Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

very friendly straff

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: The hotel needs renovations, the food in the buffets is not good, low selection and not tasty, the drinks just ok.
Location: beach is close
The location of the hotel is nice; close to the beach, with very friendly and service oriented staff. The hotel needs renovations and the food in the buffets is not good, low selection and not tasty, the drinks just ok. This can be a good hotel if they invest in the renovations and in a good chef.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Inadequate Service :(

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nature
Cons: SERVICE!!!
Location: Isolated from all.
Managers...... You would benefit from training staff on proper service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Very nice hotel!..........But, lacking service.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The palm trees, cenotes, and the rivers are beautiful!
Cons: Service, improve your service. Beautiful hotel + Excellent service = Success!!
Location: This is a beach front resort, but the beach needs maintenance. Lots of seaweed, makes it look dirty and trashy.
My family and I travel to Cancun often, this is the first time that we stay at Hacienda Tres Rios. Very nice hotel, but definitely lacking service! Staff was not friendly at all, rude at times. Not a whole lot of variety on food choices, I'm used to a "Pool Snack Bar," none at this hotel. You can't eat at or near the pool. You have to actually seat at the restaurant and eat your snack/meal there. It took numerous times of asking our waiters for drinks as they would forget or were too busy to attend to us. Very disappointed in the service overall!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas tx

Hotel Hacienda tres Rios muy bonito

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Todo en jeneral es muy bueno las abitasiones,los restaurantes,el personal muy amable, la comida toso es perfecto!! Pero ai una sola cosa! Creo de las mas importantes para un hotel ! La playa no la recomiendo es muy susia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Isolated, rundown and understaffed.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The pool but not much else.
Cons: Treat non-timeshare members as well as members, we paying to be there. Increase waiter staff. Improve buffet. Provide some kind of shuttle service.
Location: Way too isolated and not near anything. I would, however, recommend XPLOR fun park, we all had a great time that day.
This hotel/resort was chosen by another family member that we were meeting there for a weeks vacation. Things went downhill the minute we arrived. After getting our luggage from the shuttle bus we went to enter the lobby and our luggage was rudely taken from us, didn't want it in the lobby I guess. We checked in but was did not receive our room keys until we spoke to "someone" to tell us about the hotel, which never happened, because after almost 2 hours I demanded our room key. AC in the didn't work and when you looked over the concrete wall of the balcony there was a large gutter full of debris of cans, bottles, cigarett butts, branches. We were given another room the following day only to find the floor dirty but the ac worked great. The hotel, aside from the lobby, appears to need a lot of updated care. It has the smallest buffet we have ever seen with the smallest portions and the food was nothing to brag about. The other restaurants had better food but were small and required reservations. The beach was not inviting at all due to a "seasonal seaweed" in the water that make it look like an oil spill had happened. Staff was friendly but not they need more waiters, it was "always" quicker to go get you own drinks instead of waiting way too long. The only bar to relax in for a few drinks was a very loud sports bar so we sat in the lobby every night to talk to family but still had to get our own drinks. Very isolated location. Disappointing stay and will never go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Centoes and jungle setting/ Very friendly staff!
Cons: Beach bar, or more waitstaff for the beach.
Location: Xplore Fuego was amazing!!!
The beach here is unswimmable - but the cenotes were wonderful...even better than we had hoped! We all liked the free activities (snorkling, kayaking, bicycling), and we stayed active every day. The jungle setting is gorgeous. The staff is all very freindly and helpful. Our room was clean, but the property is slightly showing it's age. It is very quiet - maybe sometimes too much so! The days they had special events made the whole atmosphere seem so much more festive! Food was always OK. There were always plenty of chairs/beach beds in the shade, so this was never an issue. Towels were easy to get. The biggest negative was that there was no bar close to the beach - in the hot weather, waiting for beach service was rough!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

Des privilèges pour les membres

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Un endroit agréable, mais quelle surprise de voir la belle plage réservée aux membres ( fantôme) et la même chose pour la majorité des lits de plages et de piscines. Décevant de ce point de vue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go if you are not members...also bad beach!

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Cons: Treat paying customers the same way as members. If not, stop selling this hotel on Expedia as an ALL Inclusive.
We went there for spring break. The resort itself is OK, the rooms are descent and the staff is nice! However, this resort is a timeshare proprety and non-members do not have access to all privileges. First of all, the beach and ocean water had brown thick sludge and rows of brown reef and seaweed. I didn't see one person in the water. On the "Members Only" side of the beach which had clean water because of the cenotes, we were not allowed access and couldn't use the chairs, umbrellas, or food service. The pool was descent but couldn't use the nice comfy beds or cushions for chairs because we were not "Members". Same thing on the public beach. The food was average and some of the A la carte restaurants closed on particular nights because they offered Lobster diner to "Members". The buffet was just OK, for breakfast they had plenty of options and fresh fruit but for supper, it was always the same food even if there was suppose to be a theme everynight. The staff and people were friendly, except the girl supervisor of the private beach. She was very rude and chased us (we were travelling with 4 families) from the private beach, even my friend's 2 year old who simply wanted to play in the shallow clear water. Overall, will never go back again because of the way they treat non members.
4 out of 5
by Takashi from アメリカ


Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson Falls, NY

Expected more

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: LOVED the segway tour!!
Cons: Customer service - did not feel as though we were being pampered on vacation. The Thai restaurant could be more accessible to "non-members".
Location: We did excursions at Maroma and had a fabulous time. The entire family did ATV's and swimming with the dolphins. The kids did the jet pack adventure
Had a terrible time trying to get a hair dryer on day one. Room frequently smelled of sewer gas. When calling the front desk for a maintenance man, a housekeeper came and sprayed air freshener. Wish we hadn't agreed to do the time share breakfast. Did this on day two and ruined some of our excitement. Time share advisors were VERY pushy with questionable integrity. We really liked the staff that provided excursions and worked at the photo shop.