Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: grand vellas
most amazing resort we have ever stayed at. the service and food was incredible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

Gran Class is truly grand

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Everything. Distributed so well over area that it feels quaint and never crowded like other all inclusives.
Cons: They have it all down pack.
Location: Many famous Mexican adventure parks / sites are 30 mins - 1 hour drive, but if you are truly coming to relax then you never want to leave.
If you are looking for a truly romantic and relaxing escape, this is the perfect place. Every suite in the Gran class section has a beach front view with a large balcony and small plunge pool. The beach Is not the greatest to swim in because of too many rocks but you still can by donning water shoes. However the scenery is heaven and the service is first class all the way. all the pools are fabulous as is poolside service. If you insist on night life you can travel into Playa Del Carmen, but this place is really meant for those looking to disconnect from the madness and just enjoy each other. Truly paradise with 5 diamond service, premium drinks and excellent food at all the restaurants and even the buffets, which is unusual in all inclusives. Not cheap but you truly get what you pay for and it is worth every cent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Inmejorable servicio, a nivel mundial

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Bienvenida Concierge, te consiguen todo lo que quieras Instalaciones
Cons: Todo súper bien,
Location: Es un hotel para estar aislado, en familia, en pareja y hasta solo, enclavado en la selva, si lo que quieres es desconectarte, Grand Velas es EL LUGAR
Lo mejor: el servicio, cálido y con sonrisa franca, no parece all inclusive en el sentido de que la comida es de lo mejor, restaurantes de alta calidad, grandes opciones de restaurantes, comida y bebidas, todo incluido verdaderamente, hasta el mini bar, sólo hubo un poco de variación en la temperatura en la regadera, lo comentamos por Expedia y en UNA hora Orion, uno de nuestros 2 Concierges, estuvo ahí para que mantenimiento lo arreglara, los Concierges totalmente profesionales, 3 Lobbies, opción SIN niños y CON niños es IDEAL 2 albercas, una en Sense con varios chapoteaderos, desde 30cm, pasando por 45cm hasta 80cm hay Kids y Teen clubs, no tenemos más que comentarios positivos para la gente de Grand Velas, simplemente sigan así y serán de mis favoritos. Recomendamos restaurantes Frida: mexicana, el Oriental y el buffet desayuno del restuarante Azul frente al mar ESPECTACULAR. De verdad, he estado en Atlantis de Islas Bermudas y si bien es un gran hotel el servicio de México es mucho mejor, y dentro de México Grand Velas está en nuestro número 1 a la fecha.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Gerente General, Hotel Management
Julio César muchas gracias por sus cálidas palabras y sinceras felicitaciones. Nada me da más gusto que saber que Grand Velas es ahora uno de sus resorts favoritos. La atención personalizada y la alta calidad de nuestros productos nos han permitido exceder las expectativas de nuestros huéspedes que como usted buscando que estén a la altura de los mejores de México. El ser un all-inclusive de lujo nos permite elevar la experiencia al siguiente nivel particularmente con nuestro tour culinario. Me alegra mucho saber que deleitamos su paladar de manera única con lo mejor de la cocina internacional. Para nosotros será un gusto que nos permita seguir siendo los anfitriones de una experiencia única. Le estaremos esperando
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Better for couples than for families

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The property is beautiful and the staff is great. The pool is huge and so are the rooms. We had some very good meals and food is generally good.
Cons: The hotel could have done more to clean the seaweed from the beaches, provide boats and/or swim platforms. Also more places for kids to eat.
Location: We did not leave the hotel property during our stay. We wanted to go sailing but didn't want to take the hour bus ride to Cancun to get to the boat.
The property is beautiful and the staff is excellent. However, this hotel is advertised as a family friendly all-inclusive hotel, but most of the restaurants don't allow kids, and there aren't many activities for kids/teens. Most of the water sports are extra, and there is limited availability. It doesn't help that the beach and water was full of seaweed and nobody would swim there. I know this problem is up and down the coast, but the hotel did not do enough to clean the beach daily. They also could have provided boats and/or a swim platform to areas where the water was clean. Note that Expedia made no issue of the seaweed problem when we were booking our trip otherwise we would have gone someplace else. Overall our trip was good, but we had been to Beaches several times, and found their hotels to be better for families with regards to activities, and food/restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING EXPERIENCE

