Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Wonderful place on beach

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Everything I stated above. Also there is a place to rent snorkel and scuba excursions right on the beach. This is a very family friendly place.
Location: This hotel is one block from a street with markets, food, a terrific french chocolate shop. Not to mention the beach just steps away.
The facility is beautiful, the beach is terrific, but the staff is, by far, the best thing about this facility. From the check in with Miguel who let us pick a room away from the busy area, to the wonderful housekeeping, Lydie ( I think), was so nice and very thorough with cleaning. Then there was the staff at Los Olas, Rogilio was so attentive and sweet, greeting us everyday with such joy, anticipating our needs. He was amazing. The last two days, it was Angel who did the same for us. Daniel was great to work with as we needed to change our first room due to simple a/c issue. So many I can't mention by name as my memory is not the greatest with names, but I cannot wait to return because of the people here. The pictures of the gorgeous facility are accurate and the stretch of beach is beautiful. The delicious food is still a topic in our house.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Peaceful, beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location: steps from 5th avenue. We didnt do the all inclusive because there are wonderful restaurants steps from the hotel and we like to get out a little.
Originally had a room near Calle 38th which got noisy on the weekend nights. They moved us with no hassle to a room in the middle of the resort. Beautifully peaceful and quiet. This is not a party hotel. Not too many kids either. Perfect mix. The rooms are simple, no TV but who needs a TV anyway. I will come back !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing place with great service

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: the rooms, the food and the location. The beach was just few steps and the shopping area was just a few blocks
Location: everything was near by! and they have bikes there for you to ride
This was such a great holiday and the hotel was just amazing, from the time we arrived with the great welcome, our amazing room with such a great view to the service from all staff at this place just made our stay one of a kind! The rooms are great and gave that beach-feel with the palapa and the hammoks and the shower otside on our terrace. We also enjoyed the pool tables, ping pong and games at the bar and the decor was also amazing. thank you to Raul, Marco and all the team there that went above our expectations.This is the place to stay when in Playa del Carmen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, awesome staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Close to a nice beach, great staff, food was only so so, not much variety. My children did end up getting sick but can't be sure it was from the buffet. The grounds are amazing, relaxing, clean, the beach is clean & safe. Overall, the resort is beautiful. I would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel, Beach feel decor.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The wife says she loved it all, but she loved that she was able to take home a decorative bowl in the room for us to keep.
Location: The Hotel is walking distance to 5th avenue. Places to eat and shop.
This hotel is great, some rooms are on the beach. The whole hotel grounds is well taken car of and clean. The staff is friendly. Overall a great experience with everything. Due note that the beach that the hotel is located at is usually busy with locals. They will stay until midnight sometimes later but they weren't rowdy at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Mahekal Beach Resort Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything !
Cons: Sometimes there is a weird smell out side ,maybe becouse of the humidity .We were there in July
Location: Location is great .
Vocation was fantastic .Staff friendly and professional.Food was excellent .Please tip the staff ,they work so hard for very low wages .I am going back for next year . Exspedia is a great travel agency !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Karen Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to know you had a fantastic vacation and your experience with the resort and Expedia was very positive. We hope you return soon. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Very nice lay out , tropical setting, hammocks were a nice touch. Service was excellent and food was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Karen Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting us! We are happy to know you enjoyed our outstanding food and highly attentive service. Cordially,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Mexican Excellence!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location: All the awesome ocean activities you could want offered. Nice gym onsite, ping pong, pool tables. Easy walk to shop's restaurants.
We could find anything wrong, not even a broken lounge chair which somehow always seem to find me :) What made this stay really special was the genuine friendliness of the staff. They always made sure we had everything we needed. Great quiet location given it being in a busy area. Food was always exceptional and fresh. Almost a place we want to keep secret but just can't. Have a great vacation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, California

Mahekal - Beautiful resort. Wonderful staff!

Posted Jun 28, 2016
My family and I had a wonderful 8 night stay at the Mahekal Beach Resort. The hotel is located literally a block away from the north end of the main shopping avenue which seems to go on forever. Mahekal doesn't have the giant facade with its name plastered on it beckoning you like the multitude of other places along the highway to Playa del Carmen. This is a more subdued, relaxed type of environment. The buildings and rooms that make up the Mahekal have a bungalow look with thatched Mayan style roofs called talapas. The rooms are set in these stand alone, 1, 2 or 3 story bungalows. It's really asthetically pleasing. The staff, from the front desk, waiters, bartenders, maids, groundskeepers, etc., is wonderful, friendly and attentive! For the price we got breakfast and lunch or dinner included. The food was good to very good. Had to pay for drinks. Now for the things I wish I had known. Our room was number 27 which was very near the Olas bar and infinity pool. That was great, however our room was next to another Resort that blasted techno music pretty much all day til 10pm and on Saturday evenings til 3.a.m. in the morning. We had to request a quieter room to just sleep in for the one Saturday. The music would bounce off the concrete walls and through our thatched roof. It sounded like there was a speaker in our room. You may want a room that doesn't face that resort. Another thing, get instructions for the a/c. Couldn't get it to consistently stay on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Karen Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mahekal Beach Resort. We have been working with the clubs to lessen the noise factor. It isn't a problem all the time but we do recognize it is a challenge for some guests. We hope to have a solution for our rooms soon. Glad you enjoyed the resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good hotel right on the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The resort grounds are well kept and it really looks just like the pictures. The hotel staff was very nice and the concierge booked us a great tour.
Cons: Food is ok but we got food poisoning during the visit. I don't know if it was from eating at Fuego or eating at a restaurant in Quinta Avenida.
Location: There doesn't seem to be a place to go out to dance other than American style clubs. The beach is public but there's security from Mahekal.
We went at the beginning of June. Good time to go if you don't like overcrowding but bad weather. The hotel staff was very nice and the concierge booked us a great tour. We got caught in one of the hotel bars during a bad rain storm the first night we were there and the televisions couldn't get reception so it was pretty boring. Several parts of the resort were flooding from the rain. The room was great except for the shower which had only really cold or really hot water. The staff was very polite and friendly the entire time we were there. The amenities are lovely and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a garden view palapa on the 2nd floor and loved it. There was a family staying below us but we never heard a sound from them. The proximity to Quinta Avenida is good but you have to walk quite a while to get to an atm that dispenses dollars. Also, I wish the entertainment was more Mexican and included danceable music instad of being a smooth jazz duo singing in English. Some cumbia would have been fun. This place is good for people looking to relax and for families. It isn't great for young people who want to party. Overall, the great condition of the resort and the amiable staff (especially Boli) made our short visit to Mahekal a great one. We would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Karen S., Hotel Management
Hi Val- Glad you enjoyed the resort and Playa Del Carmen. We are sorry to learn that you were sick. It can sometimes happen in Mexico. Our resort is generally best suited for people looking to relax and escape the fast paced life at home. There are many things to do on Quinta Avenida, including places to dance. The best time to come for young people to dance is for the BPM festival which is held in the beginning of January. We look forward to hosting you again, perhaps during a special event which you may really enjoy.