Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice location, need renewal

Posted May 19, 2017
We stay for 6 nights in may 2017, our room has an awfull view, the quality of Food is terrible and the Prices are very high like if you are not in Mexico, so we go to Playa del Carmen for meals, is a hassle to go out the hotel, you need to wait at least 10 min for a cart to drop you in the lobby and ask valet for your car another 20 min to be able to go out, our kids enjoy the kids club, i think we are not comming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Posted May 9, 2017
Good choice if you want to rest and enjoy the day in the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for recommending us, we love the photo you posted! Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Beautiful and serene

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The setting was great, the rooms were nice and built into the environment. It was very quiet in the evening and the lighting was spectacular.
Cons: Given there was already a resort fee guests shouldn't be charged to use the gym or business center. Wifi should be locked, not open.
Location: Chicken Itza was was over 2 hours away and worth seeing. Would have liked to see more ruins in tulum bt most excursions are all day trips.
Nice, relaxing stay. Staff were warm and friendly and helpful. Food was good but would have been nice to have more options. Gorgeous grounds. Reciprocity with the other Mayakoba resorts for spa, golf or restaurants should be allowed. Would have liked to see more sites but it was too hard to fit in during a 5 day stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to clarify that access to the fitness center is included in the resort fee. In your next stay, our Concierge team would be pleased to suggest half-day trips, there is plenty to do and see in our destination! Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved the stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Nice and clean room and good food. Very relaxing beachfront and the boat tour within the facility was very interesting, educational and worthwhile. Even though we read some reviews about complaints that the beach were too far from the rooms, my family enjoyed the electric cart ride from point to point. The staffs were friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the boat tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very nice...get the casita rooms near the waterways. Beach is way to windy. We stayed 2 nights in one of the houses on the beach...but just too windy. The basic rooms are in a hotel type building, definitely upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Our Casitas are very comfortable, intimate and spacious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to a wonderful beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great beach and wonderful pools especially for kids. Expensive food and drinks with little variety. Staff overall friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lower fairfield county, ct

Unique overall property layout and options

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Beach was swimable with inclusive non motorized water sport options. Multiple pool options. Nicely Integrated with nature: extensive plantings etc.
Cons: Pool menu could be expanded
Location: River boat tour Walk to shops Sailing Paddle board Kayak Swimming
Unique overall property layout allowed for variety of options. Strong connection to both nature and amenities at a scale more expected of a boutique hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We continue expanding on our activities, always taking into account the ecology.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Amazing family friendly luxury hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We've always enjoyed staying at Fairmont hotels and the Mayakoba location lived up to our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, the location was stunning and our family always felt comfortable and relaxed. Although we weren't right on the beach our kid (5 and 3) prefer pools for swimming and those at the Fairmont Mayakoba didn't disappoint. The kids staff were amazing and even helped boost our sons confidence in the swimming pool and exploring the water ways was a highlight of our stay. All of the restaurants we amazing, we especially loved El Puerto.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Colin. We are very happy to hear that your children enjoyed our pools!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Relaxing and Private Resort by the Beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Highly recommend this resort. The layout (individual units) and environment (lush landscape near the beach) help to create a relaxing atmosphere. The amenities are great and the staff is very friendly. They were very attentive to our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Z for taking the time to write a review. We are recipients of the coveted Rainforest Alliance Verification. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
My husband and I stayed for a week at the Fairmont. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The hotel staff was most friendly and accommodating. The property couldn't have been more beautiful. Would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit. Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations