Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Total Package

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: very clean and courteous staff
Cons: maybe a little seasoning to the food but trust me we didn't go hungry!
Location: location was great, I felt real safe. shopping at 5th ave on day, we wanted to relax on this vacation so we didn't explore.
We were there Aug 9-13 2015. Hotel was excellent, the staff superior! Loved the entertainment, great interaction with guests had many laughs. The food was decent no complaints plenty of choices to choose from. Drinks were on the weak side but I'm not a huge drinker anyway. The bed was on the hard side but room & grounds very clean! If you visit this hotel make sure you are up super early to get you chair poolside bc they go very quick and early in the AM. I was up by 6:45am and went straight to pool to claim chairs and most were taken (we had 5 in our party). Seaweed wasn't to bad once you go thur it to the clear side but they were doing everything to keep off of beach and did an excellent job!
Comment from EPC
Aug 28, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico , EPC
On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for staying with your family at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. Thank you for publishing this review about your recent vacation at the Riviera Maya. It is a pleasure to read that you experienced a wonderful time thanks to our wonderful grounds, great food and nice room. Regarding the sun beds, we are sorry to read that you have difficulties to find a free spot, we would like to inform you, that our guests are always welcome to contact the Pool Concierge, who will help in order to find chairs. Thank you for highlighting the great work of our staff to keep our beach clean, so all our guests can enjoy it. We hope to welcome you and your family back to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Dream Vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: All Inclusive, Kids friendly, Nightly shows.
Cons: More power plugs in the room. update the TV listing for their channels with correct language. more fans in restaurant Laundry room.
Location: Location is great. take a cab for 6 dollars to 5th avenue, 2hrs worth of walking each way.
We had fun, we did not worry about a thing, food is all you can eat, drinks included. There is always an open restaurant, sometimes 6. Very kids friendly with kids club in case you need some time for a spa or just to relax. there is something to enjoy all day long, plus shows at night. you can take the cab to downtown for 6 dollars each way. you can book day trips to Xcaret or Xelha.. (around $130 /person) Take an extension for power plugs (very limited if you have many devices to charge) Take Mosquito repellent Buy data / internet coverage from your carrier because WIFI is expensive at the Hotel. Tipping id not mandatory but those people work so hard everywhere and around the clock. Take extra clothes, No Laundry room on site.
Comment from EPC
Aug 28, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, EPC
First of all, we would like to thank you for recommending IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We are so glad to read that you loved the hotel staff and the hotel facilities. Furthermore, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the plenty of activities that propose you the animation team. Regarding the WIFI, thanks to our guest´s suggestions, we continue working on improving this service and we would like to mention that we do have laundry service with an additional cost. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Excellent choice!!! Very well located, great quality of food and beverage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff very friendly.
We had a lovely vacation at Playa Iberostar. The names are confusing about where we were going. Playa Car versus Playa del Carmen..... they are the same hotel. The food was very good, the mixed drinks were decent, I stuck with beer ! Went to X Caret, nice... but a little touristy. We enjoyed our adventure to Maroma Beach with the Atv's and jet skis, worth the money ! Ladies, don't wear high heels on the decks leading to the buffets and theater, because your heels will get stuck in the boards ! Over all , it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your holiday and for writing such a nice review. We appreciate your lovely words about our staff; they really are the heart and soul of our organization and work hard to make your holiday really entertaining and special. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our beautiful grounds and variety of food. Thank you very much for your loyalty. We hope you come back soon to enjoy once again a wonderful holiday at our hotel. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel on beach

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Loved the hotel and location right on beach. Pools need to stay open until at least 10 pm and swim up bar should stay open late. Food could use upgrade. But overall loved it and will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. It is such a great honor to read that you had a lovely time and that you are thinking of returning to our beach resort. Furthermore, we are grateful for your suggestions regarding the opening hours of the pools. However, due to safety and hygiene reasons the pools close before it gets too dark at night. Moreover, your comment regarding the food, where you mention that it needs an improvement, will be shared with our Chef, who is always willing to find new options in order to please every guests. We look forward to welcome you back. It would be a pleasure assisting you with your requests. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Excellent in every way would eagerly return for a next vacation.Food n sevice great beach close by n clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, the great service and the delicious food. Furthermore, we are grateful for highlighting our clean and white sanded beach. We look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Moderate accommodations

