Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fun experience

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: staff and the cabanas, grounds of the hotel
Cons: the restaurant menu
Location: Puerto Morelos for more variety of restaurants,
We stayed here for 2 nights and it was fun to stay in the little cabanas, very nice and comfy. A little out of the way, ($30 US cab fare each way to Playa del Carmen). The walk through the security gate and down the road to the beach was about 2 miles but sidewalk most of the way, but there are always cabs across the way at the restaurant. The beach is gorgeous and uncrowded, there are high-end resorts further down the beach. The menu and food at the restaurant could use a makeover, not everyone wants a burger and it is a shame they don't offer more variety. The restaurant is a very nice setting for breakfast. There is a tiny store next to the restaurant that we didn't see until we were leaving. The staff at the front desk were really nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful people.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
If you're looking for really fancy amenities, this is not your place. If you're looking for relaxation, beautiful jungle surroundings, and truly genuine people, stay here. The young lady running the desk (I feel bad I can't remember her name) was so nice - not "gotta kiss the tourists' butt nice, but genuinely a great person. The grounds are quiet and help you relax immediately. You don't feel like a touust. Also, the restaurant at their sister hotel on the beach is wonderful. The new manager is upping their beer selection to include Belgians and Mexican crafts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Beautiful Setting

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: It is very beautiful, quiet, and you feel very secluded. Had a nice porch area and hammocks outside the room. Front Desk Staff was friendly.
Cons: Beds were not super comfortable for me. Air Conditioner was loud and would shut off sometimes. Not much nearby without a car or using the local bus
This place is in a beautiful setting. It is very close to the highway but this didn't really bother us at all while we were on the hotel grounds. I was not particularly impressed with either of the restaurants associated with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Secluded, you have to drive to the beach and towns, very clean rooms, since it is surrounded by jungle there are a lot of bugs. The beach is amazing. Staff is very helpful and extremely nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The AC is too noisy

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The AC and the fan are so noisy that we cannot sleep well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mosquito Madness

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: It is set within beautifully lush gardens
Cons: The service could be improved. The reception staff member was distracted and repeatedly answered the phone throughout our check in.
Location: You need a car if staying here as everything is a drive away
The hotel is set within beautiful gardens and offers a lot of promise except upon approaching our room there was a dead cockroach on the front step surrounded by bugs and a bucket full of water infested with mosquitos... Inside the room was no better with mosquitos literally swarming. We notified hotel staff and they asked we return to our room to let in maintenance staff to spray for bugs, after 30 minutes of waiting we returned to reception as no one had come. The room did get sprayed but they left the dead bugs all over the floor and bed spread. It also did not completely clear out the room so it was a sleepless 'buzz' filled night. The staff were very vague and slow to react and it should also be noted that there are no drinks or food available on site, even though the hotel was fully booked their restaurant was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by Fernel Valdez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf of the hotel staff I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. It is true that since we are located in the jungle, we have to deal with mosquitoes at night in the garden areas, not in the rooms, so we will take note of your comment so it won't happen with any of our guests. It is not our goal to leave the expectations of our guest bellow the service we are willing to give and that is why your case will be followed. Hotel Amarte is well known for it's warm and efficient service, and if you give us an opportunity, we are positive you will change your perception. In what concerns the restaurant, during the dates of your stay, we had two restaurants open (Burger Stop and Pavoreal by the sea, with free transportation) where we provide food and beverages from 7 am until 10 pm. Actually we have continental breakfast included, Please, make sure you come back, we will make sure on your next visit you have the best service you deserve. Greetings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Privacy
Cons: Conditions of the way to the beach and services there.
Location: location ok, near to Playa del Carmen and Tulum
The experience was nice in general, I suggest to include some fruit and cold meats in the continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We used the hotel as an overnight stop after spending a day at Xplor and then flying out the next morning. It was just right. The grounds are beautiful, the staff delightful, the architecture interesting, and there is private access to a beautiful beach. The negatives are that there are mosquitoes, and also that the continental breakfast consists of white toast & sweet rolls and there is no fresh fruit. Overall, we were very pleased, and would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fernel Valdez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your comments, on behalf Hotel Amarte Staff, we would like to extend you an invitation to come back and discover new surprises we are preparing now. Also, in therms of breakfast, we will listen to our guests opinions and will improve it. The mosquitoes, even though we are located in the jungle, it is another subject we are working on so you won't have any issues with them. Remember, Amarte is growing, and we want you to see it! Greetings,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon

Nice Hotel with great service!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Our family spent a couple nights at Hotel Amarte. It was fabulous! The staff was so helpful. Always willing to help if anything was needed. The rooms were affordable and very well kept. The only down side is the remoteness (if you consider that a down side) and the mosquitoes. It is a 5 minute drive to Puerto Morelos and 2 km from the beach in the jungle. Very nice grounds and I was told they are in the process of building a full spa on site. Can't wait to return to Hotel Amarte! Gracias!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful paradise

Posted Feb 7, 2015
The best for vacation, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Everyone was so friendly, help always if we need something. Maroma beach is the most beautiful place of the world. Restaurant Food was fantastic. I will be back for sure.