Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted May 21, 2015
This was our second time to stay at the Fusion and will not be our last! Not one negative thing to say.
4 out of 5
by Hemalkumar from Queensbury

Decent Beachfront Hotel

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was a good boutique hotel with privacy. The orange juice in this hotel restaurant is awesome. Some of the restaurant staff members were a little rude particularly at breakfast time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Great find on the beach!

Posted May 2, 2015
What a great place in Playa! We only stayed for one night before moving on to a huge resort up the road, and after all was said and done, we really preferred the smaller setting of Fusion Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were decent, and the location was perfect. If you're looking for an ideal place close to town and on the beach, you can't beat this. It's not fancy, but clean and comfortable. I read all previous reviews and was worried about the band noise, but we were so exhausted from travel that we immediately crashed, so the noise did not bother us. If it had been an issue, a room toward the back would probably solve it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Good location.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Hotel- I would not recommend it to a friend The problem I have is that the housekeeping staff left our room unlocked 3 days in a row. We left for several hours and returned well after 7 pm one day to have our door actually slightly open. To me this is totally unacceptable. Breakfast is small and incredibly limited. You have a choice of 1 scrambled egg, some fruit, or a bowl of yogurt. It comes with several pieces of bread, butter, and strawberry jelly. Breakfast doesn't start until 8-830, which is only a problem if you're planning on going out and doing a tour, as it is after they all pick up. Tipping is expected by the staff of the restaurant and short of putting a neon sign in front of you, they let you know. Restaurant - The food and drinks were good! The service was absolutely horrible. There is supposedly a 10% discount off their prices from 8-8 for hotel guests. We ate at the restaurant twice and never got it. We went down for dinner the 1st night and used our free drink coupons from the hotel. The 10% can't be used with the free drink coupons. The 2nd night we decided to eat dinner there, we got there around 6:30, ate, and we're ready to head up to our room. It took 49 minutes (no exaggeration) to get our servers attention that we wanted our bill. It then took her another 23 minutes (again, no exaggeration) to bring it. We didn't get the discount because it was after 8 on the receipt. We didn't bother eating there for anything but breakfast again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunnville, Ontario

Excellent location and service!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Location, food, staff, entertainment, beach massages!!!!!!
Cons: Shower heads, some lighting.
Location: Central to over 800 restaurants, shopping, close to collectivo and town square.
We had an amazing time here from check in to check out. Our room was #29 and we were happy as it was private, quiet and had it's own spacious balcony. The hotel is centrally located, and right on the beach with excellent food in the restaurant and great evening entertainment. We ran into difficulties at check out due to an unexpected flight change and the staff were very understanding, helped us scramble, calmed our nerves, and got us on our way quickly. We have stayed in Playa Del Carmen 7x times now from all-inclusive resorts to boutique hotels. We had only ever come here for meals. We took a chance and now we won't stay anywhere else! We highly recommend you stay here if you are comfortable with basic amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Caro, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating us!
4 out of 5
by Shalimar from Nevada city ca

Mexico getaway

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great authentic style hotel right on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Caro, Hotel Management
Dear Shalimar, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And great to hear that you had a good time! Have a nice day! Saludos, kim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Great location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: location, location, location. 3 blocks from the Bus Station. Plenty of food and shopping options right next to it.
Cons: Open up the beach area more. It's crowded with chairs and umbrellas. The beach can barely be seen from the restaurant.
Location: Definitely visit Xel-Ha or Ixcaret. Great water parks with tons to do. Also the ruins in Tulum are worth seeing along with the beautiful beaches.
Best thing about this hotel is it's location, right in the middle of Playa. If one of your priorities is to be close to restaurants, shops and transportation to the area attractions, this is a good choice. Rooms are ok and clean, the restaurant has pretty decent food and the staff is mostly friendly. The beach area is small and sort of enclosed. Not really a swim-able beach and the hotel does not have a pool which is a main drawback. Our option was to pack our beach stuff and head to one of the beach clubs in the area to really be able to enjoy the beaches, but you have to pay. The hotel does have nightly music which is enjoyable, but not so much if you are traveling with kids. The Fire Show at the beach definitely worth seeing!
4 out of 5
by Krysta from Moose Jaw, SK

Great beach hotel!!

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night and it was perfect! Room was very clean, air conditioning was a nice relief at night! The girl at the desk was most helpful and very pleasant! Drinks on the beach and afternoon music is an added bonus!! I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Caro, Hotel Management
Dear Krysta, Thank you very much for your review! A nice way to start the day :) Have a good weekend! Saludos, Kim
3 out of 5
by Carol A. from Moses Lake, Washington

Garden on the beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
For the price this hotel was just what we were looking for.Not to large,close to the bus station, 5th Avenue and on the beach. The only drawback for us was live music till after 1am. Just be aware if you don't tend to be night owls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2015 by Caro, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for your review. Yes, the beach bar area has live music in the evening (normally it ends before or not later than 1am, maybe on the weekend till 1:30). This can be heard in the ocean front rooms and we don't recommend it to early sleepers. Our garden rooms are quieter as they are set more to the back and people can enjoy a good night sleep there. Thank you and have a nice day! Kind regards, Kim