Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NYC

Not bad for AI!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Lots of options at buffets, no lines and friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms could be upgraded, as they are showing age.
Location: Ruins at Coba and Tulum are nearby. Dolphinarium on site.
Be prepared to walk. A LOT! There are golf carts which run regularly, on set routes, but you'll end up logging a lot of miles at this resort, as everything seems to be set far apart. Rooms are large, but could use some renovation and updating. Fridge was re-stocked, and room was made up daily. Staying at COBA entitles guests to access the sister resort- TULUM. Highly recommended as it's on the beach, and you get 1 hour of water sports free per day, so use it if the water conditions permit. Food at both Coba and Tulum Buffets were good, with lots of options (including a dedicated kids section). Of the restaurants, I would only recommend Mikado. As you get a mini show with your meal at the communal table. Small portions at other restaurants, so you wind up at the buffet anyway. Coba is excellent for families staying with kids, as it had a kids club (as does Tulum) and a WATERPARK. The waterpark seems to be ground zero for most families, as the kids club organizers would host a daily activity there for all the kids and families. Lots of pools to choose from for those not with kids, and not interested in getting splashed. There is a Dolphinarium at Tulum as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Very safe and secure feeling!! Easy to relax here!!
Cons: I think a plush mattress would be better than a firm mattress in the rooms!
Location: Xel-Ha was wonderful! Quick and easy to get to by using the Collectivos. Playa del Carmen was fun to run around for a day too.
We had a lovely time here once again! The bed was very hard, so sleeping was a bit difficult, but everything else was wonderful! Great food - great people - great drinks - beautiful weather!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice resort but outdated

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel had a nice beach area, nice pools, also the rooms were spacious but...the room was outdated, no free wifi, we were not able to make any reservation to the al-a-cart restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Excelente hotel, ambiente familiar

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Todo, la comida, el ambiente, los espectáculos
Cons: Estar al pendiente de que la comida esté caliente, y hace falta mas personal en el bar del lobby porque a ciertas horas hay fila.
Location: Estuve solo 4 días, y no salí porque me fue suficiente las actividades del hotel, pero esta muy cerca de zonas turísticas, algo lejos del aeropuerto,
Es la segunda vez que voy a este hotel porque me gusta mucho, es muy grande y bonito, las áreas comunes en perfecto estado, las habitaciones, muy limpias y comodas, la comida muy muy buena, en dos ocasiones estuvo fría pero estoy segura de que si hubiera pedido que la calentaran lo hubieran hecho, los restaurante de especialidades, fabulosos, gracias a Miguel del Gourmet y un especial agradecimiento a Oscar del Golden Lobby que ante un contratiempo me ayudo incondicionalmente
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Nada del otro mundo

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Nada en particular
Cons: La logística del transporte interno, el abastecimiento del minibar (no creo que una caja de leche sea mucho pedir)
El complejo esta alejado del aeropuerto (1.5 hrs), al llegar te atienden de muy mala gana, las habitaciones son regulares, el minibar es muy limitado y cada día lo surten menos. A todo te dicen que no hasta que sacas unos billetes para la propina. está muy lejos de la playa y los recorridos al lobby o restaurante principal son muy largos y el tranporte interno es super deficiente (0.5hr de espera). Aunque tiene un aquapark (bastante inseguro y sin asistencia de primeros auxilios) no me parece la mejor opción para niños o embarazadas
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from beach, service terrible

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Overall not good, device was awful, food was awful ....pools were ok, beach very far away and not that nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Very average.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The resort was nice but nothing special. The food was normally cold or over cooked. You can't get anywhere without waiting for a tram which might or might not come depending on what time it is. The bars close early so don't plan on drinking at the pool or beach past 5pm. The casino is only open from 7pm to 2am. They advertise it opens at 6pm but good luck with that. The rooms are nice and kept clean. Showers were nice. It's a nice looking place but for the money it just doesn't hold up to the other competitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Great hotel for kids, service hit and miss

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros Great pools, starts off very shallow and my 2yo toddler loved it. He could play in it himself without us worrying as it gradually slopes down. The kids water park is also great. Beach was very clean and there were lots of birds that would swoop in the water for food which was fascinating. Sand was nice. There was seaweed but not as bad as described by some reviews Most staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, loved the omelette bar. Lunch was also nice. This is the restaurant at the premier lobby. Their Christmas dinner was phenomenal. best buffet we'd ever been to. Dinner at the Mexican restaurant Tequila was also great, the flank steak was juicy and tender. The appetizer buffet was great. Cons: Shuttle service was confusing and some people jump the line. We had to learn to jump on right away to get a seat. Also we always had to ask the driver where each shuttle was going. It got better as we got more familiar with the place. Check in was an hour late. We got our room at 4. But they gave us 2 hours of late check out when we asked so I guess it evens out. The large buffet hall for dinner felt like a market. It was difficult to find a table as well. I much prefer the buffet at the premier lobby but they don't serve dinner there... Only breakfast and lunch Some staff weren't very friendly... They didn't serve tamarind water or hibiscus water at all which is strange as its their local drink They skipped cleaning our room one day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good. Not luxury. Bad food

Posted Dec 15, 2015
The hotel was overall good. The amenities were good. But if u r looking for luxury vacation this is not a hotel. I guess to get what you pay for. The food was not good at all. Even the restaurant (which were impossible to get into, even though they were empty) food was not good. The cocktails were also sub standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

our 12th stay at this resort

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: staff, staff, staff, food, garden like grounds, beach
Cons: our ability to go more often
Location: Close to the ruins of Tulum (beautiful seaside area) and Coba. Xel-ha is great place to spend a day. Jungle ATV Cenote and Zip lining trips.
Having stayed at several other Riviera Maya resorts we settled on this one mainly because of the staff, the food and the meticulous grounds and buildings. On our returns we are always looking out for our favorite servers - Martha (pronounced Marta if you see her), Olga, Maria, Angelia, Ofelia - found in the main Lobby bar or in the Premier bar. It is very much like visiting our children and catching up with photos of their children. Also look for Ana (breakfast) and Deyner (dinner) in the main buffet. The size of the resort may look intimidating but we rarely use the shuttle cars for transportation instead preferring to walk. The distance from the main Coba lobby to the Tulum lobby is about 1 mile or a 20 minute walk if you find the right roadway. A nice walk before breakfast. We do recommend walking the grounds to really appreciate the beauty of the resort. There are numerous off resort activities to keep you occupied if you are getting too much pool or beach time. The nearest Mayan ruins are at Tulum about 20 minutes down the highway. You can take a tour or a taxi from the resort or stand out on the highway and take a Collectivo (mini van bus) for about 2 USD. There is also great snorkeling at Akumal where you will see numerous turtles and the occasional Sting ray - located in a roped off area protecting them from boats. There are too many other excursions to mention here but being bored is not an option at this resort.