Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

ILLUSIONS BOUTIQUE IS A GREAT HOTEL

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Excellent, helpful staff, wonderful variety of breakfast choices, close to everything, serene courtyard, has a number of sister hotels in the area
Cons: There is construction nearby which is temporary but it was noisy
Location: The beach, 5th Ave, plenty of restaurants, good shopping, entertainment
Great place to stay - see next courtyardExcellent, helpful staff, wonderful variety of breakfast choices, close to everything, serene courtyard, has a number of sister hotels in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with great amenatiesNice, professional

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Construction right next door but the employees took care of us
Location: The beach is 10 minutes away. 5th Ave is right there. Great restaurant and enertainment in the area
Large room, comfortable beds, fabulous breakfast, professional employees who work to meet our needs, WiFi on property, nice rooftop area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Decent hotel in a very good location...

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Overall, for the price, the hotel wasn't too bad. I think I might have just had the worst room in the hotel. We shared a wall with some other building and constantly heard banging noises as though it were a kitchen of a neighboring hotel. Either way, it got to be annoying. The staff here was very good. Always polite and helpful. The room was very clean. The picture of the pool makes it look much bigger than it really is. There isn't a dedicated bar, but they open one up at the pool. It closes early though. Location is excellent. Right between the beach and 5th street. Anything you want is within a couple of blocks. Overall, for the price it wasn't bad. Just make sure you never get room 208!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol ct

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Patricia the receptionist was very helpful friendly and knowledgeable. The staff was great. Location was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016 by Jorge Molina Ambassador Relations, Hotel Management
We are delighted to know you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm; this is what we strive for. We just want you to have a great vacation xperience. Patricia are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are recommending us for our hospitality .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Welcoming Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The helpful advice, tours organised, the great room I stayed in, the location, and breakfast was included. Very good continental breakfast.
Cons: One day the room was not cleaned properly, and swimming pool could be a little larger.
Location: Just of from the main tourist promenade. Central to everything in Player Del Carmen.
I had just arrived from Cuba, and was welcomed with genuine smiles, receptionists and staff that could speak English and were helpful in guiding me to the places I needed to go to. The Hotel is close to the beach ( one hotel in front) but I had top view of the beach. Room was very comfortable with all the necessary commodities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Everything was good.
Cons: Pool and bar to be open later.
Location: Excellent location walking distance to beach (less than a minute) and walkinuteg distance to main shopping strip (less than a minute)
Great Staff. Friendly and helpful. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Walter Medina-Ambassador Relations Devotee, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank youi for staying with us! We take great care to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible, and we appreciate all your comments and hope you return soon. Walter Medina-Ambassador Relations Devotee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel from hell.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Customer service-If hotel makes a promise to its customers they should keep it.
Location: walking distance to shops.
This hotel was note only dirty but outdated. A small room next to a storage room was provided with no windows and the only windows were to a mechanical shaft. Door locks were primitive and difficult to open. Hotel bathrooms were dirty and old. Upon arrival front desk clerk claimed that package included morning breakfast which was noted on hotel agreement but following day it was denied. Hotel was very noisy and staff would drag furniture during the night and you could hear hammering during the day. During our stay We purchased some bread at a new European sandwich shop which we found missing the following day. I felt I was staying a local motel in a bad part of town. I have been staying in Cancun and Playa del Carmen for many years and have never encountered such a poor excuse and unwillingness to provide a minimum level of customer service. This hotel is truly an illusion!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than what it looks

Posted May 28, 2015
I have to say that the staff are very welcoming and helpful. They provide you with the right information and are very kind. I was very cold one night because my friends wanted to leave the AC on, so i went and asked the staff for a blanket and they quickly gave me one. The hotel is about 1 min walk to the beach. The continental breakfast is good. There is also wifi in every corner of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Highly recommend

Posted May 14, 2015
Highly recommend staying here. Clean, friendly staff, excellent location Very central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Stayed here for three nights in late April. The location is excellent, close to the beach and all the action on 5th avenue, pretry much central to all the goings on. The room was very clean and spacious and quitell comfortable. My only complaints would be the lack of a safe in our room and the construction going on next door. This made for a less than desirable view and was an issue as our room was directly across from it. The food in the restaurant was excellent and staff were super nice and accommodating. Would definitely recommend but ask for a room away from the construction.