Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORST "Hotel" EXPERIENCE EVER! :((

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Get out of there as fast as you can.
Cons: Cleanliness, location, plumbing, amenities...pretty much everything.
WOW, what a way to start a vacation. I am befuddled as to why this hotel is so highly rated based on our horrible experience. We arrived at the "villas", only to learn it is a TINY, deserted building right off of the main highway. When we arrived at around 7pm, the place was completely deserted... as in not a single person was there except for the lone front desk woman. That should have been the first red flag. We checked in through a plastic, slotted motel window (in retrospect, this should have been the second red flag). As she walked us to the room, we could barely breathe because of an incredibly intense sulfur smell, apparently due to bad plumbing. We came around a corner, only to learn that our "beach front villa" was in the BASEMENT, with a single small window looking into concrete. The room itself was filthy - dirt everywhere, cockroaches in the bathroom... we didn't think it could get worse. We then learned the alleged "great location" was in fact the middle of no where. You are over 30 min walk from ANYTHING (food, water, restaurants, etc). Realizing how horrible our situation, we immediately called Expedia and they were able to find us a new hotel. NET-NET: DO NOT STAY HERE unless you have a fondness for sleeping with creepy critters and enjoy filthy, deserted motels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice property on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Property is very well kept up, the unit was spacious, clean and well stocked. The grounds are also very well kept up and the location by the water is great. There's two pools, including one kiddie pool. This is a good spot if you're looking for a condo setup (full kitchen, bedrooms, etc), especially with kids. The hotel staff was helpful, but the staff is small and it's not the same as a full service hotel. Breakfast was functional, but not great. It's a gorgeous beach, but the sand is a bit rocky and the ocean floor is rocky. Better for snorkeling and kayaking than swimming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Loved this hotel and the staff. Our beachfront/ocean view suite was lovely and the grounds are well kept up (and very lush!). Because the hotel is set back a bit from the beach, the ocean view is somewhat obscured by trees, etc. The pool and restaurant are also set back in the grounds. Lush, but no ocean views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Belated Honeymoon

Posted Apr 5, 2017
My husband and I had a wonderful 5 night get away for our belated honeymoon at Las Villas. We chose this hotel because we did not want to be at a big resort near Cancun.The staff was incredible and views were amazing. There were a few families there with us, but we didn't mind, they were all quiet and respectful. We stopped in Playa Del Carmen on the way down from the airport and picked up some groceries and alcohol. The kitchen was well stocked and we were able to make all the food and fruity drinks we wanted too. The only downside, as mentioned in other reviews, is the rocky entrance into the beach. However, we found once we braved the entry into deep enough waters, the snorkeling was amazing. All kinds of fish and interesting vegetation. Quick drive to Tulum and Yal Ku. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Can't wait for our next trip, it would be a great family reunion hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Elmo MN

Extremely clean, spacious and quiet

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Terrific staff and right on the beach. The little extra attention to detail goes a long way and we would definitely go back. Great location and very accommodating to special requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, Quiet Hotel very close to the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Family friendly; helpful staff; clean
We had a great experience at Las Villas Akumal. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We loved how quiet it was and far enough away from the resorts (too many people), yet close enough to walk to Akumal beach to do some shopping, get a facial, and for my son to scuba dive. Many more activities there as well. We will stay there again if we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is a beautiful place with a wonderful setting. The staff was great and the entire place was very well maintained and cared for. The only complaint I had was that the beds were not comfortable, but other than that, it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, relaxing beautiful place

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Perfect Mexican vacation getaway. Ideal for those that don't want the touristy all inclusive hotels and business. Short walk away from Akumal town for restaurants and shops
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dated hotel, rocky beach, terrible breakfast.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
One bedroom suite (002 & 003) is like being in a basement. I saw a green skinny snake when getting out of the room, when I reported it they said it was not a poisonous snake (but it is scary if you have phobia to snakes). You get only one key per room which is not convenient when you are sharing the room. The beach is not nice to swim because it is very rocky. I was too disappointed with the restaurant, their ingredients are really cheap. Worst rib eye ever. Included breakfast is bad, I was impressed and ended up laughing of how poor it was. They do not offer decaf coffe, worst French toast of my life. Staff is really really nice. Overall, I won't recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Volcano Hawaii

Quiet, peaceful location on picturesque small smal

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We arrived early in the day to learn our room, junior suite, was not ready. Ten minutes later Claudia, reservation manager offered us an upgrade to larger condo and gave us the key then.All the staff was most gracious and helpful and the food in the rooftop restaurant was both good and reasonable with spectacular view. We had pelicans flying by every evening. We prefer low key natural settings and Las Villas and it's beach were perfect. Kayaks were a bonus and great way to view reef and coastline.