Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very Friendly staff & very clean. Food was the best I have had at an all inclusive. Many food options and they were all great. Vast arrange of drinks and the bartenders are always willing to help you find something you will like. Hydrotherapy offered at the spa was very relaxing. Entertainment staff was very energetic and tried to get everyone involved in the daily activities. Lots of different areas at the resort to hang out. A few people in our group did one of the excursions that they signed up for at the hotel and all of them said it was well worth the money and a lot of fun. Would definitely recommend this resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Green Bay WI

A wonderful place, a wonderful stay.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Everything. The 5 restaurants were excellent. Truly all inclusive. All meals all drinks, including alcohol were included. Very clean. Very friendly.
Cons: Nothing really. The only critique would be that the room service line we called sometimes took a while to get answered. But not bad.
Location: Location was excellent. Private, and only about 20 minutes from the Cancun Airport, and only about 15 minutes from Playa Del Carmen.
My wife, and two daughters, ages 17 and 13, spent 7 days at the Hotel Marina El Cid from December 28, 2016 returning yesterday January 3, 2017. Weather was nice. About 83 degrees each day. The El Cid was easy to get to, only about a 20 minute taxi ride from the Cancun Airport. When we arrived at about 2 PM, we were greeted warmly and checked in. Our room was not ready until 3 PM which is the standard check in time. However, they issued us the wristbands so we could eat while we waited for the room. We also met with a member of the concierge staff for about 30 minutes who gave us a brief overview of the resort. He also asked us to sign up for a "welcome breakfast" to discuss time shares, but we declined and were never bothered again on it. The resort itself is made up of about 20 or so buildings spread across the equivalent of about a 2 or 3 city block area, but is very private without any other resorts located near-by. About 10 or so of the buildings contain the rooms and are each about 5 stories tall containing roughly 40 or 50 rooms in each building. The other buildings contain the lobby, convention center, restaurants and pools (two nice pools) etc. The buildings are either on or very near the beach. The beach is about 300 yards long and about 40 yards deep. The resort was very clean and tidy. The service was excellent. Food was very good. We felt welcomed and taken care of. An excellent resort. The best of the 3 resorts we have stayed in around Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Beautiful Hotel, Very friendly Staff, Great food

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Amazing! Kids 11 & 12 had the time of their lives. Very relaxing for us parents. Very safe and the staff is so friendly. The food was top notch, great variety and some really healthy options. Spa was fantastic. Ground are very clean and very lush. It's nice that the hotel is secluded. Lots of fun activities for everyone. Only disappointment were the beds and pillows. Beds a little bouncy and small and pillows were very stiff and "high". The hotel has a lot to offer, snorkeling, swim with dolphins. So fun! All of it! I would highly recommend El Cid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel resort

Posted Jan 3, 2017
It's a beautiful hotel that I plan on coming back to in a few months however maintenance was suppose to be sent when we were without hot water for 2 days and service never came when they said they were sending us someone to pick up our laundry. Our jacuzzi was spitting out rust one day too unfortunately. But the staff is wonderful, the food is amazing, and the view is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel with beach access, but very rocky beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Service, food and staff.
Cons: family pool steps are very slippery need some attention.
Location: location is good and we did not go out.
We had a good time at the resort, pools and entertainment at night was good, food was excellent and lot of choices. Overall staff was nice, our butler JOUSH was excellent and the guys at the beach with non motorized activity ALEX and JOELLE did excellent job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice resort and close to the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: the pools, and access to the beach The Spa was one of the best
Cons: communication, the answer is always yes even if they don't know the answer. and that yes is not always correct. Food was good but not great.
Location: great location. not crowded like cancun and this resort has everything right at the resort
we had a great time, the main pool had a lot of fun activities and couldn't be a better place to take the kids. Not much direction on how things worked and what was included in the stay. But still a great time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for families not younger crowd looking for ac

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Food was good but coukdve been better and no activities for night life. Real vacation an getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coeur d' Alene, ID

Excellent place

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Loved it. This was our third time at this hotel. Staff is great, food is really good. Overall, very relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynn, MA

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Room cleanliness and comfort
Cons: Need to clean up area to get into the sea. Need improve customer service. My lock door was broken and I was waiting for 3 hours to fix this problem.
Location: The hotel is too far from shopping center. There is no service to go to the shopping center.
I don't like the beach. Cannot get into the sea. There are a lot of sharp rocks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Perfect Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Nice food, excellent rooms, perfect service, tons of amenities and good night shows. Lovely swimming pools