Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

A rustic, charming gem!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We were thrilled with our stay at La Posada Del Sol. It's in an excellent location, close to bike rentals, currency exchange, a bodega, restaurants, and bars. Our room was charming and clean, with a balcony overlooking the ocean. It could have been a spread in an Anthropology catalogue. This is not a spot for anyone looking for a TV, a mini-fridge, or an AC. The windows are screenless and the beds have mosquito nets; we kept everything open and listened to the ocean and felt the wind all night. The complimentary breakfast alternates between eggs with chorizo and fruit with yogurt and granola. The staff are warm and helpful, and the adjoining boutique had some lovely items for sale. The beach reminded me of a pirate cove, but with lounges, thatched umbrellas, and drink service. We spent hours swiming in the ocean. My only complaint is that I got lots of mosquito bites because there were gaps in the mosquito nets surrounding our bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: small and quaint, beautiful grounds, breakfast, semi-private beach, private porch overlooking beach
Cons: noisy at night, due to poor window quality (facing street)
This place is beautiful and offers many amenities for the price! Not only do they serve breakfast (eggs and fruit), but they also have a semi-private beach and a private balcony on the right side of the beach (we spent one night looking at the beautiful sky..saw shooting stars). The hotel staff is very friendly and rooms are big with a porch and hammock. The downside is one plug for the entire room (not by a mirror) and construction on the right side of the hotel. Also, our window was facing the street, which was pretty noisy at night (if you are a light sleeper, the trucks will wake you up), so suggest a room facing another direction. Because the hotel was inexpensive, I went on amazon and bought a rechargeable battery for $30 with four USB plugs to recharge our devices (two phones, GoPro, iPod). Overall, this hotel was perfect for our Tulum stay. You get to experience a small, quaint hotel in Tulum (which is very fitting for a cute town...our favorite town of our trip), and still get a nice place to stay at night with breakfast, a beach, and free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful hotel that's close to the beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2016
The bed was very hard and I did find a scorpion but that is expected in the area. Everything was extremely beautiful. The staff was incredibly helpful. The free breakfast was amazing!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view of the ocean from the room.

Posted Mar 27, 2016
The hotel staff was welcoming and very helpful with any questions or recommendations we needed. The ladies in the morning make fresh orange juice, eggs and fruit for the continental breakfast which was nice. The hotel is run off of solar/wind so there is no AC which wasn't a problem for us with the beach being so close there was a nice breeze at night with the doors open. This also means you cannot use blow dryers/straighteners etc. The only issue we had was with the rain coming into the room so if there is any chance of rain I would recommend closing the windows and putting all of your belonging in the center of the room so they do not get wet. Overall the hotel was great and the staff was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watchung

Close to the beach.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
We have stayed at La Posada Del sol and never had a bad experience. Well maintained lovely hotel and excellent staff. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Concord, MA

Gorgeous Setting, Comfortable Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Pros: Ocean, ruins, wildlife and restaurants nearby.
Cons: The tap water is slightly salty.
Location: On the beach, in a little village and near the ruins. Tulum is at the end of the paved road going south from Cancun.
The ocean was steps away, restaurants were a short walk away and the Tulum ruins were a bike ride away. The staff was wonderful. They booked tours for us: a reef snorkle one day and a bird-watching kayak tour of a lagoon on another day. They told us where to rent bikes. They booked a taxi driver to take us to the ruins at Coba and 2 cenotes and back to Tulum (6 hours). And most amazingly, when we needed to go to the hospital in Cancun on short notice on a Sunday evening, the staff found a taxi driver who drove the nearly 2-hour trip and waited while we saw the doctor (5 hours). Breakfast was dependable and relaxed and we chatted with many of the other guests over coffee, fresh-squeezed orange juice and either eggs and beans or yogurt and fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pensylvannia

Wonderful white sand beach

Posted Nov 29, 2011
Location: I recommend staying in the area of this hotel if you look for peace and the beauty of the beaches.
Good place to relax and disconnect from the rest of the world. I liked the hotel decor. Rooms are simple, basic, and have a special feel about them. BUT they do not have fresh water in the bathrooms, you have to shower with sea (very salty) water. You need to buy your own bottled water to brush and rinse your teeth. That should be told to people before they pick this hotel. I can do without internet in the room, TV, telephone, air conditioning and other civilization luxuries, but I like to have fresh water in the bathroom. Their restaurant is only open for breakfast. No bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Recommended, but with Caveats

Posted Jul 25, 2011
This hotel is in a lovely spot on the only strip of beach road that seems to welcome people promenading, thanks to the few VERY low-key bars nearby. The building is an architectural novelty, is on the beach--even you can count the annex--is clearly in good condition. They always had fresh towels, the room was cared for very well, and nothing was at all ratty or worn out. Indeed, the rooms were quite attractive, though far from ostentatious. Not having electrical plugs in the room was a wonderful escape. My complaints, however, relate to the some points which I think could be easily rectified by the hotel and expedia. The included "breakfast" is only toast and butter with the option to purchase extra. This feature should be built out, or not advertised. The mosquito net made sleeping a stifling experience, which could have been fixed by a screen on the one window that could have afforded a cross-breeze if opened. The hotel was advertised as beach-side, but our room was in an "annex" across a very small street. This was not a hassle and the room as much cheaper. However, it received little air flow, and the front door faced out on to the street. It was not a small amount of noise with which to deal. This and the other information I mentioned should be included in Expedia description. If we head back to Tulum--which is a terrific place--we will likely not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel accesible muy bien ubicado

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Todo está muy bien, el personal es muy amable el único inconveniente es que solo había 1 enchufe en toda la habitación
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guadalajara

Excelente elección calidad-precio

Posted May 18, 2015
Lindo lugar en excelente zona con playa pequeña pero agradable. Su personal muy atento.