Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The food, the staff and the beach!
Cons: The rooms that are not updated to be painted or have better decoration.
Location: You can get a taxi or rent a car and go to some of the towns like Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Also the 5th Ave is great in playa del Carmen.
We had an awesome experience overall. Some rooms need to be updated, but there are room that are very nice! Service was great and the staff was very helpful for everything we needed. As a family we had a blast and we would like to go back one day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moldy and musty

Posted Apr 19, 2015
the pictures online for the Oasis Tulum are actually pictures of the Grand Oasis Tulum. Guests are duped with the pictures for the nicer Grande as the Oasis Tulum
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel has 2 parts: Oasis Tulum and Grand Oasis

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Staff very kind, cleanliness
Cons: Increase amount of staff, improve work flow during peak lunch and dinner, bar/reception area for Oasis guests to sit in that is not a restaurant
We have travelled to many resorts in Mexico and other countries, but this was by far the most disappointing. We booked on Expedia, being attracted by the nice modern design of the resort shown in many images. Upon arrival in the main lobby which in fact looked like in the Expedia images, we were advised that we had to check in in another lobby, which was in a much older part of the resort and hardly deserved the name. More than 80% of the images on Expedia were of the Grand Oasis Tulum, but guests of the Oasis Tulum were not even allowed to even have a drink or to use any of the Grand Oasis facilities. Guests of the Oasis Tulum were only able to eat in a few of the restaurants and bars of the resort. This led to inevitable overcrowding and waiting at peak meal times, made more annoying by the fact that there would be free tables in the reservations only restaurants. There was no "bar area" with seating available for Oasis guests. The beach are available resembled an overcrowded beach chair store, with barely an space to walk between chairs. Staff were friendly and kind, but sadly very understaffed. Everything seemed to be geared to reducing consumption. Some examples are the long wait for coffee, wine and water at the tables, never leaving towels for all the family members sharing a room (we had to go to the reception daily for enough towels as housekeeping never responded to requests).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We experienced all the cons listed by the previous reviewers. Problems with the hot water-check: We didn't have it at all for the first two days. After they "fixed" it, it ran for about 5 minutes, then you have to wait another 5 minutes, then it would run again for another 5 min. Seaweed: Some days more than others. Internet connection: My husband is an avid hockey fan and he bought the access 3 times for one day each. Every time it would freeze during the game which was incredibly frustrating. Huge population of Italians. Its not really a con, it's just that if you have small kids as we do, you should be aware that all of them smoke - men, women, anywhere they found themselves - the beach, the pool, hallways, breakfast table at the buffet. Also we had an unpleasant incident with an Italian guy. We sat next to him at the lounge chair and all of sudden he started to yell at us and I quote:" I don't know what country are you from, but in my country if I first sat on the chair you go and sit 5 meters from me over there." There was no reasoning with him and after that we've been afraid to stand or sit on an empty chairs next to somebody. Yes, this resort is cheaper then others, but the next time I would rather spend a little more money and not wonder how many minutes of hot water I have left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Food poisoning

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above.
Our two children: 6 and 8 year old got food poisoning. We had to leave the hotel after two night stay. Neither Expedia nor the hotel were able to reimburse us or find a different hotel. I will write to the Expedia management and the hotel corporate office about our situation separately. As far as the hotel amenities and staff, it is nothing like it was described on their page. There was only one restaurant to eat at, with no service at all. We had to wait to be served water for at least half hour and only after we kept asking for it. The hotel staff is unaccommodating as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burundi, Africa

Right on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2015
We didnt realize how far the hotel was from the airport and so the transportation costed a lot more. The hotel itself is good. Half of the staff doesnt speak English but they were still very welcoming and nice. Our room was pretty good but we heard other guests complain about a stench in their room, bad plumbing, broken tv and AC... Overall we were happy with our stay and the all-inclusive food and drinks were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect Hotel, Beach, Food and Service

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Loved the Location and size (not too big). Perfect for long beach walks in both directions.
Cons: We stayed in the Oasis Tulum standard rooms (no issues in our room). We do not know the condition of the other rooms.
Location: Tulum Ruins, Akumal Beach, Coba Ruins, Playa de Carmen
We Loved the quiet atmosphere within the Oasis Tulum Hotel. Everyone was courteous. The buffet was wonderful (large selection) fresh fruit. The servers were great, someone was always there to provide you drinks. The rooms were clean (great air conditioning) and the cleaning staff was very professional. Our room was a standard room garden view. The beach was beautiful, better than some of the other hotels (did not have sand bag wave stops) perfect for snorkeling (lots of fish). You could take long walks in either direction along the beach. The hotel is close to the Tulum ruins, Coba, Akumal and The Playa del Carmen - you could take a bike from the hotel to the main road and catch a local bus. We will be back and would recommend this hotel to all.
2 out of 5
by t

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

great trip for the price

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: rooms could be updated. Septic tank could be pumped more frequently.
Location: Lots of ruins close,turtle snorkeling close,shopping close.
Beach was great, staff excellent, room adequate. food and drinks acceptable.. Nice guests not overcrowded.
1 out of 5
by GeorgeKM

Never go to Oasis Tulum with kids!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Orbitz
Room - terrible, never been in a worse room. Smelled like mold, shower was not working, drawers fall apart if try to open, only one light was working, luckily I brought a flashlight! We also requested crib before arriving, it was noted in our reservation, also we called couple of days before arriving to confirm. The day we arrived we asked again for the crib and at the desk they said, "yes, no problemo" crib will be in the room soon. After 1h called again, same answer and so on 5 times until 10pm when they told us there is no crib for tonight! So we slept 4 of us in one bed in the smelly room. Next day after we spoke with managers and after waiting and arguing for hours they finally found a crib and moved us in a better room. So we lost the first 24h of our 9 days/3k vacation dealing with terrible s.... Another thing is there is no safety - the balcony and corridors have some loose ropes for "rails" that even adults can fall thorough - very dangerous for small kids! Also, no elevators so if you have a stroller and you are on the 3rd floor you are out of luck!! Now the "restaurants" - food was OK, nothing great but you can live - food is comparable to what you find on cheap 2-3 days Bahamas cruises. Very limited choice of fresh fruits, raw veggies were OK but looks like cut ours before serving. In the Mexican restaurant there were always small flies on the veggies! However, they have some serious trouble with high chairs, seems to me there was only one for the whole resort! So you need to wait sometimes 30 min for the high chair but you may or may not get it. They always say "yes, no problemo" but usually nothing happens!! Pools - extremely dirty! By the end of the day you can't see the bottom and dirt and debris floating on the surface! Beach - very limited beach chairs and umbrellas so if you are "late", let's say go to the beach after 7:30am you are out of luck. Our boy was awake by 6am so we were OK with getting spots on the beach. However, people were so desperate that once they even removed our towels and took our chairs!! The only good thing was the ocean and proximity to Akumal - we spend several days at Akumal beach, really nice for snorkeling and seeing sea turtles. Overall, will never go that that place again. Yes, it is cheaper than other resorts in the area but better pay few extra bucks than ruing your 3k vacation!!!