Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to beach

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: keeping guest of changes instead of waiting until contacted because you havent heard from them
Location: Nice mall and souvenir shops
Was there in May 2016 loved it. Not this time paid for a walkout suite upgrade because we didnt want to overlook pool The next day I was told it was not available because air condition not working and given no other option. Our room overlooked live entertainment and DJ Too Loud. tv had to be repaired 3 times, iron replaced and safe repaired. Housekeeping carts banging on stairs early in the morning. Overall I'll pass and go to The Royal next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Marilú Inglés , Hotel Management
Dear Ms Theresa, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience regarding your room upgrade and accommodations, we will address the concerns you have mentioned with our team to give the proper follow up. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés Generally Manager's Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Ocean front rooms are amazing.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The combination of beachfront and close access to town makes this resort great.
Cons: The addition of the game room with ping pong table and air hockey totally destroyed the best access from many rooms to the pool and beach. Please ret
Location: Close to downtown.
Our oceanfront room was amazing. We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony looking over the amazing beach and Caribbean Sea. The New Year's eve party was a lot of fun with with a foam generator which covered the beach with Mexican snow. It was a lot of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Marilú Inglés , Hotel Management
Dear Mr Tom, Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and letting us know that your past holiday with us was great and that you had an amazing time! We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great location, food, staff, and resort in general

Posted Jan 5, 2017
I went to Gran Porto with my girlfriend for a 6 day, 5 night vacation right over new years, and it was a wonderful way to start the year off. One of my favorite features of the resort was the food. There are 4 main restaurants for dinner, and at each you were always greeted by friendly waiters, had your chair pulled out for you, and napkin placed on your lap. It's the little things that this resort did that threw it over the top. The people working there were all super friendly and could switch between English and Spanish perfectly, keeping up a nice conversation. A lot of them were also very good with faces and would remember you when you came back. The beach was very nice, with my only complaint being the rocks in the water, and that the roped off area didn't get very deep at all. However it looked beautiful, and there we're plenty of beach chairs to sit and relax on, with waiters coming around for drink orders all the time. All around, we loved the resort, and have already recommended friends to try it out for their spring break plans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Deat Colm, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. It is truly amazing to know that you had such a wonderful holiday with us and thank you for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Never Again

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This was the worst hotel I've eve stayed in. When it rained it smelled like sewage. The hotel staff was not accommodating nor friendly. All staff had major attitude. The food was awful. I've been to Mexico twice before and went to other facilities and had a much better experience. I would not recommend this place to ANYONE. Not even for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We are deeply sorry for not meeting your expectations, please rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up and improve our service standards. Thank you for your visit and best regards, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

excellent location and close to the main street

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: staff, food, entertainment, the pool
Cons: the beach, the beach
Location: excellent location
We had a great experience at the Gran Porto, the food, the room, the entertainment and the staff going out of their way to accommodate everyone was fantastic. The food at the different restaurants was very good quality The food, the rooms, the location everything was great except the one thing that might prevent me from going back again. the cons: The beach is the worst!!!. Really, compared to the Royal or the Hyatt hotels next door. There is no one swimming because of the small to medium rocks. The Hotel can remove all the rocks if they want to but apparently do not care. The small bay in the front of the hotel is totally occupied by small fishing boats!!!. What a waste of a nice small bay that can be used for swimming. Once they overhaul this beach, I'll go back right away and recommend it to everyone I know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Mike, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort. We are happy to know you had a great holiday with us and thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Good location. Dirty Room. Terrible beach.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Food at El Fogon
The hotel is in a good location. However the rooms at the hotels were quite dirty with stains on the sheets and walls. I was very surprised that this is a VIP hotel - there was no recognition or VIP benefits provided. The beach has eroded and the only place for a swim was the pool which was quite good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear mur, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. Please rest assured that we will address the concerns you have kindly mentioned with our team in order to give the proper follow up. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Plays del carmen

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Stay was great! Location great! Facility a lot cleaner/neater than last time we stayed(1.5 yr ago). New outside deck /bar very nice. Cleaner view of water now that the outside grill was moved out of the way. weather made it much better as boat area not filled with sea weed stinch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear playa trip, thank you very much for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and for letting us know that you had a great stay here with us. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Fabulous vacation for a family of 18

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the staff.
Location: In the heart of Playa del Carma, it's just a short walk to 5th Avenue and hundreds of quality shops, restaurants and entertainment! The location is p
Our large family returned to Gran Porto for Christmas after having such a wonderful experience last year, and we were not disappointed! We were welcomed at the front desk upon arrival, and the staff did not stop smiling and bending over backward to please! Our week was fabulous! This is a family-friendly resort with something for everyone. Most days were spent poolside and we participated in many activities. The food was fresh and tasty, the drinks strong with top shelf liquor, and the entertainment was wonderful! Our favorite entertainment nights were when the locals performed. Christmas Day was special, with Santa riding in to the resort on a motorcycle! Such a fun time, thanks to the fabulous staff! Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra expense. Room 270 was fabulous, an "apartment that provided our large family a gathering place for games and late night chats. We can't waif until next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Birchie1, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. We are truly happy to read that you and your family fully enjoyed your holiday with us! This is amazing and truly motivating. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent location / staff but food struggles

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, pool, room, cleaniless
Cons: Food options Lack of Ice Cream Stray Cats in restaurants
Location: 5th Avenue is 1-2 blocks away. Beach. Easy access to freeway; 50 mins from Cancun Airport; closer to Ruins than Cancun. Ferry ride away from Cozumel.
I mean all below with the best intent and in the spirit of improvement possibility. Thank you for a great hotel location and room. What we feel should be improved is sensitivity to Vegetarians which we have found in other resorts but missing in this one. First, buffet options for vegetarians are very very limited (perhaps 1 dish at buffet dinner). Secondly (and most importantly), there were very few tongs for the buffet food pickup. The few vegetarian options were surrounded by meat options with few serving tongs which were shared between meat and non-meat products. When we asked for more vegetarian options (or more tongs for that matter) we were met with blank stares from the food staff. Once we even saw a chef (had a chef hat) come out and place pepperoni pizzas with the same tongs and then shuffle the cheese pizzas with the same tongs. The foods lacked clear labelling as to the ingredients and when staff were asked they responded with statements like "I don't THINK there is meat in there". Also, the 24 hr inclusive had similar issues with very little choice, fewer tongs. Also, there was no Ice Cream it seems- most resorts has options for this. There are no vegetarian sandwich options in the Room Service menu nor any vegetarian options in the pool service area. We asked for options and we found reluctance in meeting our needs for this (we did get vegetarian sandwiches but reluctantly thru room service).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear A, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us. thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, this is greatly appreciated as it is what helps us improve our service standards. We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful resort, very friendly staff.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This was our first trip to Mexico and will not be our last! Grand Porto was so beautiful, right on the beach, and close to all activities we had planned. The staff was so helpful and friendly, everyone from the bell boys to the waiters! The buffet was okay (typical buffet food) but the restaurants were very good. The rooms were clean and room service was very quick and timely. We will definitely be returning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Marilú Inglés, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Michelle, thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent holiday in Gran Porto Resort.We are truly happy to know that you had such a wonderful time. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Marilú Inglés General Manager's Assistant