Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Super relaxing & cool place right on the beach!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: vibes, proximity to the beach
Cons: cleanliness in rooms/bathroom
Location: So much amazing food nearby, beach is beautiful, Tulum ruins are really cool - cenotes, other ruins and downtown not too far away.
Kin Ha is definitely one of the smaller hotels along the beach in Tulum. It has a family-run feel and is super intimate. It's very simple - the room and layout of the hotel are pretty basic, but it has a cute little garden area to hang out in and is RIGHT on the beach. We stayed in a room with the beach view which I would recommend because a) your porch is almost over the water which is really cool and b) there is no AC and the ocean breeze really helps at night (the waves are so loud! It was startling at first but then became very peaceful). The room wasn't overwhelmingly clean but it's a beach hotel and the price was way below any other place right on the beach so we were fine with it. Food was decent, Michelada's were great : ) Staff was really friendly & nice - overall it was a great stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Construction Blues

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Great location, best priced rooms in the area, best and most accomodating staff in all of Tulum, best priced drinks in the area, great restaurant
Cons: Let people know about the construction. Have actual people working in the office so if a problem arises you can address it.
Location: A beautiful spot, amazing fresh seafood everywhere you look. Visit the Pueblo and eat. Snorkel in the crystal clear water. Drink Pina Coladas, so good
Any other time, this place is a '5', you can't beat the price for the location, everyone who works there is incredible, the drinks are great, Corrina, the restaurant owner, is so sweet and her food is also a great deal and good, and of course, Moira, her dog is the perfect entertainment as you lounge on the beach. I love Moira! Seriously, the staff is so great, the nicest group of people I've experienced during my frequent visits to Tulum. Also, a comfortable mattress which is a huge bonus and not the norm in many of the eco/boutique hotels in the area. Unfortunately, there is major construction going on, so close, I could touch one of the new structures from my balcony (but they were buidling around 6 new cabanas). Construction workers were there from 7 am to 6 pm or 7 pm, a little less on weekends. It was so loud, power sanders, hammers, table saws, no afternoon siestas on this vacation. I tried to change hotels but expedia could never reach anyone in the office to secure reimbursement and insure I wouldn't be held accountable for any other fees. That was a real bummer and had a very negative impact on my vacation as the noise was not only in my room, but on the beach as well...not tranquil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Pete, Fl.

On a budget? Look no further.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Kin Ha is the quiet beach getaway that I was looking for. Very friendly, attentive staff at the hotel and restaurant. Italian & Mexican menu with tasty choices. The food is fresh and made to order. They definitely have a reputation for good food at a reasonable price. Rooms are basic, with cleaning service daily. Two thumbs up for Kin Ha. I'll be going back again, can't wait... Quiet, peaceful, friendly, and reasonably priced. What more do you want?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Better than expected

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Location, access to the beach, convenient restaurant, friendly staff, clean rooms with a balcony (beach facing), water in rooms
Cons: The parking lot was closed for work, so the cars were piled into the driveway and often blocking one another. Better lighting to guide people in.
Location: Beach access! The hotels on either side and across the road have good restaurants too. 10 minute drive to the ruins and the town.
Wasn't sure what this hotel would be like, but the location was good and it was on the beach. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the rooms. Our room overlooked the water and had a small balcony, it was large, clean and very comfortable. The restaurant was a great option for breakfast. We didn't eat other meals there but there were always other people from the hotel or in the area who would come by. The best thing about this hotel is that it's right on the beach, meaning you can walk out of your room and within a few seconds be lounging under an umbrella by the waves. The staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending other places in the area. The other advantage of the hotel is the location. There are other hotels and restaurants nearby on the beach and across the road and you're in a 5 - 10 minute drive of the ruins and the town. Would definitely recommend to others and come back on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Excellent deal for an excellent price.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: The easy access to the beach. The friendly staff. The restaurant.
Cons: A slightly softer mattress would be the only thing.
Location: Definitely rent a bike and enjoy peddling up and down the hotel zone road from the biosphere to the ruins and head down the bike to the Tulum Pueblo.
Hotel Playa Kin Ha was a great place to stay if you're looking for a low-key stay right on the beach. Check-in was a snap and we simply signed in, got our key, dropped off our bags and headed to the beach. The hotel is located right on the beach. There are always chairs available on the beach to lounge around, enjoy the sun or maybe a beverage of your choice. Our garden view room was very clean and never wanting for anything. It got some great breezes at night. The food in the restaurant is really good for breakfast and lunch. We never ate dinner there. The espresso was tasty and strong and the beer is ice cold. Staff were friendly, gracious and always willing to dispense any needed advice for the uninitiated traveller. The hotels in the Hotel Zone are mostly smaller scale places and not massive concrete slabs like those in Cancun or Riveria Maya. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to anyone else looking for a similar low-key holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Outer Banks, NC

Great little hotel and beach club!

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: We definitely enjoy the quaint, local flavor over the all-inclusives (none of which are in the area)...and Kin Ha Playa definitely fits the bill.
Cons: Well, I suppose I would have enjoyed a light out on the balcony for nighttime reading.
Location: Excellent restaurant next door (Posada Margherita), but also lots of cool bars/restaurants along the beach. Drive to Coba and climb the pyramid!
Literally right on the beach. We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed Kin Ha Playa. Good food, great drinks, and you should ask about Sam or Ray about their favorite mezcal! For sure go for an ocean view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True Tulum

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Hotel Kin-Ha playa is the true Tulum experience. Laid back and rustic and the perfect way to detach. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and the food is amazing!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Other than the location, nothing
Cons: Everything, tear it down and build a new one
Location: Beach, food
Dirty, run-down room. Power and water went out several times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The most beautiful and exciting experience

Posted Jun 9, 2015
My boyfriend and I got the awesome privilege of staying in room 3 which is a beachfront room above the restaurant in the hotel. The experience was unbelievably amazing! The hotel staff (Ramon and Jose) were so sweet and went above and beyond to make us feel most comfortable and valued over the course of the 4 days spent at Hotel Kin-Ha Playa. We noticed how hardworking those two were as each day they worked together to keep the grounds beautiful and maintained while also serving refreshing strong drinks and yummy Italian food for the guests of the restaurant. As for the hotel room, we fell in love with Tulum just standing on our balcony overlooking the most gorgeous clear waters and breath-taking sunsets. The breeze that came in cooled our room and the sounds of the ocean at night helped us sleep so well in our comfy queen sized bed. I highly recommend this paradise of a Hotel to anyone :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Boutique hotel on the beach

Posted May 4, 2015
Beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful staff. Great for getting away from everything and relaxing