Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Tranquility steps from all the excitement.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, tranquility, staff, grounds, beach, pools, hot tubs, rooms, hammocks, pretty much everything.
Cons: Careful about the beach bar music. PBM was in town our week and very loud music went to 4:00 am one night. coffee maker in room would be nice.
Location: Beach, restaraunts, shopping, nightlife, ferry to Cozumel a walk away.
Lush, impeccably kept grounds, with birds and wildlife, steps from Mamita's beach and 5th Ave. Location is excellent, staff is outstanding. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Oscar, Rogelio, Ever, Alberto and Fidel were a pleasure. We had half board and all the food we had was terrific. On the beach with 3 pools and hot tubs. Very large property, but, separate buildings for rooms so peaceful and didn't feel crowded. Plenty of room on beach and at pools and for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We had a Palapa room with high thatched ceiling which added to the jungle feel. No TV in room which shocked me at check in, but, I came to appreciate disconnecting. Added to the relaxation. We visit Playa del Carmen 3 times a year and will definitely come back to Mahekal again! Beach bar music is loud, but, ended by 9:00 pm most nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Amazing stay and looking forward to going back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and fantastic client service

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach, beautiful views, amazing service and friendly staff from the bottom to the top.
Cons: N/A
Location: Location to the beach and main shopping area can not be better. Very central for day trips and easy accessible, yet really peaceful and quiet
After an initial challenge with our room the hotel demonstrated real commitment to making our stay exceptional and correcting the room immediately. Mahekal Hotel has excellent client service and strives to do their best. We have spent an amazing 16 days at Mahekal Hotel. Would definitely like to go back. Lots to do or just relax on the beach. From diving or snorkelling in the sea or cenotes to experiencing the vibrant colours, lovely food and walks down the main shopping area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice but didn't quite meet my expectation

Posted Jan 2, 2017
I will try to be objective as possible. Surrounding was beautiful with tropical atmosphere. The noise level of the people complained about was for us not significant. The rooms were simple and basic without a television, but this was the reason why we chose this resort. The Christmas Gala which was mandatory was not worth its value. However, this could be a personal culinary preference. The food room service was excellent. My main complaints arise from the front desk not relaying my message to appropriate staff to meet my request. Multiple calls were made to the front desk for additional mosquito repellent coils, but they weren't delivered. I had to go to the front desk on two occasions to get them delivered. I called multiple times to get Band-Aids delivered to our room for my son's cut to his feet, but again it wasn't delivered. I had to go to the front desk to get it. This was our third trip to Cancun area. Otherwise, this wasn't a bad trip overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from us

Go for hut not for Christmas eve gala

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We select this place looking forward to Christmas eve gala. Too bad value is not half the worth. We were imposed on high extra tip every single meal. We did. Fuego restaurant was worth it. So many mosquitoes and bugs I mean hundreds of mosquito bites on one of my sons. View of huts are very nice. We got some really nice pictures i'm thankful we spent Christmas together as a family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Relaxing resort

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The decor was very nice and the landscape was beautiful. I loved that our room was within view of the ocean. No TV in our room!
Location: Walk to the beach. Walk to the strip.
Upon arrival through the large, torch-lit, wooden gate, our Expedia transport driver jokingly said "Bienvenidos a Jurassic Park"! The resort had a very tropical, yet modern, feel to it. The staff were very friendly and informative and the service was excellent. Drinks were delivered to our beach seating and security made us and our belongings feel safe. Gonzalo was welcoming and set up our hammocks for us as he showed us the property and our room. When it was time to venture out, we found that we were located at the edge of the main strip. Iguanas roamed freely in our neighborhood!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merida, yucatan

A good hotel on the beach.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Enjoyed the very comfortable room. Excellent wifi and internet speed. Very good shower and fine bed sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best resort in the area

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Are first room was amazing with a palapa roof and king bed in the jungle, very private and relaxing. There is construction of a new resort behind the jungle rooms currently so it was loud during the day, but not really an issue as we were out during the day. However, one night there was construction starting at 3am which woke us up and we moved to another room for the night. The staff were really accommodating and when we complained about the noise they moved us to a penthouse room for our last 2 nights, free of charge. Amazing rooms, great food and great place to relax!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Hi Mike! Thank you for your review! We hope we´ll have anothe oppoturnity to host you in the near future. Best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranqilo

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Lovely place, we only stayed for one night but the pools, rooms, and beach were delightful. Our server Alberto was very helpful and gave me a full tutorial on the nuances of Mezcal and Tequlia. We did not want to leave obviously!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Dear Portland Mike, Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to welcome you back! Best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CALIF

Beautiful location, Many amenities, great place!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Different pools, access to the beach, nice & cozy, service was great everywhere
Cons: Plumbing and shower checks.
Location: Sunbathe, swim, snorkel, relax, enjoy!
Everything is fine as long as there is no construction going on right by your room. We had to move after 2 days; staff said workers wouldn't start until 10 AM but they started at 8:30 the first day & 8:00 the 2nd day. So we moved rooms & were upgraded no charge to an ocean view, albeit a smaller room. However it was right next to the public access so the first night there was very loud music & people & cars & traffic noise! The a/c is pretty loud but even with earplugs it didn't make sleeping happen easily! This was very frustrating. Be sure to check the rooms prior, including proper flushing of toilets & water temp of shower (which in the 2nd room with the ocean view didn't get hot nor did the toilet flush properly). Other than that, the beds were so comfy & the A/C worked wonderfully.