Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Close to beach

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Closeness to activities.
Location: Great beach, tourist opportunities
Great overall experience. Clean room and nice continental breakfast. Staff extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
by jenn from Toronto

Perfect Little Escape!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time staying at Hotel Lunata. This quaint little place was exactly what we were looking for a we would definitely return. The partnership with Inti Centro Holistico on the beach was the icing on the cake, a great place to spend your days on the beach. Thanks for making our short little girlfriend getaway SO enjoyable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Apr 9, 2016
We immediately fell in love with the decor and ambiance. Very beautiful outdoors and indoors. Great location on 5th ave. Only thing is the bed is somewhat hard and the pillows are lumpy and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Playa

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: price, location, cleanliness, beauty, artisan details, backyard is gorgeous, close to beach and activities
Cons: Nothing-it was wonderful!
Location: If you don't like noise, this is not the place for you. It is right on the main 5th avenida, so the clubs are thumping (literally) until about 5am.
The Lunata is gorgeous! I booked this on-line, sight unseen, and this hotel did not disappoint! The location is right in the heart of the Playa action (so if you want quiet and seclusion, this hotel is not for you), perfect for shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel itself is amazing-beautiful architecture, gorgeous Mexican artisan details (wood beam ceiling, Mexican artwork, open shower. The staff are friendly and helpful. It definitely exceeded my expectations!!!
5 out of 5
by Adolfo from Los Angeles

Definitely would go back

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was perfect except for minor details like the fact that there was no phone to communicate with the front desk and that the A/C stayed very cold even when adjusting the controller.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Mar 10, 2016
The staff went iut of their way to help us - lovely garden area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Haven in the middle of everything

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Charming hotel. Some private balconies. Courtyard with nice breakfast. Our room had a small fridge. Spotlessly clean. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: If you want quiet, this is not the spot. It's on a street that stays alive into the wee hours. Our room wasn't too loud, but it did keep us up.
Location: Great location. Shopping, beach, restaurants all within easy walking distance. Arrangements can be made to visit cultural sites.
Great hotel on the main tourist street - pedestrian only. Short walk to the beach, towels provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Wonderful stay

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Lunata allowed us to enjoy the excitement of the city and the tranquility of the beautiful garden and rooms
Cons: I don't think adding elevators would be appropriate for this hotel, but the stairs only access to the rooms makes it difficult for some people.
Location: This is a great location, in the heart of the city. The beaches are close by and there are literally hundreds of great restaurants nearby.
We had seen this hotel on previous trips to Playa del Carmen and always wanted to try it. We are so glad we did. The setting is enchanting, coming off the busy Fifth Ave. it is truly a real jewel. The hotel is only ten rooms which makes it more intimate. The staff is so positive and helpful and the rooms are large with very comfortable beds. Breakfast each morning started with a plate of fresh fruit and a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. There were eggs, beans and ham and sausage as well as cereals and yogurt. It was only a block and a half from the beach and we were provided with large beach towels each day. We were there for two weeks and felt we were more like guests in a gracious home than guests in a hotel. We are planning to return next year.
5 out of 5
by Rodrigo from Chile

Playa, Hotel para descansar, ubicación perfecta.

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nos fue excelente, somos bien exigentes y el desayuno cumplió bien, rico. Bajas y estás en plena 5ta Avda. y destacó que la pieza nos dio a la 5ta. Avda. la habitación tenía doble corredera y el ruido era cada nada. Para estar entre las cálles 6 y las 8, realmente bueno. Recomendable 100%. Y para la playa bajabas 1 cuadra y entre las 2 y las 4 la playa era rica y limpia. En general, todo bien. El único detalle que en verdad es nada y depende el gusto también, es recambio de almohadas. Gracias por todo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels