Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Beautiful and serene

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The setting was great, the rooms were nice and built into the environment. It was very quiet in the evening and the lighting was spectacular.
Cons: Given there was already a resort fee guests shouldn't be charged to use the gym or business center. Wifi should be locked, not open.
Location: Chicken Itza was was over 2 hours away and worth seeing. Would have liked to see more ruins in tulum bt most excursions are all day trips.
Nice, relaxing stay. Staff were warm and friendly and helpful. Food was good but would have been nice to have more options. Gorgeous grounds. Reciprocity with the other Mayakoba resorts for spa, golf or restaurants should be allowed. Would have liked to see more sites but it was too hard to fit in during a 5 day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved the stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Nice and clean room and good food. Very relaxing beachfront and the boat tour within the facility was very interesting, educational and worthwhile. Even though we read some reviews about complaints that the beach were too far from the rooms, my family enjoyed the electric cart ride from point to point. The staffs were friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very nice...get the casita rooms near the waterways. Beach is way to windy. We stayed 2 nights in one of the houses on the beach...but just too windy. The basic rooms are in a hotel type building, definitely upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to a wonderful beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great beach and wonderful pools especially for kids. Expensive food and drinks with little variety. Staff overall friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lower fairfield county, ct

Unique overall property layout and options

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Beach was swimable with inclusive non motorized water sport options. Multiple pool options. Nicely Integrated with nature: extensive plantings etc.
Cons: Pool menu could be expanded
Location: River boat tour Walk to shops Sailing Paddle board Kayak Swimming
Unique overall property layout allowed for variety of options. Strong connection to both nature and amenities at a scale more expected of a boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Amazing family friendly luxury hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We've always enjoyed staying at Fairmont hotels and the Mayakoba location lived up to our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, the location was stunning and our family always felt comfortable and relaxed. Although we weren't right on the beach our kid (5 and 3) prefer pools for swimming and those at the Fairmont Mayakoba didn't disappoint. The kids staff were amazing and even helped boost our sons confidence in the swimming pool and exploring the water ways was a highlight of our stay. All of the restaurants we amazing, we especially loved El Puerto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Relaxing and Private Resort by the Beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Highly recommend this resort. The layout (individual units) and environment (lush landscape near the beach) help to create a relaxing atmosphere. The amenities are great and the staff is very friendly. They were very attentive to our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Z for taking the time to write a review. We are recipients of the coveted Rainforest Alliance Verification. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
My husband and I stayed for a week at the Fairmont. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The hotel staff was most friendly and accommodating. The property couldn't have been more beautiful. Would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit. Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Most friendly staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff, especially in the restaurants. Make our food experience very pleasant.
Cons: We experienced biting insects in the room every night. Something could be done. This was in February. Also the bathroom smells a bit of stale water.
Location: The hotel complex is very big. It includes a beach area that you have to walk or take the shuttle to. To go outside you would need a car
This is a large complex. Takes a little time to find your way. The pools are beautiful. Good food in restaurants. There are bicycles you can use freely. Having a car rental office on site is convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have taken note of the cons. Your comments help us improve and are very appreciated. Sincerely, Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien, CT

Impeccable Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: I think they could have more activities for families with teens. When we went the Teen center was closed. Kids club was really geared for 10 & below
Staff was amazing. Every person we dealt with on the property was wonderful. They always greeted you with a smile and would go out of their way to be helpful. Whatever Fairmont is doing here, they should write a manual for all other resorts. Property is beautiful and immaculate. Tons of wildlife to admire. Enough activity to not get bored but also easy to find relaxation. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Be aware,the property is quite large and spread out so depending on what area of the resort you are staying and where you want to go, you will probably want to utilize one of the resort bikes or shuttles. For instance to get to the beach from the main lobby is probably 10 minutes by golf cart. Just something to think about especially if traveling with small children or older adults We had a wonderful stay and look forward to going back.