Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto - California

Good location, near the beach and downtown.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Our first night was terrible, the room 206 is near the stairs, people walked up and down during the night and we heard everything, this room also had 2 windows without blackout blinds, lights on the hallway were on all night, we got to change rooms next day and was a lot better, the mattress was hard in both rooms, the rooms service was very bad, we had to ask for face towels and toiletries everyday, other wise we wouldn't get any, also when I booked the breakfast was included, when we got there is that I realized that my confirmation didn't included the breakfast... hard to get that figured out on a international phone call... anyways, I think there is better options out there. The front desk people were great, thanks to them we didn't hate our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Lovely Hotel in a Great Location.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Staff were brilliant. Location Brilliant.
Cons: Swimming pool was small and shallow. A larger pool if the structure would allow it would be great.
Location: Close to 5th Avenue so eating out and shopping is more or less on the doorstep. Beach also very close for swimming. Walmart Supermarket 15 minutes.
Stayed in room 407 on the same level as the plunge pool. Lovely views of the Caribe. Room was spacious and air conditoned. Shower large with good water pressure. Hotel located within meters of the sea and likewise very close to the the main shopping and entertainment area of 5th Avenue. Street noise would be problematic for light sleepers so ear plugs recommended. Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Claudia in particular very helpful. Would stay again if holidaying in Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great location. Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Steps away from the popular 5th Avenue and many other attractions. Close proximity to the beach for easy access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with wonderful wonderful staff

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and right in the middle of downtown Playa Del Carmen. Wonderfully friendly staff and the hotel felt very secure.
The hotel was very nice. The hotel is close to the beach and is very close to downtown. There is parking close to the hotel but not at the hotel. The hotel beds were quite hard which was probably really the only disappointing part of this hotel. We didn't like the shampoo and conditioner or soap they smelled terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly helpful staff, clean spacious rooms, lots of hot water and great location within walking distance to ADO and maritime terminal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, NO parking and No that clean rooms

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
The place was nice but NO parking available so you have to walk a couple of blocks looking for parking, and around the area good luck if you can find a place closer, our room was very stinky and nasty so we had move to another one that was pretty much the same, for what they charge the toiletries are to low quality and their food at the restaurant was very expensive, so i definitely would think twice to go back to that place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tale of 2 rooms

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff were fantastic - Ana and Alexandra were very empathetic and really seemed to work hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: The staff must have known about the fridge noise before we arrived, it should have been fixed without us having to complain about it.
Location: Great access to the beach and 5th Avenue (shopping and restaurants)
Initially, we were in Room 205. What a disappointment. Our dream vacation had become a nightmare. The room had no light from the outside! When you draw back the drapes and open the frosted glass window you are greeted by a 6'x6' concrete elevator shaft which seemed to go up to the top of the building. I felt that for security reasons it was best to leave the window locked shut. The water pressure in the shower was so low that the water just dribbled out. My wife had no hot water for her shower. When I complained, I was told that the maintenance men were fixing the boiler. I at least had warm water, but the pressure had not changed. When we went to the front desk, I was told that for an extra $15 US/night we could upgrade our room the next day. As my wife was on the verge of tears in the dungeon that was 205, we quickly accepted.However, for the amount we were paying, we felt that shouldn't have had to pay more to get an acceptable room. The next day we were moved to Room 405 - what a difference! The room had two large windows to the outside, the water pressure was great and there was hot water in abundance. The only problem with the room was that the motor on the fridge made such a racket that it would have been impossible to sleep. When we mentioned this to the front desk, it was changed immediately for a very silent model. If we had been given this room from the beginning, we would have been so happy, but the stress of the first night colored our entire stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Good hotel. Close to beach and restaurants. Overall, I was satisfied with my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Beds are horrible and place is run down

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Beds are rock hard. There was construction going on in hotel late at night and the workers were yelling in Spanish. We thought there was a fight occurring but it was the workers. Tiny sliding door in our room but otherwise no light and just a view down in to court yard. No security at hotel despite doors being open out front near 5th ave 24 hrs/day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, very accommodating staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Hotel/staff were very helpful. We werre remaining in the area for the day following checkout and the hotel not only kept our baggage for the day but provided us with a room in which to shower and change when we returned to pick it up. Much appreciated.