Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Loved hotel and playa experience a relaxing vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albert, Alberta, Canada

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 13, 2017
I have stayed here many times over the years and it's always a pleasure. Right in the Heart of 5th Ave and a half a block to the beach. Beautiful garden with staff to help you with anything you need💌
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Pick something else

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: ?
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location was good with plenty of shopping nearby
Upon arriving at the hotel we decided to take a short nap, There was a mechanical sound rumbling noise in our room. We talked to the front desk girl and she heard it also. She said she would send maintenance to check, they never came. Being it late we decided to stick it out after buying ear plugs. The breakfast was poor at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Beautiful boutique hotel, one block from beach!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This was our 3rd year in a row to stay @ Lunata. Charming hotel with an even more charming staff! The hotel is on 5th Ave., and one block from the beach. The perfect location for the total Playa experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Authentic taste of Mexico

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Gracious people, lovely room, and close to the beach and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice, authentic place to stay. They don't have an elevator and all rooms are upstairs, but that is my only complaint. Loud at night on 5th Avenue but you are perfectly in the middle of all the fun! Depends on what you are looking for. Beautiful grounds and wonderful complimentary breakfast in a peaceful outdoor location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Perfect location, lovely manager

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wifi was a little weak.
Location: Beach is one block away. In the evenings there is live music everywhere around, try Foh, Zanzi Bar, Fusion, all one or two blocks from the hotel.
Right on 5th Ave, where everything happens: restaurants, live music, nice little stores, people watching, a block from the sea, what else would you need to be happy in Playa del Carmen ? The hotel has character, is built in hacienda style, with tiles, Mexican blue, ceramic flower pots, beautiful garden in the back, where breakfast is served. You can get a room with balcony overlooking 5th Ave (which we did), where you can see the town come alive in the mornings and watch the people having fun in the evenings, or in the back of the hotel, where rooms are more quiet and have large terraces overlooking the garden. Fabiola, the lovely manager is friendly and helpful, she did everything to accommodate us and gave us advice on places to go shopping , good restaurants and promised to help us make arrangements to come for a whole month next time. We can't wait to return and will recommend Hotel Lunata to all our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Clean, excellent staff. Rooms need maintenance work-sliding door unable to open to patio with key. Had to request staff to enter room & open it every time. TV staticky. A bit noisy due to night clubs & no variety for breakfast. Same food every morning. Excellent location, great architecture, excellent location to have breakfast outdoors & spacious rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: I like how the room looked inside, the location was perfect.
Cons: n/a
Location: you can go to the beach, we went to the beach during the day and at night. this hotel is fairly close to the beach.
I had a great experience, I felt like home. The staff was so nice to us and the room was very nice and clean. We got the hotel at a very affordable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy night in Playa

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at the Lunata before, but the most recent stay was a pretty noisy experience. Lunata looks over 5th Ave, and the night of my stay was before a holiday. So, revelers kept me up pretty late. The noise didn't die down until about 1 am. :/