Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Lovely small hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised that we had air conditioning... I didn't remember this from the hotel description. It has a good location close to the main drag, very walkable to lots of bars and restaurants, though some taxi drivers needed directions to find it. It felt homey and safe and the Wi-Fi was reliable. The outdoor private porch was nice. Be aware there's no fridge or TV. I would have liked a full length mirror, but this is a very minor issue. This was the perfect home base for us on our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel near Tulum's downtown area.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Ponchito, the dog! :) Also, very friendly owners and good location for accessing Tulum center (however, beach access requires a taxi or bike ride).
Cons: I think Jorge and his wife have done a great job!
Location: Delicious restaurants: Asaderos and El Capitan on Jorge's recommendation. Taxi to beach: Pescadores (near the ruins). Cafe: Babel (couple blocks away)
This hotel was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The owner, Jorge, and his wife were very sweet and accommodating and had great recommendations for food and activities.Their English is limited, so if you're a gringo, remember to speak slowly for them. And if you want to practice Spanish, this is the perfect place. As for the room, very firm but comfortable bed. Bath tub awesome (no jets fyi). The AC works really well. We had trouble figuring out how to use the control and woke up in the middle of the first night freezing (our fault)... realized in the morning that there was an extra blanket folded up in the corner of the room. Balcony is nice. Bathroom is very clean- the top is sort of open (covered by straw with a small gap), so maybe not the best for a couple not yet comfortable with pooing around each other (not our case). The location was so so- very convenient for arrival on bus (0.4 mile walk from the ADO bus station) and access to downtown Tulum, but directly across from an expo event center so it can get noisy. A taxi ride from the hotel to the beach ran anywhere from 80 to 100 pesos (4-5 bucks). 200 pesos from the beach to Gran Cenote (you can probably get this down but we were in a hurry). 100 pesos from Gran Cenote to the hotel. There was an event going on at the expo our first night (Friday), but it shut down by midnight, and we didn't have any problem the rest of the nights. Still, you might want to bring ear plugs if you're not used to city noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Quiet, quaint Tulum hotel en El Centro

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Small, quiet, family-run hotel. Very comfortable, large beds and pillows. Decorated in a Santa Fe style. Nicely located off the main street area.
Cons: Because the plumbing is not great in Tulum, there was the smell of urine because of back up in the pipes, (not because of a dirty bathroom)
Location: This small hotel is located about two or three blocks from the small downtown area where you will find the restaurants, bars, and taxis.
This small, quiet, Santa Fe decorated hotel is nicely located just a few blocks from El Centro. This is where you will find the restaurants, bars, banks, plazas, and taxis. The check-in was quick and welcoming. The Wi-Fi was up and running just fine the 4 nights I stayed there. There is no TV but a comfortable Hammock to use while reading and relaxing in an outside enclosed area. The air conditioning was needed to sleep comfortably at night because of the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

AMAZING hotel in Tulum

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Hotel is very close to shopping, restaurants and the beach! The owners were fabulous and very helpful with recommendations of places to visit. Also, they make an amazing Mexican breakfast! I will suggest this place to friends and fellow travelers in the future! I hope to visit again soon 😁
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful experience

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Lo Nuestro for two weeks. This is our second time we have stayed at this beautiful small hotel and as before we have not been disappointed. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious with a small balcony with a hammock to relax – they are exactly like the photos. Everything is kept incredible clean, you have good water pressure, a comfortable mattress, air conditioning and good WIFI- all within easy reach of restaurants, bars and the ADO bus station in town. The owners Jorge and Mirka are very friendly and welcoming. Jorge stayed up for us when we arrived late on Christmas Eve, which just shows how much they care for people to have a good time. Mirka is amazing as well and has given as some great tips exploring the area and also does a good breakfast. Definitely recommend this hotel and would and hopefully will stay here again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norway Maine

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Owners emotionally detached..no interaction whatsoever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in an authentic neighborhood

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The character, staff, location, dog.
Cons: The toilet did splash a little upon flushing, so maybe adjust the flush.
Location: Restaurants, taquerias, local fair, Batey Mojito Bar
It was great! The hotel has a lot of unique character, the room is very unique-looking, and you get a nice hammock on the balcony. It's very relaxing to just sit in the hammock, listening to the city around you. The hosts are very nice and helpful, the dog is friendly. The location is in the middle of the city of Tulum, so you get an authentic experience. It was a bit noisy in the evening since they were celebrating the holidays near by, but by midnight, it was fine. All in all, a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely decorated but basic

Posted Apr 30, 2016
The room was nicely decorated in traditional Mexican style, the bed was huge and the room was very clean. The rooms are quite basic though and do not have added comforts like a tv, or fridge. Our room (and perhaps all of the rooms) was located up a very rickety, wooden spiral staircase which was tricky to navigate with a suitcase so perhaps not the place to stay for those with mobility difficulties. Otherwise decent place and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara

Cute hotel near downtown Tulum

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Cute decor; Close to restaurants, shopping and public transportation; Comfortable and spacious rooms; Good breakfast
Cons: Turn the breakfast area into a bar at night?
Location: In downtown Tulum, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and public transit, ~10 min drive from the ocean, beach and Tulum ruins
My husband and I had an enjoyable 2-night stay at Lo Nuestro Petit Hotel while touring the Riviera Maya area. The owners were friendly and our room was comfortable, spacious, thoughtfully decorated and equipped with AC and a large porcelain bathtub. They also offered a pretty affordable in-house laundry service. The hotel is within walking distance from the restaurants and shopping of downtown Tulum as well as the bus station, and is about a 10 minute drive from the ocean, beach and Tulum ruins. Also, I'd highly recommend trying the breakfast. Even though it was an additional cost, our meal was tasty (Mexican style eggs, tortillas, fresh fruit, juice, and strong coffee), and was cooked directly by the owners. Another thing I'd recommend is the Jeep tour of the nearby Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve...it was a very fun day trip, where we got to see crocodiles, dolphins, sea turtles, and many different varieties of birds.