Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is noisy and has lots of mosquitos

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I wouldnt recommend anyone to stay here, you can hear the noise from other guest inside the rooom and as we go into the room there is alot of mosquitos flying
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

small hotel near the center of Playa del Carmen

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, clean, small and the courtyard with the pool and palm trees was nice.
Cons: Some hotel bar would be nice
Location: It is 2 blocks from the 5th avenue, there is a supermarket around the corner, lots of restaurants within 5 min.
Hotel is small and clean, equipped with two swimming pools. All rooms are oriented inside a courtyard with swimming pool and palm trees. Rooms are dark due to insufficent daylight, we had to have lights on all the time. At first we received a room with view on wall then we moved and we had view at the palm trees. There is no bar/restaurant in the hotel, so no drinks at the pool and no room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff But Hotel Room Had Minor Issues

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff and closeness of the location to everything.
Cons: Bathroom pluming. Fix that smell. Where was it coming from?
Location: It was close to everything from restaurants to the city's high-end mall and clubs.
The location was incredible – it was close to everything. And the staff were friendly and attentive. They maids kept the room clean; however, the bathroom had an unfortunate smell during our entire stay. Also, the beds were not the most comfortable ones out there. So, if you are not picky, the place is perfect. We cared more about the location and friendly staff. As for the Wi-Fi try using the 3 variation. The first one barely gets any signal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Small and Nice hotel with a short walk to Beach.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Small and quaint hotel in the heart of Playa. Two blocks from the main plaza, Quinta Avenida (5th Ave) and a10 min walk to Beach. Have been to Playa before and loved it. Stayed in an all inclusive not to far from here and fell in love with the community. Naturally we came back to celebrate our anniversary and decided to try this little hotel Las Golondrinas. It's very pleasant and charming. Updates were being made while our stay but nothing one can't handle. Johnathan and Miguel in the front reception desk are nothing but pleasant and we just adored Vilma our room attendant who made every effort to have our room clean and nicely decorated with creative and whimsical towel designs. This crew helped made our stay more enjoyable. Didn't get to enjoy the two beautiful pools on premises.One is centrally located within a breathtaking garden making one feel relaxed and the other a bit more quite located on one side of the hotel that was also having it's outdoor garden and area renovated. Breakfast is served daily for purchase or im prebooked. We didn't try as our plans throughout our stay was to venture and eat out with our local friend that we made . No fancy fancy frills here but we had a great stay. We would definitely have another go and highly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fake-out at Golondrinas.

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I informed t he manager when we checked in that I needed a room with light and air as I had alot of work to do on the computer for my job. He gave us a decent room, but failed to mention that there was construction going on right outside our door (repairing the elevator) and above our heads (banging on the ceiling) and right outside all our windows. After the first day, we should have moved rooms but stupidly figured it was over (it wasnt) By the time I realized the noise was continuing, it was too late to move, so I ended up trying to work in the lobby. The internet was super slow and unreliable too. I was thrilled to leave. Dont go unless you are sure they are finished with their renovations which made the pool and central courtyard un-usable (all dusty) The place should have been closed down while they were doing this! Unconscionable..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Well located near 5th avenue. Great find!

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, lovely gardens and pool, clean room, wifi that actually works, breakfast buffet that rivals 4 star hotels in Europe.
Cons: Lower the sink in the bathroom and get rid of the step to enter it.
Location: Great location. Quiet considering construction nearby. Very close to shopping, restaurants, the beach.
The staff is great. Room very nice for the price and includes breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good budget hotel in the centre of everything.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We didn't want an all inclusive resort and this hotel was perfect for our adventures. Parking can be limited but there is a cheap car park a little down the road under the shopping centre.
1 out of 5
by Manuel from Garden Grove, CA

There's better hotels at very similar price.

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
My first impression was very disappointing when I heard that very loud noise of construction, there was no bell man, the front desk agent wasn't friendly. The room had a very strong smell of "humidity". The bed was very unconfortable. My kids went into the pool and started complaining about rocks and pieces of cement in the pool, I guess it was because of the construction going on on the higher level. The WiFi didn't work very well. My room was very noisy, you could hear the noise from the construction, next morning I could hear every single that was passing by. One thing that I did like is that they have a big closet and hot water. Prior to this hotel, I stayed at 2 other different hotels which had a wonderful customer service and a better price, so when I came to Las Golondrinas for my last night I felt very bad for the other guests who where arriving there.
3 out of 5
by Don

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua

Nice location.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Everything was walking distance, the staff was great and the rooms very clean. Overall good quality over price.