Ratings based on 803 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
My husband and I stayed for a week at the Fairmont. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The hotel staff was most friendly and accommodating. The property couldn't have been more beautiful. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Most friendly staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff, especially in the restaurants. Make our food experience very pleasant.
Cons: We experienced biting insects in the room every night. Something could be done. This was in February. Also the bathroom smells a bit of stale water.
Location: The hotel complex is very big. It includes a beach area that you have to walk or take the shuttle to. To go outside you would need a car
This is a large complex. Takes a little time to find your way. The pools are beautiful. Good food in restaurants. There are bicycles you can use freely. Having a car rental office on site is convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien, CT

Impeccable Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: I think they could have more activities for families with teens. When we went the Teen center was closed. Kids club was really geared for 10 & below
Staff was amazing. Every person we dealt with on the property was wonderful. They always greeted you with a smile and would go out of their way to be helpful. Whatever Fairmont is doing here, they should write a manual for all other resorts. Property is beautiful and immaculate. Tons of wildlife to admire. Enough activity to not get bored but also easy to find relaxation. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Be aware,the property is quite large and spread out so depending on what area of the resort you are staying and where you want to go, you will probably want to utilize one of the resort bikes or shuttles. For instance to get to the beach from the main lobby is probably 10 minutes by golf cart. Just something to think about especially if traveling with small children or older adults We had a wonderful stay and look forward to going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Relaxing beautiful resort.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Quick walk, bike ride, or shuttle to beach. Great pools.
Cons: Food options.
Location: Short ride to Playa Del Carmen. Great location.
Enjoyed my stay. Beautiful property. Wish there were more food/restaurant options, especially for breakfast. But that complaint is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A great stay!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Beautiful grounds and good restaurants, but the best feature of this resort is the staff - friendly, welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Posted Feb 13, 2017
A unforgettable vacation in a magical place: fun, nature, good food and kind people. Lots of things to do nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Beautiful hotel, delicious food, and amazing staff

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Loved this trip -- resort was stunning, staff and food were amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best all inclusive resort!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We stayed a week and had every meals here. Every restaurant served great foods and drinks. I've done many all inclusive but this is the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Luxurious resort, beautiful, natural surroundings.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The resort was so clean and well laid out. The staff was so nice and helpful. The pools and the beach are beautiful. The room had everything needed.
Cons: The food was good, but pricey.
Location: The resort is a 45 minute trip from the Cancun airport. 10 minutes to Playa del Carmen. 1 hour from Tulum. Rio Secreto is 20 minutes away.
My husband and I were there for only 4 nights so we only left the resort twice..once to go to Rio Secreto (natural underground caves) and once to go into Playa del Carmen for dinner. We ate in the resort restaurants the rest of the time. Unless you are going to nearby sister hotels, you must pay for a taxi to get into town (approx.$25 round trip). The grounds are beautiful. Bikes are available to ride down to the beach (more pools and a restaurant are also at the beach) and we usually had no trouble finding 2 to take. The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there (end of Jan) so I'm sure that would be different if there were more guests. They also have motorized carts with drivers shuffling people to the beach as needed. We never had to wait long for one. It is walkable, but maybe too far with children or elderly. The natural surroundings (the resort is situated in the "jungle" and canals run throughout the whole resort) are beautiful. Our room felt very secluded because of all the trees and plants outside our balcony. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Even on the beach, someone was always there to put our towels on the chairs and bring us drinks and food. The beach itself is nice though there is nothing to see while snorkeling. We were told they will take snorkelers out on catamarans to a reef. The food was pretty good but expensive. There are 3 restaurants and a small café for take out coffee and pastries. Very expensive sunscreen etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice Property without service

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The Property
Cons: The food Quality and prices
Location: There is a lot to do in Playa del Carmen, Cirque Du Soleil, a lot of good restaurants, fine dining, mall, etc
Very Nice Property, the service is poor, and the food is terrible and super expensive, Orange Juice in $6 at breakfast? in Mexico? really? this is abnormal.