Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Lovey resort on the beach

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful place to spend time in. Great location. Friendly, cheerful staff. Feels very tropical. Doesn't feel like a chain in any way.
Location: We enjoyed the beach. Lots to do nearby. Xcaret, Xel-ha, day trip to Chichen-Itza, morning snorkel trip and of course walks on Quinta Avenida.
We spent 9 days at Mahekal Resort and enjoyed each day. The resort has a jungle feel, beautifully landscaped with tropical plants. There are sidewalks that wind around the grounds, so you can just stroll around and look for birds and other wildlife. I saw a coati a few times (a Mexican lemur), and on the last day I saw a capybara (like an oversized guinea pig). Staff is very friendly. Location is excellent. Resort is right on the beach, with plenty of beach chairs and shade. Easy 2 block walk up to Quinta Avenida, with all the shops and restaurants. Good jumping off point for visiting all the parks and activities in the area. There are 3 restaurants and we tried all of them. Delicious resort style food. Lots of fresh fruit and veggies available. Vegetarian option every night at the main dinner restaurant. They make all the food on the premises, including the delicious baked goods. We used their concierge (Boli) to set up a snorkel trip and that was a highlight. Wish I would have had him help up set up all our activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for playa

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hotel is nice. It's kept clean and the staff are friendly. The hotel is a solid 4 stars. The food is good, it's as good as any of the food in the rest of playa. The rooms and grounds are kept clean. The staff try to learn your name during the stay and make a genuine effort to serve you with pride. overall the resort itself is nice. There a few things outside the resort due to its location that affect your stay at the resort. The first being a beach club to the south of the resort that plays extremely loud techno music that starts about 10:00 am every morning. We stayed on the south side of the resort and it was impossible to take an afternoon nap even inside the room. The only saving grace was that they did shut the music down at 7:00 pm every night. The second thing that was unpleasant is just the smell in the area. The hotel itself really is not bad, but walking from the hotel or along other parts of the beach was a terrible smell that was like raw sewage, it did rain a lot when we were there so that might be the cause but it did take my appetite away on an almost daily basis. I think the loud music and not so fresh smell are probably just the trade off for staying so close to the heart of playa del carman. The resort is basically right on 5th ave. it is in a terrific location for being right on the beach and close to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Very nice hotel, great access to the beach and good food!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 90280

Sacrifice comfort for good location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Hotel staff blamed Expedia for booking errors. Hotel made no effort to correct errors. Hotel has NO TV's in the rooms...Expedía needs to add this detail to their hotel description. Hotel has NO on site parking. Expedia needs to add this detail to their hotel description.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Tropical resort with awesome beachfront access!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
We absolutely enjoyed our recent stay at Mahekal resort! The staff are friendly and accommodating to assure your stay is pleasant. Manuel at the check in desk was excellent as we wanted an upgrade closer to the beach and we are so happy he was able to accommodate our request! They have 3 pools but the one on the aventura side next to Olas restaurant was the coolest right on the beach. The beach on Caribe side has palapas with chairs so you can be in the shade or sun and they have one of the nicest white sandy beach areas compared to neighboring resorts. They offer halfboard which worked out great as you can have breakfast daily and choose either lunch or dinner at one of their 3 restaurants onsite. We enjoyed lunch on the beach most days (loved their ceviche on lunch menu which is much better than the dinner version at Fuego) and walked outside to Calle 38 which has 2 decent restaurants for dinner La Cueva Del Chango for Mayan cuisine w/ great margaritas and Piola an Italian spot which was decent & reasonably priced. You're minutes from Calle 5 Ave where there are many restaurants and shops and bars. Great location, fabulous beach, wonderful tropical scenery and very well kept resort with a laid back vibe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Great place except for the rave music on the last night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, Ca

Hotel is absolutely beautiful.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Location: Very close to 5th avenue shopping and Xplor/Xcaret
My husband and I came to Mahekal for 6 days for our honeymoon. This resort is so beautiful and absolutely breathtaking. The proximity to the beach is unbeatable. The pools are amazing and the rooms are the best. My only downside is the poor communication with the transportation company as we were woken up an hour earlier than expected because my confirmation email was wrong. The food is also okay, too much American food and not enough Mexican on the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Beautiful Resort on the Beach

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We booked an Oceanview Palapa and we were so glad we did. We were 3 rooms back from the beachfront & our room was absolutely beautiful & private with gorgeous views. The grounds of this hotel are amazing & immaculate. The staff are so lovely, super helpful & friendly. Our room included breakfast & dinner and all the food we had was delicious! We would come back in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brito

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Afternoon front desk staff throughout my stay thumbs down, if you can't send someone to put up my hammock after asking 3 times because of whatever reason just let me know instead of having me waiting. The other staff I encountered in all the restaurants, around the pools, and around the beach thumbs up. Rene employee in the Fuego Restaurant was magnificent!! His service definilty makes him stand out! Thank you for being so attentive to our needs! Made our lunch at El Fuego Restaurant amazing! Yummy food as well!! Srawberry Margaritas A+.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very beautiful plants trees staff was nice bikes t

Posted Jun 2, 2017
This hotel is close to the beach it's a small resort which is nice ... Big resorts are crappy the food wasn't great but it was presented nice 👍🏾 And was way better than the platinum princess place that was five times more expensive