Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fun experience

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: staff and the cabanas, grounds of the hotel
Cons: the restaurant menu
Location: Puerto Morelos for more variety of restaurants,
We stayed here for 2 nights and it was fun to stay in the little cabanas, very nice and comfy. A little out of the way, ($30 US cab fare each way to Playa del Carmen). The walk through the security gate and down the road to the beach was about 2 miles but sidewalk most of the way, but there are always cabs across the way at the restaurant. The beach is gorgeous and uncrowded, there are high-end resorts further down the beach. The menu and food at the restaurant could use a makeover, not everyone wants a burger and it is a shame they don't offer more variety. The restaurant is a very nice setting for breakfast. There is a tiny store next to the restaurant that we didn't see until we were leaving. The staff at the front desk were really nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful people.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
If you're looking for really fancy amenities, this is not your place. If you're looking for relaxation, beautiful jungle surroundings, and truly genuine people, stay here. The young lady running the desk (I feel bad I can't remember her name) was so nice - not "gotta kiss the tourists' butt nice, but genuinely a great person. The grounds are quiet and help you relax immediately. You don't feel like a touust. Also, the restaurant at their sister hotel on the beach is wonderful. The new manager is upping their beer selection to include Belgians and Mexican crafts.
5 out of 5
by Emma from Montreal

Lovely gem!

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was perfect for us - the grounds were lovely, the rooms wonderful and the location very convenient. While you are certainly aware that you are next to the highway, it did not bother us at all and lying by the pool was still serene and relaxing. You will want a car in this location so that you can take advantage of the short drive to the lovely private beach, or local food options in playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
by gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by FERNANDO from Mérida, Yucatán

Weekend at amarte

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed 3 days with my wife and kids, the beach is a couple of miles away but its really great, no TV in the room, it is great for a quiet weekend vacation, I plan to go back again just with my wife, kids had a great, the restaurant is ok, Playa del Carmen is close, you must rent a car, taxi is expensive.
5 out of 5
by Gail from Silver Spring MD

A jungle paradise

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Amarte is a lovely isolated retreat. We started our explorations of the Yucatan peninsula there for 3 nights. It was a perfect place to decompress before embarking on our adventure. The walk to the beach is far but it is idyllic once you arrive. There is a shuttle if you order a meal, snack, or drink at the beach front restaurant they are affiliated with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Beautiful Setting

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: It is very beautiful, quiet, and you feel very secluded. Had a nice porch area and hammocks outside the room. Front Desk Staff was friendly.
Cons: Beds were not super comfortable for me. Air Conditioner was loud and would shut off sometimes. Not much nearby without a car or using the local bus
This place is in a beautiful setting. It is very close to the highway but this didn't really bother us at all while we were on the hotel grounds. I was not particularly impressed with either of the restaurants associated with the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Brad from Philadelphia

Perfect weekend getaway in town

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel in the center of everything. We are 54 and 49 years old and are not night owls but the lively late night craziness did not keep us up at night like some reviews mention. Our room was 310 facing the pool and the music from the clubs was not heard. The room was clean and included a kitchen, staff very friendly, steps from the beach. The proximity to all the action was perfect. You could walk the lively 5th Ave or walk a bit out off the beaten path and explore authentic Mexico. We ate from the street vendors with the locals with no problem at all for just a few US dollars and it was always the best taco of the day. We do not speak Spanish either but everyone was willing to help with the language barrier. If you have had enough of the mega resorts and want to try something different and are a bit adventurous I highly recommend this place. We will most definitely be back!
5 out of 5
by Maryrose from Helena, MT

The staff was amazing

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
Our family stayed for 2 nights and loved it. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were comfortable and the staff was especially wonderful. While the hotel is not on the beach, they do offer the use of a lovely private beach a few miles away. Another note is the hotel is not in walking distance to anything but a nice burger place across the street. However if you want other food options and the chance to check out the sights a car is needed. Overall though a great place to stay at a great price with a very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by isaiah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels