Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Great location!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location! Cleanliness. Beds were comfortable. Lovely green areas inside hotel grounds. Quiet and peaceful.
Cons: We have no complaints.
Location: They provide vouchers for the restaurant down at the beach, which allowed us to lounge on their ocean front beds under a canopy all day.
This might have been our favorite place to stay on our 2 week, 4 city, 7 accommodation adventure in Mexico. Staff were wonderful, front desk was helpful. Communication was easy and location was perfect! A block away from 5th ave, the ocean, Starbucks, and more restaurants than you can imagine. We felt safe and comfortable here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Great hotel close to everything. Definitely will want to upgrade to suite if possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location, great staff, good deal

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: the staff is great, very helpful. great location, just off the beach.
Cons: not much storage space, only a small closet for hanging stuff. No drawers at all, so if you stay a week you need to live out of your suitcase.
Location: everything
This was our second time staying here. It is a great price at a great location, because it is not really on the beach. It is about 100 steps to the best part of the beach and that helps save a lot of money. The combination tree house and modern design mostly works. There are a few design decisions that keep it from being a great hotel, but most of those were not deal breakers for us, see below. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but there are probably 100 within a one block radius. All the rooms are very different, and not much price spread. At check in they gave us a room with almost no windows, which we didn't like and they were happy to switch or upgrade. We ended up with a huge room with the bed upstairs in a loft, which was very cool for only $20 a night more. Some weird design things: There is no shelf in the shower, so you have to stand there and juggle your shampoo and soap. There is not much storage space at all, only a small closet for hanging stuff. no drawers at all, so if you stay a week like we do, you need to live out of your suitcase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel, great location.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Loved the location, staff, and balcony.
Cons: The rooms are a bit musty. The air conditioner filters need to be changed more often. Woke up stuffy every morning.
I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Kinbe after a minor hiccup. The room that they first brought me too was incredibly dark and not at all what was pictured on Expedia at the time of my booking. The manager came to my room to help out and had it sorted out by the next day. I was moved to Room 13 the next afternoon which was the room in the photos that I had booked and I couldn't have been happier. It was full of daylight and had a wonderful little balcony. The hotel staff is wonderful. Extremely friendly and they take the time to get to know the guests. The hotel is clean and located one block from the beach. It is a bit noisy at night, but I would assume that anywhere near 5th Ave in Playa would be noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location. Great staff. Decent Value.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Unique boutiqe.
Cons: While friendly, the staff could be more informed about specific recommendations for activities. I understand this can be difficult as guests can have
The good: - Staff was very friendly. Made us feel at home. Maria, Enrique, and Matteo were all wonderful and excellent with suggestions of where to go, what to do, where to eat. Enrique, in particular, answered lots of questions and gave advice. He helped us avoid overpaying for a Cenote tour and told us how to do it ourselves (next day Maria gave us more specific recommendations). - Rooms were clean and comfortable. - Location is great - right off of 5th Ave Main Street, and close to the beach. Reservations come with access to the Zenzi beach club - which is a plus (beach benefits without staying at a beach resort) - Even though it is right off the Main street, and one block from all the nightclubs, the hotel itself was very quiet. A big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The hotel is vey close to the sea and the 5 av. We got a room on the main street so it was noisy also at night. There is no elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

almost hate to share secret

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
outstanding
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff, great location, just off the Main Street close to the beach, restaurants, bus station. Apart from the bed being uncomfortable, the room was simple but clean and all we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The hotel is 1 minute walk away from the beach and right around the corner from 5th avenue (the shopping/tourist area). Easy 10 minute walk from both ADO bus stations. They gave us passes to a beach club which was super convenient. Very welcoming staff. The front desk workers Maria and Enrique were very friendly and gave us useful information to do different activities. I definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, excellent staff, centrally located

Posted Aug 13, 2016
I booked a small room at the Kinbe, and it was seriously small. However, the room was kept spotlessly clean, with fresh towels and linens daily. The AC was excellent (remote controlled), as was the TV. The bed had a nice firm mattress, which was great for sleeping. The room had a small refrigerator with a "minibar" that was convenient for storing water, juice, and wine; I was dinged for a couple of items that I didn't use (I moved them to make room for my items), but the management was nice enough to deduct them my bill. The shower had a strange floor paved with stones, which took a little getting used to. There was little counter space or even a soap shelf. One very nice feature was the central location on 10 street just off Fifth Avenue--it was close to everything. The front-desk staff were always helpful. I would book the Kinbe again, but perhaps with a bit larger room.