Posted Aug 7, 2015
I was expecting a much nicer room. Food was ok. Too much of the same food every day. Disappointed that you are only given three nights privilege to ala cart resaurants in a seven night stay. Buffet gets old quick. Seafood and steak house was not very good unless you enjoy eating Old Bessie :-). I didn't min the monkeys and old animals running around even though they are quite noisy sometimes, however, I did mind that people could not obey the signs that say don't feed them. It draws them onto balconies and sidewalks to crap all over the place. Staff did clean up everyday though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We are grateful for your honest observations regarding your last to trip to Mexico and we are glad to read that you had an overall good time. However, we are sorry that we were not able to live up to your expectations regarding the rooms and that you did not rate the variety of our food options as very good. It is our concern to let you know that our guests are able to make three dinner reservation in advance and afterwards they are able to get more reservations depending on the availability. As you have already mentioned, it is not allowed to feed the animals. We will forward your observation to our Biologist and Security in order to monitor the situation. We hope to welcome you back in order to convince you with our improvements. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA USA

Civilized all-inclusive with jungle touch

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Location: Playa del Carmen is about two miles away -- a ten minute, $6 taxi ride. Chichen Itza is about 2 hours, Tulum about 1 hour, both very worthwhile.
This was our first trip to Mexico. We wanted to be near attractions like Chichen Itza and Tulum, but also wanted to minimize hassles and not worry about anything. The Iberostar was a great choice. The two hotels (Quetzal and Tucan) are joined around a small "jungle". This feature was not overly important to us at when we picked the hotel but we enjoyed it hugely. There are all sorts of animals, from agouti to peacocks to flamingos to monkeys. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. Our room had a nice balcony with a lush view and the face to face encounters with the monkeys on a few mornings were unforgettable. The food was very good; most meals are extensive buffets designed to appeal to an international crowd. There are several specialty restaurants (Mexican, Italian, etc.) which are good but not exceptional. The hotel is right on the beach. There are plenty of palapas (thatched roof structures for shade) but you have to claim yours first thing in the morning. The water was usually clear and (in late July) around 85 degrees F. Most days had some seaweed but apparently it comes and goes. The hotel had a theater . . . most of the entertainment was OK but not really our thing. Most nights had a crowd there sitting around with a few drinks. Not a rowdy scene. We loved our stay. The one downside was that we opted to attend a pitch to join the Iberostar Club. This ended up being a 90 minute hard-sell (though we did get to use the $150 Iberostar cash).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We feel so honored to know that you had a wonderful first trip in Mexico. Thank you for highlighting our exotic animals, delicious food and the hotel staff that was always helpful. On the other hand, we are grateful for your honest observation regarding the night shows, which has been forwarded to our Entertainment team. We wish to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
The jungle with all the various animals was awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful jungle which is amongst others the resort´s highlight. We wish to welcome you back very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the beach and the pool. My kids loved the monkeys!!!
Cons: Need to have more assortment of food.
The resort is great, absolutely beautiful grounds with the jungle atmosphere. The beach and the pool area is great, make sure you reserve your seats early in the morning otherwise you will be out of luck! The food was just ok, they need more assorment, we felt that it was the same thing every day. Overall our experience was great, but it was ruined by one rude employee Rosinda (or Rosalinda). She was extremely rude, and disrespectful. The way she treated the customers was absolutely outrageous. I would recomend the hotel to others but would tell them to steer clear of Rosinda.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your memories from your last vacations at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal with other readers. All suggestions and information our guests provide are very important for us and will thus be shared with our Management. We are sorry that you had difficulties finding chairs, since we are equipped with enough chairs and reserving them is unnecessary. Furthermore, we would like to inform you that we will forward your evaluation to improve the variety of our food with our Executive Chef. Moreover, we would like to apologize if one of our employees did not treat you like they use to. We would like to assure you that we will forward your complain to our head of the department. We wish to have another opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards,