Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach

Posted Nov 29, 2016
High quality, good food, great staff! Perfect location in Playa de Carmen; close to shops, dining and the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding. It is a gem -a real mexican feel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
It has been a while since we've been there-ca 11 years and the hotel has evolved into a real magical Mexican experience. A world where we immersed into real vacation. It is way more authentic than the surrounding hotels. We stayed 6 nights but wished we could have had another week. Our kids are 12 and 13 and they gave it 5***** as well. We will be back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We loved this place!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Excellent location, service, decoration, food. Beautiful place, my teens loved it too...nice scuba diving place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

One of the best vacation experiences of our life

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Location: 5th avenue is pretty fun..know that you can negotiate and get prices if you are willing to haggle!
My wife and I went there for our 20th anniversary and were not disappointed. The Mahekal Beach Resort is top notch. Everyone is so welcoming, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous - and right on the ocean as well - the food and drinks were wonderful and the rooms were fairly comfortable. Although the ultimate goal was to get away from everything completely, there were a few times when we needed to check our email. The wifi was dependable for the most part, but I noticed that it dropped us a few times, but no big deal at all. What impressed me the most is the care that goes on in the facility. I appreciate and notice when staff is working to maintain the place, and they were doing so constantly without being a distraction. To continue with the care, the staff is always warm and welcoming and always smiling. My only issue, and trust me it is simply nitpicking, is that sometimes during meals, the staff can tend to be overly attentive. Some may appreciate it, but I personally don't need my chair pushed in for me every time I get up or water poured for me every couple of minutes. Like I said, nitpicking. I know that efforts have been made to help the situation, and it is not the fault of the resort at all, but the loud house music from the resort next door, Mamitas, can be annoying at times. It's not a huge distraction, but it is always there. All in all, one of the best hotel experiences of my life and we will be going back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel great!, the service not so well...

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The rooms, the place, the hand made beers from different parts of Mexico, the food is acceptable in general the place has an amazing view and location
Cons: The room service, I asked for the service at 10:45 pm and there were no people at all, What?? the service is until 11pm, terrible
Location: It's very close to the heart of Playa, but quiet which is a plus in Playa
When I arrived my room was not ready, and decided to take luch close to the beach, but when I mentioned that issue to the manager, He did not recognized the issue, and I believe that the hotel is really good, the service in the restaurant is really good, the food and beverages remarkable; but the people in the rest of the resort is not very kind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid

Amazing Caribbean paradise

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Best vacations ever. Would love to come back. Baby friendly, quiet and nice. Amazing beach, delicious food. Everything well organized and clean. Beautiful decoration. Well done Mahekal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for your kind words! It would a great pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our little paradise! Best Regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Very romantic and unique.
Cons: An instruction book on how to combat insects!!!!
Location: Very close to town 5 mins to 5th Ave and lots of fun and people are very friendly and accommodating
We really enjoyed the resort but we felt like a hug pin cushion the insects even though we used the repellent they loved us!!!! The experience and this resort is very unique and we loved it and will return. The treatment that we had by the staff is the best that we have experienced in the world. The food was great!!! Very happy we well be back!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Dear Marie! Thank you so much for your review, the staff loves to create unforgettable experiences. We are fumigating every day to control the mosquitos, I´m sorry to read that they find you particularly tasty! Hope to welcome you back in paradise!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Great, beautiful place. Great. Great. Would do that again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Thank you Andrew! We´ll be waiting for you in paradise! Best Elisa Gomez
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown, United States of America

Fabulous resort!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
We were so pleased with our choice of this property. Beautiful, peaceful, fantastic staff...great vacation. Our only disappointments, no TV in room (our fault, didn't read this in info) and rooms dimly lit. Impossible to read. However, we would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Elisa Gomez, Hotel Management
Dear Raymond, Thank you for 5 points on your review, we are glad you enjoyed the Mahekal experience and so happy you choose the moon over the Tv! We´ll be waiting for your next escape to paradise! And thank you for sharing the amazing pic. Best Elisa Gomez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this hotel was the closeness to downtown playa del carmen
Cons: We paid for a more expensive room before arriving at the hotel. We did our research before booking. Went on several websites as well as the hotels website in order to make sure we were getting the room that we wanted. After arriving to the resort they put us in a room that wascthe absolute furthest from everything. Not to mention that was next to a construction zone. These rooms do not have windows! They are small wooden shutters so you hear everything! We explained to the front desk that this was unacceptable. We we were told told that there were no other rooms because of 2 weddings taking place at the resort. Finally we were able to speak to a supervisor who then put us in a much smaller room with bo accommodations. All we were offered was a $50 credit!!!!! Not to mention that was the pool and the restaurant were closed for a wedding! NEVER AGAIN!!! Absolutely furious