Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Excelente, aunque un poco caro. El personal es muy amable y las instalaciones están preciosas, aunque las bicicletas podrían estar mejor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This hotel was awsome to stay at. Private beach. A bit over priced on food,is cheeper to drink than actually eat. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Top Service, great place

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I have had the opportunity to stay in many hotels. This was the best service I have received, the place is amazing, the pools are wonderful, the lake and canals are unique but the best by far was the staff service. Will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel- beach access

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Wonderful experience. Amazing staff. You will be charged an additional $20/day/person in addition to the Expedia price. For our family of five they required we have two rooms and then We had the additional $100/ day added on. Still highly recommend this resort. Snuck away to Casa de Lago at the Rosewood and Safron at the Banyan Tree on the Mayakoba property! Best food ever! Food at the Fairmount was good as well-but wanted to try something different during our 7 days there. Sad to see our time there end!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Staff are the heart to this resort/hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and security.
Cons: Perhaps offer more dining options. As it was the Laguna and the main lobby entrance offer dining experiences but were limited to buffets.
Location: Xcaret, Fuego Xplor, dolphin experiences, Chi Chen Natzu, Cancun, Playa Del Carmen (5th Ave), golfing, swimming, sun bathing, kayaking, caves/cenotes
Resort is very well maintained. Staff members at every level all appeared to ensure that my comfort and pleasure were met while staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel but far away from beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel is real nice and the surroundings were gorgeous. In my opinion, the restaurants were not great at all and the food was below my expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Too Expensive!!! WARNING

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: It was very pretty, rooms big and beautiful. But if you cannot afford to eat and drink there you do not spend much time in room or on property.
Cons: At least lower the cost of drinks so in the evening you can have a few cocktail in the bar.
Location: Nothing around but other EXPENSIVE resorts. Must take $27.00 taxi ride one way to get to Playa De Carmen to eat. $54.00 round trip!
It was beautiful BUT . . . $30.00 bunch, $7.00 dollar can beer, $15.00 margaritas , $22.00 for coffee and muffin, $50.00 per day to use gym, $40 per day resort fee - Had to get off the resort to eat and drink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Lea, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you found our pricing high, we can assure you that we are priced similarly to similar high-end, luxury resorts that use only the very best ingredients. Sincerely, Beatriz Fuentes Director of Marketing and Public Relations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

A lovely hotel for adults

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: It's beautiful, it's clean and fresh, it's a little upscale, and service was great!
Cons: A program and activities devoted to teens would be nice.
Location: The location is about 15-20 north of Playa del Carmen. A $20 cab ride for a family of four. There is nothing nearby to this hotel.
We stayed for four nights. Our room, a casita, was very nice. The bathroom was great, and as large as the bedroom. We were located on the jungle side of the complex; far away from the beach. If you're a beach person, you will need to make use of the guest bicycles or the golf cart service to get to the beach from our casita. The staff was great - every single person we interacted with was great - from the concierge who took care of our tour and transportation reservations, to the service guy who had to come fix the A/C (within 15 minutes!). We have two kids, 13 and 15yrs old. There was very little devoted to their entertainment, and what there was looked like a complete afterthought, using what little space they happened to find. We didn't plan to have them inside playing video games, so this was no more than a minor disappointment for us. The food was always good. We were not disappointed in anything we ordered. Be aware, though, that food is not inexpensive here, Be prepared to spend at least $100US for every meal for a family of four. Overall, this was a beautiful place to stay, and the husband and I would definitely stay there again. If we bring the kids again, we'd probably choose another hotel with a bit more devoted to their entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a detailed review. We want to share that we recently hired an Entertainment Manager who is creating fantastic programs for children and teens. We hope you visit us again to experience our new activity program!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lima, Perú

hotel con un excelente servicio

Posted May 3, 2016
Un lugar donde se tiene un balance entre la naturaleza y la comodidad Excelentes instalaciones y una gran amabilidad de todo el personal Totalmente recomendable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias Luis por sus comentarios, nuestro Gerente de Ecologia estará encantado de saber que disfrutó el ambiente natural de Fairmont Mayakoba. Saludos cordiales, Beatriz Fuentes Directora de Mercadotecnia y Relaciones Públicas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CDMX

Excelente servicio

Posted May 3, 2016
La habitación muy cómoda y cerca de la playa, los alimentos deliciosos, el servicio y el personal del hotel muy servicial y rápida atención. Se puede disfrutar de las instalaciones y tener unas vacaciones muy relajadas ! Muy recomendable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Gracias Gabriela Peet por recomendarnos, nos da gusto saber que disfrutó nuestros servicios e instalaciones, Beatriz Fuentes Directora de Mercadotecnia y Relaciones Públicas