Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Miguel de Allende MX

Overall ok, but the pix are inaccurate

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The staff, the free coffee, the location.
Cons: The listing
Location: Good location, close to the action
My main complaints are with Expedia, not with this hotel. The Expedia listing says that parking is available at a specific price, but they charged us alot more. I called Expedia to request that they intercede on my behalf, and they promised to check on it and get back to me, but never did. The listing says it's adults only. It's not. The pictures of this hotel make it look much nicer than it is. The exterior is really run down, and much smaller than the picture shows. Seems to me Expedia should have some responsibility to make sure their listings are accurate.At a minimum, if someone promises to get back with me with an answer, they should do so. Overall though we liked this hotel, but we were not expecting luxury accommodations. Good location, easy to get to the action, but far enough away that noise was not a problem. The pool is tiny, very cold, and never gets any sun. The interior courtyard is very jungle-y and so sitting in the sun is not an option there either. However, the rooms were clean, if somewhat rundown, the staff was nice, and the free coffee in the lobby in the morning was a welcome bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
We knew from the map that it was in between 5th ave and Walmart. We were extra happy with the friendly staff and the quietness so we could sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfy

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, fair for the price. Definitely, I will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bueno

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Todo bien, pero olía un poco a humedad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge,MA

Nice affordable, quite and clean hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Cons: The bed could be softer and longer.
Location: Great near the center, clubs and place to eat. The down side is that you don't get a fell for life in the neighbord although you will sleep well.
The beds could be a little softer and longer. Other than the place is affordable and have a great location near the action area but there isn't any noise. if you are looking to have a fell for the neighborhood this is not the place. There are lots of tree in open area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolina from Montería Colombia

Excelente servicio y estadía!!! Volvería

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
La experiencia en este hotel fue excelente, esta en una muy buena ubicación a dos cuadras de la quinta avenida, una cuadra de coco bongo, si quieres disfrutar de la quinta avenida y recorrerla para luego ir a descansar en tu hotel y dormir plácidamente, el servicio de la recepción es realmente bueno, Omar nos ayudó en todo lo que necesitábamos , sam en mañanee nos explicó tips para comer rico y no tan costoso. Si vuelvo a playa del Carmen me volvería a quedar en este hotel. Es excelente si tu viaje se trata de salir a conocer parques y llegar a dormir
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pleasing Karma

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Big, cheap and very clean rooms. Close to the big clubs but far enough that you don`t get the noise.
Cons: The pool is rather small, I don`t know if the reason is a big tree that sits in the middle and they didn`t want to cut it for not to bring bad karma.
Location: This hotel sits one block from 12th street where all the night action is. Two blocks from 5th street where all the day action is.
I liked the location and the rates. Attentive staff ( Hi Carla! )
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcia from San Francisco, CA

Uncomfortable beds & musty odor in rooms

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
The courtyard is nice and so were the front desk employees. However, the rooms had a very strong musty odor. We stayed here for 1 night before heading to Tulum then came back to stay for 1 more night before heading back to the airport. The first night we stayed at this hotel we stayed in the room in the far back area of the ground floor. That room did not smell as musty. The second night before heading back to the airport we stayed in a corner room on the second floor. This room had an extremely strong moldy and musty odor. I can only imagine where the odor came from. The beds in both rooms were extremely firm and not comfortable, especially if you prefer to sleep on your side. I booked our rooms before arriving to Mexico at a non refundable rate so we stayed the night anyways. The location is close to the main strip and far enough to where you do not hear the music from the clubs nearby. I will not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Umer Tariq from Nittedal

Fornøyd!

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Veldig bra lokasjon ifht strand og alt annet. Hyggelig betjening og deilige senger. AC fungerer veldig bra. Eneste negativet som kan nevnes er internettet: ELENDIG. Faller ut hele tiden og hastigheten når man først er pålogget, er ikke til å skryte av. Fikk så vidt lastet inn VG. Hjalp ikke å flytte til lobbyen, der nettet var like dårlig. Men alt i alt, et hotell jeg anbefaler dersom du ikke er veldig avhengig av bra nett
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alvaro D from Montreal

Good hotel, but I'll try another one next time

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great time in this hotel. Although the room was clean, perhaps because of weather conditions, the room continuously smelled to humidity. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was on the first floor, in front of another room and near the cleaning room, so we did not have all the privacy that we wished. The cleaning staff could be less noisy. The air conditioner was a bit noisy, so we turned on the fan, which relieved us a bit from Playa del Carmen's hot weather. The hotel is well located in a place with little external noise and near interesting places to eat. The pool is nice to refresh after the tours and the staff is friendly and ready to help. The bathroom was in good conditions. Although we liked our time there, we'd try another hotel in Playa for the next time.