Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Best all inclusive resort

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The best thing about this resort is the staff. They were friendly, patient, willing to help and spoke perfect English.
Cons: None.
Location: The resort is kind of isolated. There isn't anything to do nearby.
Ocean Coral & Turquesa is one of the best all-inclusive resorts I have ever been to. This resort is huge. Though there were a ton of guests, the staff were always attentive and willing to help. They were very friendly and all of them spoke English. The restaurants in the resort are all great. Especially the one near the privilege pool is phenomenal. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Every room has a small balcony or patio. There was room service everyday. Wifi was fast and available in the entire resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Regular hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Big pools
Cons: service in restaurants
Very long wait at the restaurant. Very old SPA facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice Hotel close to airport and Porto Moralas.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Food choices. Clean rooms. Everything on the property was convenient.
Cons: They worked hard at cleaning up the seaweed, however, its an endless job.
Location: Porto Moralas was only 5 miles away. Nice shopping. All other activities on site.
Hotel is convenient to the airport only 20 to 30 minutes. Very nice property. Food options were very good. 7 restaurants plus the buffet. The buffet changed menu every night. That was very nice. Our stay was for 9 days. We never got bored with the food. Entertainment on the property was going on all day and each night. Also good. The beach had plenty of chairs and tiki huts and soft sand. During our time their the wind was strong for the first three days, making the water impossible to snorkel. Also the high winds caused the seaweed to roll up onto the beach. We like to walk for miles on the beach, however, because of the seaweed we were limited to the properties 1/2 mile of beach front. The 4 Pools were very nice and clean. The drinks were good. Location is only 5 miles to Porto Moralas. This is a nice shopping and eating area with the Mexican flair. I would rate this 4.5 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good meal in restaurants and nice location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Most of problems were in bathroom ( dirty curtain, bad condition of shower room) and room service ( every day cleaning room staff forgot to change something ( towels, mouth rinse and something else), bad water drain from sink
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Very nice hotel but Privilege definitely not worth

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, see above. Also, pools very close to all. Staff was great in helping our group celebrate my birthday. Can't say enough about that!
Cons: Should get more for Privilege or not offer it. Also, Chang Expedia rep at hotel.
Location: Great location. Close to airport and Puerto Morelos.
Great facilities, great beach, great food, and great staff except for a couple of servers and the Expedia representative who were very rude! I would definitely advise against paying for the Privilege package. Definitely not worth it! All in all a great experience(would give a 5 rating) except for the few mentioned above. Ordered the lobster dinner but server said we couldn't get even though we should have. Didn't want to cause a scene so did without. Again, it is a great facility!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good beach, mediocre services

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Hard working people, nice beach
Cons: Communication skills. Most of the personnel were very polite and helpful. Few interact like: Mucho tequila eh? You like it here eh? . Not to smart!!
Location: The resort is not directly accessible from town. You need a taxi to go anywhere. Trips can be arranged to Cancun, Playa del Carmen.....
It started with the check-in fiasco, the room was not prepared and the fridge stocked before we got in. By next day the room cleaning and stocking was fixed for the duration of our stay. There are a number of thematic restaurants available to the guests. It sounds ridiculous but the Mexican theme restaurant had the worst mexican food I ever had. Immagine a fajita brought to the table cold. Substandard and overpriced wines (with the waiter presenting the cork for the nose only it wasn't the cork, it was the cheap metal screw cap). Great effort was spent on decorations and the preparation of the new year dinner party and I have to commend the personnel for the extra work everybody did. The bar was a hit and miss with some bartenders being professional and welcoming but others trying to make some killing on the side. One of them requested strictly cash for the wine and then asking $40.00 corking fee to open a bottle we brought ourselves. The next shift barman was nice and helpfull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Most beautiful resorts

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Had an incredible vacation!! The resort is absolutely gorgeous!! Took the kids but barley felt them, they had so much fun at the kids club that didn't want to hang with us.. Food was above average, only wish they allowed food by the pool and had a snack bar 24/7 close by.. coffee shop was a bit disappointing: amazing coffee but sandwiches weren't fresh for some reason Over all I'll def go back there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Size and Variety for Families

Posted Jan 4, 2017
This hotel worked out great for our family of 5 because it catered to both teenagers and younger kids. It was the perfect size so that getting to the beach and the restaurants was a reasonable walk. It also provided enough variety of high quality food, restaurants and activities. It is undergoing much needed renovations as the rooms are a bit tired. It could also use improvement in coordination between hotel marketing and staff since the ground staff knew nothing of advertised events.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A Beautiful Resort. Food and service not so good.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Me: I've stayed in 4 resorts in the area. I speak Spanish and love Mexico and its people. Stayed over Xmas and New Years. Pros: The resort is small, very beautiful and right on the ocean. Incredibly soft sand. Plenty of umbrellas. Ocean was warm and perfect for ocean swimming. 2 Decent medium large pools (one with large swim up bar) and an excellent kids pool with its own bar and food in a quiet area, with kids club for 4 and over. Cons: the food was well below what we've seen anywhere else. It was often hard to find something you wanted to eat. And I am not a picky eater. Staff morale seemed pretty low. Some individual staff were very good, while many were checked out or even negative. The staff in the buffet was especially bad. I had two unusually bad experiences at the resort, one with a maintenance guy I had nothing to do with, who was probably drunk and decided to mock my Spanish. And another with a very shady guest services guy who was clearly lying to me and trying to shake me down for money. I don't know. Are they all angry about Trump? Anyway, the poor level of service in this beautiful resort is a real defect, clearly a failure of management and well below what you find in other resorts. On a couple days the beach was littered throughout the day with the plastic that washes up on the beach. I'm sympathetic, but a beach resort really needs to be removing it. I've never seen any plastic on any other resort beach in Mexico. Here it was often voluminous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Great family vacation. Staff were very nice. The food was very good.