Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great facility

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We had a wonderful trip and were very happy with the staff, cuisine, activities and facilities available
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Rosa Rivero/ Hospitality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear R, Thank you very much for your comment and for recognizing the work of all the employees, that join their efforts to give all our guests a truly wonderful experience. We are happy that you found our mexican cuisine, activities and different facilities around the property satisfying enough, to take you a good memory back home. We are looking forward to see you soon! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Large, beautiful resort

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We had an amazing time at the Grand Palladium. We stayed in the Kantenah, and had a clean, spacious room. We liked that the resort has many places to eat, including snack bars, buffets, and a la carte restaurants. The food was good (considering it was a buffet). The pools were beautiful, and the resort is right on the beach. I recommend taking advantage of the transportation options around the resort, we walked a lot the first two days before we realized there are shuttles that can take you to your villa and to the other lobbies. There is also a boat the circles the White Sands and Riveria Hotel. I would absolutely recommend this resort, the staff were friendly and helpful, the pools and beach were pretty and clean, and the resort was large enough to offer a lot of variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Rosa Rivero/ Hospitality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chrissy, On behalf of all the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort &Spa, we would like to thank you for your touching review. We have succeeded providing a memorable vacation! Thank you again for your feedback. This information lets us know what we are excelling in and what we need to work on. We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back hope and can´t wait to welcome you back to our beautiful resort. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great first impression!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing to complain about!
Location: Tulum ruins was very hot and a long day, but fun none the less. With so much to do at the hotel, we only ventured out once.
This was me and my wife's first trip to Mexico and the Grand Palladium hotel and staff did not disappoint! Upon arrival, all staff members were very helpful in getting us checked in and taking us to our room. Without question, we were immediately upgraded in our room choice from what we had originally booked on Expedia. Great staff and very well kept grounds, we will be returning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eddie, thank you for choosing the Grand Palladium Kanteah Resort & Spa and sharing your comments about your exceptional vacation with us. We are elated to read that your stay with us was again a memorable one and we also appreciate your positive comments about our service from your arrival. Looking forward to welcome you again. Warmest regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Stayed for 1 week. Location is prime. Food is average, nothing to impressive. Pool was nice, and overall atmosphere was fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, we are happy to know that you had such nice experience during your vacation with us at the Grand Palladium Kantnah Resort & Spa. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review as this will help us to improve our product and services. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in future for any further assistance. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
4th time at this resort. Beautiful beach and pools. Service is amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we have read your review and we are very happy to know that you had another great time while you were on vacation with us at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your comments. Thank you so much for returning and we look forward to welcome you again very soon. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monte Rio

Enjoyable and relaxing escape

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Check in experience started badly as I was informed that the Kantenah Mayan Suite I had booked 6 months earlier was unavailable (however my friends and family members that I booked for got their 2 suites). I argued and asked for manager and was told over and over that they were unfortunatly booked and they would put me in the Colonial. After arguing for about 30 minutes the very unfriendly manager finally gave me room keys to Mayan suite in Kantenah with no further explanation as to how my room was suddenly "available". From there the trip did get better as our room was lovely (hot water did not work in outside shower but when I called service the next morning they took care if it same day). The hammocks on the balcony of the suites are so relaxing and the beautiful beach (and bar on beach) are just a short walk from the suites. We stayed in 3608 and I would recommend. If you don't like walking this may not be the room for you as it is the furthest away from pools and restaurants but I enjoyed the distance and welcome the walking (esp. after all the excess eating/drinking!). The food is okay for the most part but you will find some restaurants which are better than others. The food was really good at the Thai place but our second trip there was no Bueno as we waited for 2 hours (after sitting down and getting our salads) for our entrees which never came and all 8 of us walked out. We loved Luis at Hamilton bar as he made our nights! Ps this bar carries top shelf booze ;
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carrie, we have read your review and were delighted to know that you had such a enjoyable and relaxing experience while at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. We also really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your review as this will help other travelers to enjoy their vacation. Rest assured that we have taken note of the areas in which you were not completely satisfied and will make every effort to make the necessary improvements. We look forward to your return visit on your next vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Huge resort with lots to do

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The beaches and water. The amount of restaurant choices. The entertainment that went on throughout day and night!
Cons: Sound proof the rooms better.
Location: We didn't leave the resort to do anything.
This hotel is technically 4 in 1 and I don't think it mattered which hotel you booked through, Grand Palladium anything would have been amazing! Lots of different food options for anyone. The entertainment staff was incredible. There was a bar everywhere you turned. Shopping onsite with stores and then a market set up every night with lots of different stuff. The beaches were beautiful with great snorkeling and non motorized water sports. The man made saltwater pool was very neat. One downfall for this resort is that the rooms were not very sound proofed, we could hear almost everything our neighbors above us were doing. We will be considering coming back in the future!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager., Hotel Management
Dear LDUTCH, it is great to read that you enjoyed all the aspects mentioned of our beautiful Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa. As a 5-star resort we pride ourselves in the level of service that we offer to our guests, the quality meals we provide and the quality customer service extended by our staff. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as this is very important to us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we invite you to visit us again in the near future for another fantastic vacation. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Jungle & Beauty

