Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely gem of a place!

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
They let me check in early as a favor and I was so grateful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from okc

Less than I expected

Posted Mar 23, 2016
This place has potential but I won't be back to see if it ever improves. Out dated everything! From the air conditioner that didn't work, shower heads and sink faucets barely flowed, only a sheet for covers on the bed, had a working tv that was 10 years old, mini fridge that didn't work. It was clean and the staff friendly. The entrance hallway was the nicest place I saw there. If you want a bare minimum place to stay, no frills except pretty swan towels on the bed this place will work. It does have a beach with chairs and tables , didn't try the restraunt. I can do basic but not primitive. price was reflective of amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Good basic hotel. We stayed recently at the Pelicano. Pros -- on the beach; rates are good for being on the beach; room was clean; the bar/restaurant had excellent lunch service; chairs and umbrellas on beach are free. Downside: as with most foreign hotels (not a chain), mattresses are hard and pillows are poor; room was spartan (no TV -- but not a problem for us); Wifi was spotty at times; You get what you pay for. if you want a 5 star place, you can get it if you pay for it. If you want relatively inexpensive beachfront, you don't get everything you want for a lower price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugar Land, Texas

Short touch at Playa Nov 2015

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Fine as expected for this second stay at Pelicano. The premises are well maintained and a bit improved in relation to our fomer visit in 2011. Still compfortable, well placed with a direct access to the beach and close to main commenrcial area, quiet, nice staff at front desk, restaurant and services, clean and neat at the room and in all the premises, also at the comfortable rest-room near the seaside.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Philadelphia PA

My Playa Getaway

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was great for the price we paid. Right on the beach. Room and bathroom was clean. Rooms were cleaned daily and they made fancy things out of towels and bed cover. Food and drinks at their little restaraunt and chairs on the beach was good and priced well. Service on the beach was fun and great. Not upscale but very, nice and great value!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015
We were 2 adults and 2children. When arrived there were no hot water in the shower. You cannot access the hotel with a car or taxi. You have to drag your luggage two blocks. Sea weed in the beach ruined our vacation in Playa del Carmen. We moved to Cozumel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on a beach that can be ugly

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The hotel looks nice and is on the beach. Unfortunately that beach was covered with sea weeds - smelly- and because of the enormous amounts of sea weed in the water , entering the ocean for a swim was impossible. The facilities are a bit run down and not up to todays standard. To make matters worse we were essentially driven out of our room the 2nd day in the morning by very loud hammering noise directly on our wall. I was ready to look for another hotel; Complaining to the staff at the desk did not help. Furthermore we had rented the most expensive room in this hotel with a nice balcony where I would have expected at least a couple lounge chairs and umbrella but just some pretty old plastic chairs were there. There were plenty of beach chairs down at the beach with umbrellas and beach towels were supplied. But overall over-all we felt that this hotel although in a nice location has seen better days and needs a major overhaul and hopefully this smelling seaweed in front will not remain a permanent feature. The staff hotel and restaurant were nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

best location and jet you can sleep quietly

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
Not the fanciest place, no tv, but Super helpful staff, great location, you can walk to everything, breakfast a little small, but you can order from the menu. Overall a Great deal for the price! And best of all right on the beach with its own bar! Hotel has no parking and we had to use a public area which charges for it and is a couple of blocks away...if you have a late arrival, call ahead, since reception staff goes home at night. as a r
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHX,AZ

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Good hotel for the price, beach is nice and staff is very warm and friendly. Literally 2 min. walk to main street and 20 min walk to ferry. All in all will be staying again!!!
3 out of 5
by rochak from Guadalajara

best amongst rest at offered price

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels
If you looking for a room just to spend night on playa Del Carmen..it is a good place to be. Rooms are not too good but better than pics shared currently. Location is so perfect and staff is much cooperative.....hotel Beach is also pleasent and you get rid of noice on 5th avenue..Overall a nice place to stay and enjoy short trips...