Ratings based on 1,958 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collinsville, United States of America

Family place

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Location is okay nothing much to do nearby
Buffet food-great Resturant food-not that great Cleaness of the hotel-yes Too many Mexican monkey around within the hotel areas The room is large but they did not do well with housekeeping, there are time my room didnt get clean, the staff only clean the room once a day. Entertainment is awfull Takes too long for check in and the lobby is hot...no A/C Overall this hotel is for family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Slippery and moldy

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Its beautiful, wild life was nice, great amount of privacy in swim up rooms
Cons: the bed was hard as a rock, the room smelled of mold SO TERRIBLY BAD that my fiancé got fungal pneumonia, the customer service was absolutely terrible. The food was just barley edible. The entire resort is marble tile including our swim up room and balcony. The entire group of people I was with slipped at least 10 times each, we asked for a solution and none was given.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

OK Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Infrastructure, beach
Cons: Food, transportation
Location: Location OK, downtown somewhat near
Good infrastructure, good beach, bad food, bad transportation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, United States of America

Excellent value and fantastic experience!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Like many people we read literally hundreds of reviews on our top 5 choices when planning our trip. If you are trying to pick a vacation resort this one is a great choice. The Experience my family of 4 had was excellent and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a good value, with a few caveats. First, no one should expect 5 star dining at an all-inclusive...it is a Buffet for most of your meals. The food was adequate but they had the same thing everyday so variety was a little lacking if that bothers you. Other resorts we have stayed at changed some things up each day. The Vaqueria Grill was by far the best ala cart restaurant. We were disappointed at the Italian and Mexican restaurants...only got 3 raviolis on my dinner plate. The beach area was fantastic and well kept, and the pools were plentiful. I definitely recommend upgrading to the Platinum. Having free wifi was great, and access to private pool and a bar just for Platinum guests was great, and the rooms were literally a 1 minute walk to the beach. It would be nice if they added some additional water sports items like paddle boards and water bikes. The kayaks and snorkel gear were easy to access. The staff were very friendly and did a great job making you feel welcome. We would definitely go back to this resort in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burr ridge, United States of America

Good for Families

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Kids club and Platinum Club
Cons: Food , room service
Location: we went to Playa downtown to eat Tacos al Pastor.
this hotel is huge , prepare to walk a lot if you are not staying at the platinum area that is very close to the beach but far from the main building where all the restaurant and amenities are , the best part of the hotel its the kids club those girls that take care of the kids are amazing , the really care for the children and do their best to play with them and entertain them. food its average , theme restaurant has very limited option to offer at dinner .. buffet in the morning was OK but they need to put more staff to cook to order. lines can be very long waiting, If you stay at Platinum Building you have special perk such as private pool with service and its very close to the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

“1st Vacation to Play Del Carmen 10 01 to 09 2016

Posted Oct 16, 2016
“1st Vacation to Play Del Carmen 10 01 to 10 09 2016” 4 of 5 stars I have been to Cancun before and wanted to visit Playa Del Carmen. I booked and The Grand Princess Suites. Vacation The staff was all so helpful The grounds was like heaven, Always many staff cleaning up. I had a plan to try every restaurant and fell in love the 2nd night. The Sushi was like a show, I had too much fun. Ok, so the Drink THE DRINKS, Wow, it was great. Many waitress. I also visited the swim up BAR..... I had want to share 2 problems. 1) The are not enough carts to transport guests. Very Large Hotel.. The Lobby was a 15 mins walk and you found yourself walking to diner in 86 deg weather and you would be sweating by the time you arrival for diner. 2) Playa Del Carmen was a 15 or 20 mins Taxi ride. I used 5 cabbies and 3 of the 5 were not friendly or Nice. Yes, 2 CABBIES were assume. I called them the rest of my stay. They both spoke English and I used American Dollars Cabs # 2064 984 212 0390 / 984 112 6525 Cab. 998 293 9159 Thanks Bob Krumm Stayed October 2016
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful resort w/great staff but bad food

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff were excellent. The drinks were delicious and the beach was beautiful and clean. There were many pools to choose from including the "party pool" where they had ridiculous games participated by 20 something's. It was fun to watch. Being in the Platnium side, our building had a private pool with great service and the best bed cabanas. We stayed there most of the time. Our room was spacious, nice and clean (killed a flea or a two but our room was pretty much facing the jungle). The concierge would bring us anything we needed at any time quickly and with pleasure. The entire resort itself was very well kept and safe. Cons: I personally found the food pretty terrible and unfortunately spent my 3rd day stuck in my room with food poisoning. I was left with little energy or desire to eat for the rest of the trip. In talking with others, I heard some people rave about the food and some also agreed it was mediocre at best. While the room itself was nice, the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The entire room is marble tile and slippery. My 2nd day there I slipped getting out of the shower and have a fantastic black eye to prove it. All in all I'd give it 3 stars and would recommend it to someone if it's a good deal and you aren't too concerned with good food quality. Happy travels!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge resort Not pleasant stay

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Location was good, very close to 5th avenue
We arrive at 7pm no one even bother to greet us say welcome NOTHING, but we get "upgraded" they simple say go to front someone will pick u up take u to PLATNIUM. We get slightly excited after such long flight we were happy! We arrive the actual check in once again no one greets us guy seems mad at the world hating his job just stares us down! Agh just bad we have been to Cancun several times beautiful hotels nice people but this hotel gets a 3! Nice facility too bad some employees seem to be so unhappy, seems like they prepare to only service foreigners more tips I guess!! We got lied multiple times by concierge claiming we couldn't order food to the room when in fact we could!! Just bad employees bad food. At least the beach was beautiful and pools were great! Overall definitely not the best for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Hotel is very clean, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: very close to downtown Playa del Carmen which we did our shopping.
Very clean and elegant hotel. Hard working, friendly and helpful staff. I will HIGHLY recommend friends to stay in this hotel. This is a very safe hotel to stay. Keep up the good work everyone. !!!! I will certainly come back for my vacations. Thank you very much for making my vacation a very Blessed, enjoyable and safe. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent relax spot

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: 5a avenida, Xcaret and CocoBongo
Everything is perfect. I love this hotel. Second time staying. Hotel workers are very courteous with guests. I just have one exception, they last guy working on the front desk/reception on 10/12/2016 around 8:30 was rude and poorly professional, that is the only bad experience we had. He was like in a hurry and completely rude.