Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Great beach, pools, staff and very good food

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We had an amazing time: food, drinks, beach, close to center, helpful and friendly staff, nice room. The only thing which damaged our time was the construction work next to our room, starting at 8:00 am. Was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL hotel. Food no so beautiful

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: See above. Rooms, pools, drinks, staff, pottery painting for kids... love it.
Cons: See above, but the food is pretty sucky(except the ceviche!). Think TGIFridays or Red Lobster. How often can you eat that?
Location: GREAT. Walk to town. Great Beach.
This was actually our fourth time here since 1999. It is a beautiful place and has developed from little huts into a hip, low-key, stunning little jewel. The rooms are just gorgeous. The pools are perfect and the view is amazing. The staff could not be sweeter or try harder. Nobody makes you feel in trouble for doing things like sneaking into the breakfast buffet after you have eaten in your swimsuit or anything else. They are wonderful. The only things that would stop us from coming back are: 1. The food. It is just mediocre hotel food. They could do better than these random breakfast nachos, overcooked eggs, and refried beans. The fresh fruit is great and the pastries are fine, but it is hard to sign up for this breakfast every morning knowing it really is kind of convention food. 2. They don't have enough staff (or even cups, plates towels). I would spend a lot of the breakfast standing by the kitchen waiting for glasses, plates, etc... which got annoying every morning (we were there for 10 days). Also, you spend a lot of time waiting for your food or drinks. They are just way understaffed. 3. We now know how to choose a room, but they tell you things are ocean view that are really only ocean view if you squint and crane your neck. That is frustrating and has happened to us twice there. Again... I love this place, but I don't know if we will return soon given the food issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I can't imagine a better hotel in this area!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Mahekal Beach Resort is really, really special! It does not feel like a big beach resort; the accommodations, grounds, pool, beach area are very charming. There is sometimes a discrepancy between the photos and reality, but the hotel met all of our expectations. We stayed in an upstairs, beach-front palapa. The room was very nice and we loved our balcony with the hammocks. It was completely private; we couldn't see our adjacent neighbor's balcony. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful; we were sad to leave them! This includes the front desk, wait staff, housecleaning, and concierge. I was able to tell Boli, the concierge, the types of experiences we were interested in, and he set us up. Just a fabulous, fabulous experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Very nice hotel; friendly staff.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The grounds are very pretty and well kept. The staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed breakfast in the palapa by the pool and the food was very good
Cons: Our only complaint was the damp smell in the room upon entering. We think this was in part due to the palapa roof. Once in the room it was fine.
Location: We loved the location because it was easy to walk to shops and restaurants and yet the grounds were quiet and on the beach.
We really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Mahekal. We spent most of our time at the beautiful infinity pool overlooking the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lecco

Bella struttura peccato per le troppe alghe

Posted Aug 12, 2015
La struttura é anche bella e confortevole anche se non vale quello che costa. La cena inclusa é abbastanza scarsa e al di sotto delle aspettative. Avevo richiesto camera a piano terra per via dei bimbi e non l abbiamo trovata. Ci siamo dovuti accontentare di una partial ocean view a piano terra anche se avevamo pagato una ocean view. Alternativa era stare al secondo piano. Nota veramente dolente la spiaggia piena di alghe. Troppo facile allargare le braccia e dire che ci sono dappertutto, con quel che costa ogni 2 ore dovrebbero mettere gente a pulire invece pulivano e male ogni 2 giorni e il personale era tutto dedicato ad annaffiare le piante del guardino.. Mica sto in giardino se sono al mare!!!!!! Sveglia!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Perfect!!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: We liked the fact that is was small and had a very quiet. laid-back atmosphere. Very close to shopping and great restaurants, within walking distance.
We just returned from our stay, of 4 nights, and everything was what we wanted. Service was great, everyone went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. We really enjoyed the breakfast and lunch, which was provided, we changed our dinner for lunch. Pool was never crowded, which was great, we always had chairs available, by the pool and/or beach. We requested a king, but received a double, they were able to change us the very next morning. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We will absolutely be returning! If you want a quiet place to getaway, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville, TN

Absolute fantastic overall experience!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The staff and food is Fantastic! They love who they work for. I got to hear about the relationship between the staff and owners. Very cool.
Cons: The resort bicycles need improvement Some adult beach toys like paddle ball and a football would be a nice touch.
Location: Jet skied, snorkeled and a charter fishing boat picked us up AT THE BEACH! Great shopping in walking distance. local food is awesome, go to El Fogon!
Wife & I took (2) teenaged boys 16 & 17. The rooms are an "enchanting" mix of rustic design and modern elements. The place is very clean and fastidiously looked after all day long. The setting is so well balanced of natural and planned throughout. The beach facility of chairs, umbrellas, sunbathing/napping beds are really nice. It is a room yet cozy resort size. Only a couple blocks from Shopping and street life. I'm a cop and I felt the security of the walls and officers was really comforting. We certainly plan to return and likely with extended family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great food and nice ambiance

Posted Aug 7, 2015
We spent 9 days in Mahekal. I love the style/deco and the food of the hotel. Just too many mosquitoes and the beach was very dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Beautiful hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel directly on the beach

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Our second floor palapa room had a slant to it which left a 1 inch gap under our door (ants and pincher bugs had no problem coming and going). Our shower stall also leaked into the toilet area but the hotel staff put down a couple of towels to absorb the excess water. Outside of that the hotel is perfect if you have a family (not the ideal spot for quite time due to all the family's and children). The breakfast and dinner were just ok but that was expected since they were free. They do offer better choices but you will be paying for that. All in all the hotel was pretty amazing due to the palapa rooms, hanging porch hammocks and direct beach access. Personally I enjoyed it and so did my girlfriend. We just wished it was a bit more quiet. P.s. You are in walking distance from all the playa action (clubs, food, shopping, etc... 😄)