Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente atención del personal

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Buena atención, servicio de carritos hacia las habitaciones TERRIBLE,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice Hotel Closed To The Beach

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/a
Location: N/a
Nice Resort And Nice Beach everiting Is Beautiful. My family and I enjoyed every minute of it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st Louis

Posted Jul 3, 2016
No variety in the food same thing every day bugs in the room dirty tub wild animals made a mess couple of days on the patio
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We are truly sorry to read that we could not succeed your expectations this time. We sincerely regret that you did not like the variety of food, the wild life in the resort as it is one of the main assets. Concerning the cleaning of the room we are to know you had this perspective, we have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager to take it in his consideration and review his procedures. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to show you the improvements done based on our guest´s feedback. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel was well maintained and clean. There were exotic animals on the grounds such as peacocks, flamingos and coati.
Cons: The food and food selection could be improved such more variety. The hotel need to provide transportation to get around the different places.
Location: The hotel has its own facilities such as pharmacy, medical center, dance club and entertainment stage. Otherwise, it is not close to town.
The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is helpful. Service is just ok. It was hard to get any ride to any place since there were very few golf carts to take people to places and the place is vast. We had to walk far to get to the pool since our room was the farthest to the pool. The lunch buffet was not that great and not much of a variety. There were a few restaurants for dinner and we were only allowed to have 3 dinner reservations for the whole week. The food was better at these dinner restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time out you took to share your impression of your stay. We are glad to read there were some aspects that you could enjoy of your stay as our well maintained and clean resort and the most important our helpful staff. In contrast we are sorry to read that we could not fulfill all your expectations about food and internal transportation; we have passed through your comments to the corresponded to take them in their consideration. We look forward to welcoming back soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m nj

Nice hotel nice grounds Employees very pleasant an

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Went with 2 girlfriends. Had a great time. Bedrooms were very nice clean and comfortable. We stayed 7 nights . Didn't like that we only got to go to three specialty restaurants . There was plenty of room in these restaurants which were not in use so we didn't understand why we couldn't eat in them. There was a group of rowdy young adults that were smoking and eating in the pool and leaving there cigarette butts all over the walkway when you got out of the pool no one said anything to them it was really disgusting they really should have more control over that .Food was OK not great but average . There was a problem with the electricity our last night there. No electricity from 12 in the afternoon till three the next morning but they were very nice put candles in the hallways and candles in our rooms. Overall I would definitely go back the employees were very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
It is nice that you could enjoy some aspects about your stay as the comfortable and well cleaned rooms and our friendly and helpful staff, your recognition is the highest reward we can have. On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you did not liked our reservation system, we guaranteed the dinner reservations according on the number of nights our guest will be staying with us, however if we have cancellations or no shows we always help them to get in according on the availability. In reference to your comment about the pool we have all day our security department working along with our PR Department to avoid this situations and make conscious all our guests about their behavior. We hope this will not dissuade you to visit us once more soon, Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Del Mar. Lovely grounds, pools, and beach areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate the kind words submitted about your stay. It is nice to read you liked our grounds, pools and beach area. We will be looking forward to host you back. Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Del Mar is one of five resorts on the same property. Del Mar has access to only the Beach Resort. Pool and beach area were very nice. The buffets had plenty of choice for all three meals. Only advice, first get up early to reserve a chair by the pool or beach. Hotel does not niece reserving chairs. Second, bring your own insulated tumbler to put your drinks it, because they get warm and watered down quick. A great hotel for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing us this time to your getaway. We are glad to read you enjoyed our buffets, pool and beach. On the other side we are sorry to know that you had troubles finding sunchairs at the pool or beach, as policy from the hotel we do not allowed to reserve sunchairs, we actually have started a program that if we have towels left for more than one hour unattended we will proceed to remove it to provide spaces to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Nice hotel. Staff and food. Excellent and professional. You can feel that you are welcomed there. It was my second stay in Iberistar and I will be back there
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mi

Back for 6th time

Posted Apr 18, 2016
First time i went my daugher was 5 now she wanted to go for her senior trip. It had been 6 yrs since being there.Everything was just as nice as first time except night shows. That used to be a big part of the trip.but just got boring now. Other than that star friends are great especially karen she so cute and really seams to love her job. Spicy taco or nacho was great at trying to keep people entertained on small games. Only thing i didnt like was bartender asking for cigarette to give to other customers for a tip
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We take our guests comments very seriously, so we truly appreciate your feedback about our entertainment staff. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations this time, and we do hope you give us the opportunity to be your hosts again the next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Cons: This hotel is strict that you must be under 17 for the teen club & 18 or over for the adult club. Be warned if you have a group of 17 & 18 year olds.
Hotel is nice. Location is great! Food gets tiring, but is fine. Lots of choices. For good or for bad - they are strict about enforcing that kids MUST be 18 to drink and to attend the club or 17 and under to attend the teen club.. This was a problem for our group as we had ten, 18-year-olds and two, 17-year olds. They could not attend the teen or adult club together.