Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Quiet, great location. Excellent dinner and breakfast at restaurant next door , Como Como. Helpful friendly staff .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

They were rude

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The staff was rude had incident they did not help all they did was create more problems made my vacation a living nightmare especially the manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Hotel was so friendly and responsive with my many questions. Hotel pool was a bit too cold to hang out in for a long period of time but it was so beautiful that we were content with lounging pool-side with a book and one of their yummy cocktails. Breakfast that was provided was delicious! About the room: everything was clean, AC worked very well, beds were comfortable enough. Each room came with its own balcony facing the pool/court yard area. Wifi wasn't strong everywhere but it worked enough for our purposes. Location: to arrive we walked from the ferry. This was a little longer than we wanted to do with luggage (about 20 min) so we took a cheap (70-80 peso) taxi ride when we left. many bars, restaurants and shops surround the hotel but we heard NO noise from our room. From Playa we took a cab to Tulum for a full day. The staff was very helpful in arranging a cab (770 peso there). Note, you can take their tour to Tulum but if you want to sleep in, the cab there is/back is 700-800 each way, and at the entrance to the ruinas in Tulum, you can get a tour in English with admission for 350pesos/2 people. Catching a taxi once you are in Tulum is very easy. Great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Hotel is nice but on same block with CocoBongo so you need ear plugs to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience!!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Everything!! The staff, pool, balcony view, food, hotel layout, everything!!
Cons: Everything and everyone was perfect!
Location: The hotel is a less than a minute walk to CoCo Bongo and a 2-minute walk to 5th avenue where everything is happening. We loved loved loved 5th Avenue
My husband and I stayed at La Tortuga Hotel and Spa for our honeymoon. Our stay turned out to be beyond amazing!! We had a standard room with a balcony view of the pool and garden, and it was absolutely gorgeous! The trees around the pool/garden area and the pool are lit up at night which made it more romantic. All the staff was very hard working, friendly, and always greeted you with a smile! The front desk staff answered all our questions and assisted us with phone calls that we needed to make for our tours. Special thanks to Rafa for helping me out when my luggage was delayed by the airline and for always just being so nice and super sweet!!! The continental breakfast was delicious and was served in huge portions!!! We had Omar and Santiago as our main servers during our stay and they were just so friendly and funny! The housekeepers cleaned our room very well and we found it very sweet how they made animals out of the towels which were placed on our bed. Every day, we also witnessed how the pool staff worked so hard in keeping the pool and garden clean. We definitely respect how hard working you all are. We miss you all!! You guys made our stay very memorable! <3
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hidden gem!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: just about everything!
Cons: a desk in my room would have been nice. also, spruce up the reception area as that is the first thing the patrons see. fresh payment and nicer decor
Location: located at 10th Avenida and 14th Street --- what's more to say? you are located pretty much within walking distance of everything!
This boutique hotel is quite the gem! Conveniently located at 10th Avenida and 14th Street, you have easy, walking access to everything --- the beach, both the older side and newer side of 5th Avenida and many non-tourist conveniences like the Mega Supermarket, a new Ado bus station, laundromats where they take care of your clothes for a song and an endless supply of authentic and very Mexican food places that cater to the locals. You walk past the reception area and you find yourself in an oasis of tranquility ---- a meandering pool with bridges and landings, lush vegetation, soaring trees, quiet shaded alcoves and a wonderful pool side bar. I stayed in a junior suite and my room (like most) was graced with an outdoor seating area facing the pool! My room was spacious with a modern bathroom along with many great amenities --- small refrigerator, flat screen, coffee maker, in room safe and upstairs outdoor deck with a hot tub!. The wifi worked quite well and my only disappointment was the absence of a desk. The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant excellent. Breakfast was included and was very good with continental, American and Mexican choices available. Dinner is Italian and phenomenal with an emphasis on seafood. If you like mescal, the bar had a great selection. The clientele was quite diverse with most being from Europe. The hotel has arrangements with several beach clubs that will give you a discounted fare. Overall --- great --- will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Love/hate relationship . 3rd time returning.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff #1. Shout out to RAFAEL!!! The pool is a relaxing area. It's hard to believe you are that close to the action of 5th. No children, Adults only!! Smaller intimate hotel ((getting to know staff and other guests)) pool table by the bar/common area. breakfast included. FABULOUS coffee!! Location!!
Cons: The sun chairs never got sun. This time of the year (oct) the sun isn't high enough. I've been in April and they blaze all day! Lack of hot water a few days. Upgraded this time to a Superior Jr.Suite . It needed some attention. The jet tub by the pool is sad, it needs to be something more like a hot tub(ish) really. The pool is always a bit chilly but refreshing. I mean, it is Mexico! Very close to coco bongo. You can hear the base at night. The level of noise is dependant where your room is situated.
Location: Awesome location. Public Beach and beach clubs very close. 5th Ave shopping few steps away. all Excursions close. Unlimited amount of restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor wifi in rooms No gluten free accomodation despite prior notice and hotel assurance that they can do it No king size bed in spite of order specifications and phone confirmation Hotel location excellent, staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, AL

Great staff at la Tortuga

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: One block off touristy 5th Ave, so the hawkers on 5th can be avoided. Plenty of great dining and clubs.
Our bed was comfortable, nice balcony overlooking the pool area, CNN on TV if you are a news junkie, pool area is beautiful, Omar is GREAT!!!!! So helpful and very welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
no coffee with coffee pot room really small no hot water for showers