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: AMAZING food and staff Beautiful hotel
Cons: More free activities at the beach such as paddleboarding or canoing
Location: Go to XPLOR Dos Ojos Cenotes
We have traveled around the works and we can honestly say this is the best service we have ever experienced. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. We were assigned Carolina, a wonderful concierge. She was so efficient, attentive and sweet. She would come to find us around the hotel to make sure we did not nead anything! She booked us at XPLOR which is a park with amazing caves and incredible zip linking. We also swam in caves at Dos Ojos Centote which was breathtaking. The hotel staff is available 24/7 and was always friendly and helpful. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The pools are huge and gorgeous. Jessica who is so sweet walks around offering to clean your eye glasses and offers popsicles. The pool bar restaurant staff great. The food is GOURMET and delicious. Hard to believe it is an all inclussive hotel with this service and food. The restaurant Luca is AMAZING. Luca the general manager is wonderful! Jaime and Elisio who served our food were so professional and attentive. It was so delicious we went there 3 nights out of 7! I wish I could remember everyone's names but they are all fantastic. The beach is gorgeous. The staff setting up your cabana and chairs is are great. The only problem was some seaweed due to the warming of the ocean. Hope that will clear up soon. The rooms are huge and beds are so comfortable. If you are going to Playa Del Carmen and want a hotel that is beautiful, has great food, and amazing staff stay at Grand Velas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2015
I normally don't write reviews, but our family of four (with 2 daughters 12 and 13) had a fabulous time at this resort. The resort is beautiful, food was great (especially dinners at Piaf and Cocina de Autor) and the service is top notch. The air conditioned shuttles between the various parts of the hotel is very fast and convenient (I don't think we ever waited longer than a couple of minutes), so you can enjoy all parts of the hotel. We stayed in Zen section, which we preferred because it was more secluded and the Zen pool had a Bali-like ambiance - but we regularly enjoyed the Ambassador section as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

Facility and location will compel me to go back

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Rooms are quite large. The balcony and patio's are good size.
Cons: Sea food selection on the menu. I mostly only found Tuna and Salmon in most restaurants. One restaurant had Sea Bass.
Location: recreation parks, ruins, cenotes, shopping, Highly recommend renting a car. Caution - Xel-ha is waste of money. Seen more fish at local aquarium.
I generally don't go back to the same place twice but this one I might make an exception. The facility is well designed and even though our room was what seem to be in middle of the jungle, the hotel provides shuttle service to the beach and there was never a delay of more then 2-3 min. The rooms were large (we have two kids), modern and well designed. The pool was huge and felt like a warm bathtub. I had no issues securing a shaded place by the pool regardless of the time of the day. The service around the pool area was good and above expectation. The facility had 6 or 7 restaurants, all of them exceeded our expectation in décor, quality of food, service (A+), menu options etc. The beach would have been fantastic except that there was kelp. Per hotel staff, There are 2-3 weeks every year when the kelp shows up and we ended up there on the wrong week. In spite of that, the water was amazingly clear and warm (like a bathtub). Excellent for paddle boarding and kayaking. My daughter won a contest and we were given an unforgettable 30 min plus ride on a Hobie boat with Tony as our captain. For motorized sports my wife and kids went for sea scooter (electric - no noise - environmentally friendly) and had an amazing time with Alex as their guide and saw tons of fishes - Highly recommended. Negative - One employee on the water sports area was rude but I had to let go and think about all the positives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Best Hotel I have stayed

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Excellence. Great place. Will come back. Food was excellent. Service was great. Pool was the best. Stayed in the Zen and would stay there again. Spa was pricey, but well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Porya, thank you very much for sharing your enthusiasm regarding your stay at Grand Velas. It is of great satisfaction to know we were able to exceed your expectations of luxury and excellence both with our personalized service and our award winning culinary tour. We will be looking forward to the next opportunity as we invite you to indulge in an experience beyond all compare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ニューヨーク

大満足でした!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
非常にホスピタリティーの高いホテルであると思います。 バトラーサービスを始め、レストラン、ビーチ、プールなど全てにおいて痒いところに手が届くといった印象でした。 私はZen Grand Tower, Pool Suite Nature Viewに宿泊しましたが、プールは腰まで浸かる程度の小さいスペースでしたので、 プールのない部屋でも十分かなと個人的には感じました。 お部屋は非常に広く、清潔で、朝と夜の2回ベットメイキングをしていただけることにもホテルの丁寧さが伺えました。 ミニバーも充実していますし、館内にはレストラン8箇所の他にもバーが充実していますので、今回4泊しましたが、毎日違った気分で食事やお酒を楽しめて大満足のオールインクルーシブでした。 特にバーはプールの中にもあり、水着で水に浸かったままいただくお酒はリゾートならではで格別でした。 今回はハネムーンで訪れましたが、本当に思い出に残る滞在となりました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Experience EVER!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: People, Service, Food and the Zen. Unbelievable.
Cons: Less humidity and more friendly mosquitoes.
Location: We visited Tulum and had a great time. We spent one afternoon and two evenings (after the great food at Gran Velas), in Playa Del Carmen and loved it
We went for our 25th Anniversary. We have family and friends that have stayed at the "Rosewood" down the road. They loved it but I believe we have persuaded them to move next door the next time around. We cannot stop telling four friends and family about what a great time and great food we had. We always begin talking about the exemplary service, always with a smile, the food and the hotel. We stayed at the Zen section and spent a good deal of time at the pool and want to give a great big shout out to Carlos (Pool Manager) and Jose (a part time/temporary worker with great aspirations for service). These two were the best tag team, taking care of us and making us feel like Gran Velas Family. We will never forget the people, the food and the peace we felt when we arrived and when we left, of course with a smile. We WILL be back (26th Anniversary)!