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The resort it's self was BEAUTIFUL and had tons of wild life. It felt very safe and I loved all the walking!
Cons: THE STAFF!!! They need to be friendlier and helpful. No one goes out of there way to help you with anything!! SORTER WAIT TIMES FOR DINNER!!!!
Location: Snorkeling, Swimming, Eating and LOTS OF RELAXING
The hotel it gorgeous and has A LOT to offer!!! If you like to move and enjoy walking this is the resort for you! Tons of wildlife. The sea salt pool over looking the ocean was incredible!! They have amazing snorkeling and white sandy beaches. The facility is very clean and well kept lots of maintenance daily. There is a lot to do for children, I don't have any but when I do I would definitely go back. My ONLY complaint was the staff!!! NO ONE WANTS TO HELP YOU!! I generally figure things out on my own anyways but if you have never done anything like this before do not start here. They were pleasant but no one and I do mean NO ONE went out of there way to help us when we were lost or point us in the right direction. If you wanted to go to dinner at night there was ALWAYS a 60 minute wait even though tables were empty. The people driving the carts (because it's a big place) would drive right by you instead of picking you up. Staff wasn't great but the resort had a lot to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear M, thank you for choosing the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa and sharing your comments about your vacation with us. We are elated to read that you enjoyed the resort and its facilites. However, we deeple regret that your stay with us was not the expected in relation with the service. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in the future to assist you in order to welcome you with our best services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Georgia, USA

Excellent week at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The grounds were like gardens. The rooms were very attractive and well maintained. The dining was excellent - no complaints.. Very friendly staff!
Cons: There was no live band or dancing that we could locate ... that would have been fun. They now charge $10 a person to use the spa - used to be free.
Location: Lots to do on the resort itself. We took a catamaran out twice. We had rented a car so we toured Akumal, Tulum, and Playa del Carmen.
This was the second time we stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantenah resort and, once again, we were very pleased with our stay overall. Even though we arrived late, we got the ground floor suite that we had requested. The entire resort staff were very friendly... and hard working! All through out the day they were everywhere cleaning and sweeping. The result is that the place is spotless in our room and all the common areas. We especially liked the overall Spanish Colonial / local Mayan look with extensive limestone and marble floors and walls everywhere...even in the beach bathrooms! We also liked the color schemes that varied in the different reception area - colorful but not so loud as in many other resorts we passed by. All the main areas were open aired with native thatch roofing - attractive and practical. The main pool was very wall taken care of, and we loved the swim up bar and the sunning benches built into the pool. The weather was typical of the time of year - much like Florida - crystal clear blue skies that sometimes built up to clouds inland - but mostly clear on the coast. We did get one brief rainstorm that cleared to blue skies within an hour. It was cool in the morning and evening but rather hot and humid in the middle of the day - here again typical for the time of year. The beach was bright white soft coral sand There were plenty of beach lounges in both sunny and shaded areas. The food and drink was very good and no limits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo - Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for choosing the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa and sharing your comments about your excellent vacation with us. We are elated to read that your stay with us was again a memorable one and we also appreciate your positive comments about our services. We kindly inform that there is live music every night at the Colonial and Riviera lobbies and we hope you will enjoy our nice night atmosphere in your next travel. We really look forward to your next visit and we will be more than happy to host you once more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Raw sewage.....

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: convenience, some of the staff was helpful
Cons: - I was checked into a room that was occupied. - fix the septic system - better customer service -working phone in the room
Location: The place is huge. This was a proximity booking . I imagine most come to stay i n the hotel and they definitely could.
Hotel facilities are massive and generally clean. It is your typical all inclusive. Would be a simple solution for a family. Despite its size and the number of facilities, outside of the common areas, the hotel has a good balance with the surrounding jungle.... however.... the problems began at check in... first, I was checked into an occupied room. When I entered the room I found two sparsely clothed spaniards who probably thought I was breaking into their room. Next I walked back to the front desk ( a long walk) and waited for 45 minutes to get a new room (they were busy figuring out what happened rather than solving the problem)... the next gift came at 1AM on day two when an unbearable smell overcame the room. It is clearly an issue with the septic system they've installed and it made sleeping impossible (burning nose and eyes). It wasn't a problem simply for my room, it was an issue for the entire building as I could hear incredulous whispers and the opening and closing of doors. When I went to call the front desk, I realized my room phone was broken (either a hotel strategy or a consequence to an earlier episode. Rather than walking 15 minutes to wait another hour, I endured the issue. It ended a few hours later. I checked out of the room the next day and won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Sergio Bermejo, Rooms Division Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for sharing with us your review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to bring to our attention the pros and cons of your vacation experience. We must apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during you stay with us and assure you that corrective action will be taken to improve on the areas you mentioned. We would love to have another the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have an unforgettable vacation. Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further assistance. King regards,