Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah, US

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Overall the hotel was great and more than I had expected based on some other reviews. Our room was small yet clean, and comfy. My only dislike with it was that I wasn't able to open the curtains because our windows faced the hall way so everyone walking by could see us, however, if our stay would have been longer, I would have asked for a different room and am sure they could have accommodate us. The front desk staff was was super nice and always provided great customer service. The restaurant within the hotel is EXCELLENT! We met the owner of the facility the last day we were there and had a great chat. We are definitely coming back to Hotel Cielo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Thank you Anita for taking time to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure meeting you. We are happy you had a comfortable stay and look forward to having you stay with us. Please know that we welcome any requests that would make our guests feel comfortable and secure. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!!!!!!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Your on 5 th Ave .Beach was only half block away
Staff was ever do helpful Location is great. Food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Thank you Lorena for reviewing our hotel. It was a pleasure have you stay with us. We hope you stop by again to enjoy the beach and have some delicious food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M.

Great one night pit stop.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Stayed here one night before waking up early to head to cozumel. The staff greeted me and were very friendly. Though my room was hot and muggy when I first entered I found the AC unit was in good working order and quickly cooled the room down. The shower hot water came quickly but there was no mirror in the bathroom. Even with the night life around and bar/grill downstairs my room was quiet and peaceful with minimal light pollution.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Thank you Evan for your kind review. We do have many one night bookings before and after Cozumel trips. Happy that you slept well with us. About the mirror, it is sometimes missed because of our unique design in each room you may find unconventional layout but yet authentic to the theme of the hotel. It was to the left of the faucet. We do hope to see you again on yourr next trip , hopefully a much longer stay in Playa Del Carmen. Thank you again and hope you enjoyed your time in Cozumel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Perfect location. Cute, quaint, wonderful staff

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Won't stay anyplace else. Perfect location to beach and 5th ave. beautiful Mexican style decor. From the moment we arrived until we left staff was amazing. Thanks to hotel Cielo for making our vacation perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind remarks and we do hope to see you again on you next trip to Playa Del Carmen. Many Thanks from all at Hotel Cielo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

In the center of the 5th Ave

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Very close to the beach, the ferry station and the restaurants and shops of the 5th Ave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Thank you Mr.J for taking the time to write your review We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. Mr. J, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place and so close To everything

Posted May 23, 2016
You get what you pay we didn't pay much for the room and it was so close to everything and the rooms were clean and very nice decoration. I would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Steven, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location and great restaurant attached

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Location, rustic architecture and feel.
Cons: Parking! Although there is no parking at the hotel, reserved space for guests elsewhere would be a plus.
Location: The beach is 1 block away, from the beach there is snorkeling/scuba tours, jet skiing, parasailing. The ferry to Cozumel is a 5 minute walk.
The family room with balcony was perfect. Steps from the main street, close to the beach, many great restaurants within a short walk. Staff was pleasant and helpful, including great local travel advice and restaurant recommendations from the ownership who were around most of the time. My three kids and I spent five action packed days on the beach and at the surrounding attractions. Perfect for the "anti-all-inclusive" vacationers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2016
I booked this hotel with Expedia because it said it included breakfast, and was close to the beach. The breakfast included turned out to be only one cup of coffee, a small orange juice and dry white toast that wasn't really toasted. When I asked for a refill on my coffee they said no. Then I was annoyed. I could order off the menu (which was expensive) and the waiter said only hotel guests could get 50% off the menu. When I told them I was a guest of the hotel, they explained that because I had booked through Expedia that I wasn't entitled to the 50% off and had to pay full price, with no credit for upgrading my 'included breakfast'. More annoyed. We booked and paid for three nights, and because we had to leave so early on our last day for the airport, and the restaurant wouldn't be open yet, I asked for a 2nd coffee on the second day being that I wouldn't be getting my so called 'included breakfast' on the last morning, and again they told me flat out no. I was totally annoyed now, and not to mention that we got charged $160 pesos to sit on the beach (for the chairs apparently) That was not the hotels fault, however just a heads up that booking a hotel close to the beach doesn't translate to any benefits for accessing the beach. i must say however that the front desk staff were awesome, and the beds were comfortable. Very limited amenities though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything was perfect
Excellent hotel. We will be back. Clean room, friendly staff, and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Nice, authentic Mexican hotel near beach

Posted Nov 25, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly, as was their staff. They provide fresh, clean drinking water and are knowledgeable enough for to recommend excellent restaurants off the beaten path -- we had the best chicken we've ever had at a small place within walking distance of the hotel. Highly recommend the hotel. Rooms are small but you don't go to Playa del Carmen to stay in your room all day. Great location and very cute hotel.