuable guest. We are also thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, due to the friendly and excellent personalized service provided by our colleagues and the outstanding facilities encountered. Thank you very much for your detailed review in which you point so many positive aspects of your experience with us. It will be a privilege to welcome you back soon and provide you once again a remarkable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mentor, Ohio USA

Unsurpassed Excellence

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, Cleanliness, Entertainment, Food Quality and Choice, View From Room, Spa, Activities. All toiletries provided, Yoga, Tennis instructor, Breeze.
Cons: Hot tubs could be warmer, Wish they had Perrier available, Bed arrangements are considered to be "Requests". We booked a King, got two Queens. Seaweed
Location: Stay on the resort! No need to leave except if you want to take the bike ride to Puerto Morelos. Nothing really to see there though.
We chose the Ocean Front "Excellence Club" package without really knowing what that was. It turns out that the excellence club gets you access to special easy check-in procedures, a private HEATED swimming pool area, private beach area, one free hyrdo-therapy treatment at the spa (a don't miss experience) and access to a special club building with a private concierge who is more than happy to help you with anything. Let me start by saying that the Mexican people are wonderful hosts. Very friendly even in this strange political climate. This ADULTS ONLY resort has a large footprint with at least 6 meandering pools, a spa, a walking trail, gardens, covered open air theater, 6+ bars, (see Google Earth), but like I said earlier, we, in the excellence club were allowed in any area, but only we could go to our heated pool. Even though the resort was full, it felt uncrowded. Very few short waits for anything. The food at the 9 restaurants was as good as any five star restaurant, and I'm very picky. Food did not seem mass produced and presentation was artful. Men, be sure to bring a couple of pairs of LONG pants as the dress code in the indoor restaurants is strict. Nightly Entertainment was Las Vegas quality. Don't miss the fire shows. Rooms are spacious and impeccably clean, although, if you happen to have the "do not disturb" sign up when they come to make up the room, they don't seem to try to come back unless you call. We had in room indoor and outdoor hot tubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dino, Allow us to thank you for taking a valued time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. It is very gratifying to read your words regarding your stay with us and know that Excellence Riviera Cancun was able to provide you such a memorable and relaxing experience. Thanks for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the excellent quality of food and the excellent service provided that made your stay so enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for another fantastic experience. Receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

One of the best

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Beautiful resort, staff was excellent, resteraunt variety was great. Shout out to Adrian who brought us to our room and gave us a tour of the resort. He was absolutely amazing and a great first impression. Only complaint was that the main pool with swim up bar was very cold. The other pools were a great temperature though. All in all a wonderful place and I'm sure we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun and recommending us to all Expedia readers. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic time at our resort. We are also thankful for your remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you soon and provide you with another fantastic experience! Warm regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Expedia VIP +gold upgrade is wonderful

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The Excellence Club VIP upgrade is the best, best service, best quality, best rooms, best views, best food, We loved the Excellence Riveria Resort be
The Excellence Club VIP upgrade is the best, best service, best quality, best rooms, best views, best food, We loved the Excellence Riveria Resort before the Expedia VIP upgrade and now we love it even more! The management treated us very special, as well as, the entire staff. The shows and daily activities are super, the heated pools are nice to relax in. Large selection of places and types to eat at and they were all great! We will be going back regularly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as host of your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience with all Expedia readers. We are amused to read your amiable words regarding your experience with us and to know that you had a perfect stay at our resort. Thank you for mentioning the friendly and attentive service provided by our staff and the special perks from the Excellence Club which made your experience so memorable. It will be a great honor to welcome you again soon and provide another amazing stay. Please receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful Hotel. Great location.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Staff deserve A+ for how hard they work to help you whatever your needs are!
Location: Bike ride to Porto Morealeas is lots of fun and only takes about 40 minutes.
Great place to relax, meet friends, make new friends and walk the beach. Staff works extremely hard to keep the beach as clean as possible with the seaweed being pushed in by the ocean. Water aerobic classes in the pool are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing and recommending Excellence Riviera Cancun for all Expedia users. We are very glad to know that one more time you had an amazing stay at our resort and the excellent services & activities provided by our dedicated staff exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great hotel, we would definitely revisit. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful and very nice. Over all resort was beautiful and clean. Pools were great, but a little cold. Need some more chairs around pool. They get taken up fast. I would have also liked more music being played during the day. There was about an hour of entertainment a day. Would have been nice to here more. Food at restaurants was best I've tasted at all inclusives. Great stay and would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Expedia users. It is very satisfying to know that you had a memorable time in our resort. Thank you for the generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services and the quality of food encountered which made your experience enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We all look forward to serving you soon and provide you with another amazing getaway! Receive our warmest regards from Riviera Maya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Friendly staff and awesome beach!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, the food, the beach and the pina coladas!
Cons: The perfume smell in the lobby was way too strong- gave me a headache. I would suggest to get rid of that.
All of the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, especially at the Beach Grill and the French restaurant. We loved the onsite coffee shop. The beach was awesome, so much white sand! My husband and I brought our snorkeling gear with on this trip and snorkeled right in front of the hotel. We saw many fish including a huge school under the pier. Super cool. I would tell anyone and everyone to stay here! No complaints about the hotel. The only thing to mention is do NOT try to get an Uber ride from the Cancun airport. We had a bad experience with that- the taxi drivers called the police and scared away our driver. They said it's illegal- kind of a weird situation. From the hotel, we took Uber to and from Cancun to shop and that was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Katy, Thank you for choosing Excellence Riviera Cancun as your getaway destination and for recommending to all Expedia users. It is great to know how much you enjoyed our luxury resort and the excellent services provided by our staff, the delicious food & drinks encountered and the beautiful beach gave you so many relaxing moments. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We will be more than happy to be able to serve you again in a near future! Please, receive our warmest regards!