Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from boston

refined hotel with great service and good food.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: nothing not to like
Cons: add more television stations in english.
Location: 40 minute ride from cancun airport and will worth the extra time as compared to staying at a hotel in cancun. spent entire time at resort with great
excellent service and good food. large property, with great beach and not crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great value!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: the ground was exceptional.
Cons: food, food and food. all 3 restaurants were not that great. they messed up with a burger we ordered one n I was like how do you mess up a burger?
Location: make sure you book the boat ride in advance. the staff will say they sold out but show up at the time you wanted anyway as half of the ppl don't show.
we were just there the last week of Dec. 2016. had wonderful time. the resort is very lush yet bugs free. the only complaint we had was the food. the food in all restaurants were not that great range from 2.5 to 3 stars so with that kind of price you pay, you want to have to something close to 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellent winter vacation get-away

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: On the beach, lots of pools, good activities, nice restaurants, accommodating.
Cons: As a 10-year-old hotel some areas of the exterior could use some painting and general upkeep.
Location: Mayan ruins at Tulim and Coba were quite interesting, giving the experience without the crowds of Chitchen Itza. Playa del Carmen was fun to wander.
Just back from a very nice Christmas holiday at the Fairmont Mayakoba. Property was very nice, and the two adjoining rooms for us and our daughter were most convenient. Food and service on property were quite good, through you do pay resort prices. This was our first time here, and we weren't aware that Mayakoba also has a Rosewood, Banyan Tree and (Hyatt) Andaz. Having these there other high-end resort shops and restaurants available really made things much more flexible- particularly for Christmas dinner reservations. Concierge and on-site tour office were both very helpful in suggesting off-property activities. Tennis with the pro was good. While we didn't play golf the course looks spectacular and the clubhouse is certainly lovely. A great choice for our vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Wonderful resort in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it. There is something for everyone here: a beautiful beach, 5 pools, delicious restaurants, a golf course, nature trails, etc. - the list goes on and on. The property was always fully staffed with friendly faces willing to go out of their way to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

By far the best deal that Mayakoba

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Mayakoba is a property with 3 hotels Currently working Rosewood , Bayan Tree and Fairmont . Andaz is coming this winter. They are high end properties with all the luxury you can expect. The fairmont is the most price accesible one , make sure to include the drink and food package , more if you are in a mood of relax and drink. The staff is amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sierra Vista, AZ, United States of America

Beautiful and Comfortable Fairmont Mayakoba

Posted Nov 27, 2016
A beautiful hotel, with exceptionally comfortable rooms and beds, plus excellent service. The Mayakoba area consists of four resorts that are well secured and share shuttle services between resorts and recreational areas (beaches, golf, tennis, etc.). For top notch service, beautiful ambience, and an abundance of fun activities in a safe envronment, the Fairmont Mayakoba is a must do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Jim for your feedback and for such a detailed review! Sincerely, Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed at. All staff are friendly and helpful. They are very attentive for your concern and needs. I wasn't feeling well and sat on the path. A staff passed by and drove me back to the hotel lobby even he had other duties to do. They take good care of all guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Hi Sharon, We hope you are feeling better. Thank you for your kind words. Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing hotel for a 1/3 of the price

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Stayed here along with the Banyan Tree and Rosewood. For the price compared to the other two, Fairmont is just as good. Definitely check it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Brian for recommending us, we love the photo! Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Low key luxury, in a beautiful setting...

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Mayakoba is a self-contained site, which hosts three spectacular properties, entwined amongst a beautiful golf course in a private tropical setting!
The property is very nice from the beautiful lobby, to the spa, pools and restaurants, and ultimately to the rooms as well. Pristine waters crisscross the property, which make a stroll, bike ride, or escorted cruise in the property golf carts particularly enjoyable as you get around this vast property. The overall experience was very family-friendly and we very much enjoyed the pool(s) area and water slide! Restaurants on property were nice, albeit a bit on the expensive side. Children eat free, which was a nice little surprise. Breakfast buffet was very well appointed; dinner a bit less impressive. Overall, a jewel of a property. We were able to relax, unwind, and take in the beauty of Playa del Carmen from this amazing location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you Jesse for such a detailed review. We are a family-friendly resort and we always have new programs and activities for children! Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Cons: Review prices at restaurants
Very nice hotel, but restaurants are quite expensive. Area is very nice, room is excellent. You can do birdswatching, which is very nice. Breakfast is way too expensive, 30 USD and coffee is not included!!! Restaurant by the sea is overpriced and food is not particularly good (other restaurants though pricy but at least food is decent)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the many activities available at our resort. Our culinary team has received your feedback regarding pricing. Sincerely, Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations