Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dated hotel, rocky beach, terrible breakfast.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
One bedroom suite (002 & 003) is like being in a basement. I saw a green skinny snake when getting out of the room, when I reported it they said it was not a poisonous snake (but it is scary if you have phobia to snakes). You get only one key per room which is not convenient when you are sharing the room. The beach is not nice to swim because it is very rocky. I was too disappointed with the restaurant, their ingredients are really cheap. Worst rib eye ever. Included breakfast is bad, I was impressed and ended up laughing of how poor it was. They do not offer decaf coffe, worst French toast of my life. Staff is really really nice. Overall, I won't recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Volcano Hawaii

Quiet, peaceful location on picturesque small smal

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We arrived early in the day to learn our room, junior suite, was not ready. Ten minutes later Claudia, reservation manager offered us an upgrade to larger condo and gave us the key then.All the staff was most gracious and helpful and the food in the rooftop restaurant was both good and reasonable with spectacular view. We had pelicans flying by every evening. We prefer low key natural settings and Las Villas and it's beach were perfect. Kayaks were a bonus and great way to view reef and coastline.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable hotel with good food and service

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The nightly room rate and the delicious food was reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept clean.
Cons: We wish entering the ocean was less challenging with less rocks, but we understand that this is a turtle nesting area.
Location: Akumal beach was about 5 minute drive away from the hotel and we got to swim with very tame wild turtles. In a 15 minute drive we could be in Tulum.
We were very happy that we stayed at Las Villas for the week. The staff is friendly and hardworking and the food was delicious. We ate dinner at the hotel 5 of the 7 nights and it was by far better then any food we had outside the hotel. The food prices were also consistent with the pricing outside the hotel. We also liked that we had a full kitchen, but we only really used the refrigerator. The king-sized bed was especially comfortable and the room was always thoroughly cleaned. The only thing that made swimming in the ocean tricky is the rocky ocean floor. Bring appropriate footgear if you intend to swim in the ocean. We assume the natural beach condition was maintained as this is a turtle nesting ground. We actually got to see baby turtles hatch during our stay. Whenever we plan our next trip to the Mayan Riviera, we will strongly consider returning to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co

Nice Beachfront, Great Service, OK Food

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: the staff was great - super nice and helpful. the pool area is great.
Cons: the beach and ocean access are OK. The beach was not cleaned up very well, and the ocean access was a bit rocky and limited. The food was just OK. The continental breakfast was super disappointing, so we ate the fruit and plain toast in the AM. Had a couple other meals there, and they were better than the breakfast, but not great.
Location: walk to akumal bay. drive to tulum, cenotes, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable, quiet, condo-style accommodations

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: We like the quiet, comfortable, uncrowded accommodations with an ocean view. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Cons: The living room furniture could be more comfortable.
Location: Las Villas Akumal is located about a half mile down the beach from the small town of Akumal. We snorkeled, did beach walks and cooled off in the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, California

A Pleasant Surprise; lovely room!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Location, privacy, comfort, full service kitchen, cleanliness, beach.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Akumal, Lagoon, Beach, Tulum, Cenotes, etc.
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We arrived at midnight due a prolonged road trip. We were exhausted! To our pleasant surprise there was someone waiting for us with the key in hand. We did not have to check in or haul suitcases to a lobby. We were handed the key and went straight to our beautiful villa. It was fantastic to relax in a spacious, quiet, spotless room surrounded by palm trees and in a very private location. The property is beautiful with a beach at your footsteps and a beautiful pool. If you are planning to visit Tulum and Chitchen Itza and the Cenotes in that area, I highly recommend getting away from the Cancun strip to this Oasis. You will love Akumal and the Lagoon in town. This is a place you want if you are traveling with either family or as a couple and want comfort, convenience, and privacy. Our villa had a full kitchen so we went to the grocery store and cooked our own food the way we like it. Highly Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet beachfront hotel with excellent room service

Posted Jun 27, 2016
We witnessed sea turtles laying eggs at night. We had a spectacular view of the beach from.our balcony hammocks. The beach and pool were steps away from our villa. You will need water shoes for their beach as it is rocky but great for snorkeling. Kayak is free. Akumal.beach is a 20 min wall away where beach and turtles are also amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with peace and quiet.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This is a very simple hotel that has location as one of it's best attributes. After being here for 10 days, I stayed with wife and friends, by myself, and with members of a business retreat. Although it was peak season, it never seemed crowded. It was never noisy, the continental breakfast was good, and everything was clean and in good condition. Overall, I'm delighted that we stayed and most happy that the Villas allowed me to do what I most wanted - central location for exploring and getting quiet on a peaceful beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Apr 24, 2016
This is a great place if you want to get away. It's quiet and right on the beach. Good-sized villas. Definitely get an ocean view with a patio, it's a wonderful way to start the day. Breakfast is average - we ended up ordering eggs in addition each day (at our expense). If you're looking for high level of service and amenities, this may not be your place. The kayaks were fun. For good dinners, walk 20 minutes or take a taxi to Akumal, or taxi to Tulum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: the decor was awesome
Cons: better breakfast
Location: exc. location....
lovely place to stay.... gorgeous beach, accommodating staff. clean rooms