Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to access beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
This hotel is located right next to the beach, so you can play and then take a rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Ugly beach, regular hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Ammenities, bathroom, service...pool maintenance, BEACH!!!
Location: Is close to the clubs and restaurants, which is the only thing nice about it.
Not enough ammenities in the room, incomplete bathroom.
1 out of 5
by David from San Francisco

Infested with Bugs!!!!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
My room at the Mosquito beach hotel was infested with bugs. When I asked reception if I could switch rooms, they told me all of their rooms had a bug problem. Additionally, the room was dirty and dusty with soiled linens. I would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by David from San Francisco

AVOID!!! Dirty and full of bugs

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
I was very disappointed with the Mosquito beach hotel. To put it simply - the place was DIRTY!!!! When I checked into my room I found a take-out container full of food in the closet. There was dust everywhere. The room was also full of tiny flying insects that bite. When I went to reception to ask if there was another room available, he said that they have a problem with bugs in every room! His only solution was to send a maid to our room with a can of insect repellent. Gross - no thanks. Sleeping in a cloud of raid is no better than sleeping with bugs. I was bitten up beyond belief - there are tiny red bug bites all over my arms, legs and chest. Our trip included stops all over Playa del Carmen and the whole Yucitan. The only place where I was bitten by bugs was in my room at this hotel. We swatted the bugs ourselves and left the smears of dead bug bodies on the walls and ceiling. When housekeeping came and went the next day, the bug carcarsses were still there - they didn't clean anything!!!! Housekeeping also didn't change the towels or sheets. As far as I can tell, the only thing they do it empty the trash. The attached restaurant served good food but the service was dishonest. They presented the bill with an enormous service charge attached to it. When I asked about the service fee later at reception they told me it was optional. The waiter did not say it was optional - so that left us feeling like we had been taken advantage of.
1 out of 5
by Maria from México

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels
I never comment on this type of websites but for this horrible stay I had to warn you because it's not worth the money you pay .This hotel Its like a 2 star hotel . Very dirty and very old . The pillows had holes and the bed sheets where stained and riped . The bathroom walls where very stained and the glass of the shower was like if it hasn't been cleaned in ages . The room had a horrible smell . The air conditioner floaded the room because it's a cheap quality even if they "fixed it " it will still break every day . Floor was full of hair and dust even in the sink there was still hair from the previous guest which was very disgusting. The toilet not cleaned at all very stained . EVERYTHING Dirty ! It needs a renovation ASAP and a better Housekeeping team . The location is great but the rest it's very bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Beach access, unique pool and centrally located

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location, beach access, pool, design and the staff
Cons: Food offering at beach club
Location: Perfect location
Overall a very good experience. The design and amnesties where good and staff was excellent. The breakfast buffet was marginal as was the rest of the food offering but there are many restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance. There is free Wi-Fi too that worked throughout the property. The hotel is in a pedestrian zone, there is absolutely no parking. You can choose street parking or pay for private parking 2 blocks away. Not suitable for families with kids, pool is very deep and no play area available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Melbourne, AU

Brilliant hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
BEST location in playa! Surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars, nightlife and above all the best beach in the world! The direct beach access is well worth money for a 5th Ave hotel. Beach club is the best, service is exceptional and the food and cocktails are amazing. Hotel staff were outstanding, extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms a well appointed, although the square toilets are a little out there! Best holiday I've ever had, I will be back!
3 out of 5
by Leo from Mexico

big plus: beach access; big minus: room inter

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
Plus: location, beach access and Personnel service (quite friendly and helpful) Minus: room interiors (cheap and not well maintained) , safety (we got stolen a bag while at the beach beds), and performance/price ratio (too pricey for what you get)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the Beach

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Service and Location
Cons: Hotel Bathrooms and Hotel condition
Location: In the middle of 5th avenida and in the beach restaurants stores all walking distance
Hotel REALY NEED A HAND renew bath rooms and out side details & air condition systems