Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, New Mexico

Great location, fantastic resort

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Every year we return to our friends at Mahekla, and to a fantastic relaxing stay. Mahekla thas continued to evolve into better and better resort. The rooms are very nicely appointed with plenty of space and your own private hammocks to swing yourself into a restful slumber. The resort is situated in a jungle like setting, with pathways meandering thru the resort. A new exercise center has been added, as well as a new restaurant Fuego, and pool. The beach area is only feet from some of the rooms, and the water are an amazing turquoise... We look forward to our return to Magellan next year, and to reconnect with the gracious staff, Rogelio, Dagaberto, Jared, Angel, Fidel, Carlos, Gabriel and Boli the concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Amazing resort with absolutely wonderful location!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We were very pleased with our recent stay at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort is located very close to downtown - 5th Avenue being just a short walk away. The resorts private beach area is premium, compared to the surrounding beach options we felt it was far superior. The staff and amenities were fabulous, we enjoyed all 3 pools, the restaurants & bars...as well as enjoyed a wonderful couples massage at the spa, enjoyed an adventure to Tulum & a Cenote booked through the hotels concierge. We would highly recommend this resort, after our recent visit we plan to make this our annual couples getaway. AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

great place

Posted Feb 9, 2016
It should be a 5 star hotel I've stayed at posh hotels and this place is great , staff are amazing .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Great overall bur rooms for improvement : service and rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Would definately recommend to friends!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: My husbands favorite was the foot fountains throughout the resort. My favorite was the breakfast and hammock.
Cons: Chips and salsa at the bar at all times.
Location: Perfect location for shopping. We chose the Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum all day excursion which would do again but too many pick ups of other hotels.
"Every hotel should have a Lilly". She is the hostess of Fuego restaurant. She remembered everyone and spoke to everyone like she owned the resort, making sure you felt right at home. (Hope to see you next year!) The food at Fuego was amazing! We had a few questions about the menu and the chef came out and spoke with us. Fuego has a $25 pp American money credit. This worked out well for us, although throughout the resort, you pay for all your drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) Our first night we did the buffet which was very good and our next two dinners we did Fuego. The breakfast buffet was incredible! Green drinks and healthy choices which is a must on how i choose my resorts. I can't remember our servers name for breakfast but he was awesome as well. There isn't much night life but very relaxing. The hammocks on every porch is the perfect touch. Mahekal is a great resort I would highly recommend . . . . Hope this review helped you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Really nice hotel with amazing decoration.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
I loved the hotel, the locations, rooms etc. I just will suggest to put fridges in the rooms. In general the hotel is a paradise. Mostly all the staff is really nice. I just didn't feel very welcome with the guy at the reception desk. He wasn't very friendly and he charged us more than 400 dolls for room services without even ask. Anyway I would go again and I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Not a bad thing to say about the place!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Amazing location, BEAUTIFUL resort, great service, delicious food and drinks! Left nothing to be desired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!!!!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice and comfortable, the staff was really nice and helpful. Going the extra mile.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to almost everything or you can take the bus to go everywhere on the main street.
Great Hotel, nice staff !!!!! Everyone was helpful upon arrival and every single time we asked for assistance with anything. The food was good and including 2 meals a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Aesthetic bungalows at the beach

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Wonderful resort with big palms and cozy pools. The food was delicious and varied, rooms very clean. Two minuspoints: bad smell at the beach almost every day, loud music at the beach from neiboring hotels and bars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel hotel mais bruyant.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Le design, le mobilier, le jardin, etc.
Cons: Service du repas du soir, les mauvaises odeurs... et l'isolation acoustique des chambres (pas de vitres aux fenetres)...
JE NE RECOMMANDE PAS cet hôtel pour qui recherche le SILENCE, la TRANQUILITÉ et les BONS REPAS (buffet le soir vraiment à désirer pour le prix des chambres, en revanche très bien pour le petit déjeuner). En effet, étant au coeur même de la ville, il est quasiment impossible d'avoir un vrai silence pour lire, se reposer ou même bien dormir la nuit. Autre point, nous étions en janvier cette année, à partir de 11h00 du matin jusqu'au couché du soleil, des ALGEUS sur la plage dégagent une odeur PESTILENTIELLE dans tout le jardin et sur la plage... A en donner la nausée. Enfin, lorsqu'il pleut, certainement l'évacuation des eaux usées laisse à désirer, une ODEUR de FOSSE SEPTIQUE remonte dans la douche et le lavabo... Bon séjour !!