Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: 4 pools to meet everyone's needs. Fun activities Close amenities
Location: 30 minutes from Airport Crocodile Zoo at end of the road
Excellent beach space Kayaks available for ocean travel Snorkeling experience at resort for easy transport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, Michigan

Fun and Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I'm not sure why there's so many negative reviews for this hotel. The hotel is beautiful, our room was exactly as shown in the picture, and the staff was amazing! Our group included 5 of us and everyone said they'd go back. I personally would never get the privilege package unless you are trying to get some peace and quiet on your trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Service

Posted Feb 11, 2017
As a privilege member I would have expected better. The hotel was hesitant to fill the alcohol in my mini bar, I asked for shampoo from staff and never got any, I was told I had a butler but never seen him. Other then the service the hotel was clean and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, Mn

Beautiful Beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed our time. The room was nice, the staff was mostly nice (we loved Gustavo and Beatriz at the kiddie pool-we had no children with us, but they were fun and kind) and the beach was completely gorgeous! The only letdown was the food and that they only had 2 beer choices. I would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Everyone is very friendly.
Cons: Should be a policy for the beach in terms of reserving huts because some people dump their towels on a bed early in the morning and never show up.
Location: chichen itza
Great stay. The food got better throughout the week. Fun activities throughout. I just wish some of the night time shows started a little earlier, especially Lion King. We would have loved for our 2 year-old daughter to watch, but the 9:30 start time was a little late.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice resort close to Cancun airport

Posted Feb 4, 2017
My girlfriends & I had a nice trip to Ocean Coral. Our room in the Privilege Section (Building 7) was very nice. If we were not in this section I think we would have been disappointed. The "queen" beds were very small - they were a full. They also were not that comfortable. Our room was spacious enough for 4 girls to get ready in though. The food wasn't the greatest. The best food we had was at the Italian & the Crape Restaurant. Service was excellent most of the time but there were some rude/grumpy employees which really took the fun out of the trip. Don't go to this resort for the beach as the pools are much better. Night life here is also non-existent. If you want to party go to Coco Bongo. Oscar at the resort mentioned this place to us. Oscar was great, go see him (he's in the neon yellow shirt at the pool with the bar). Coco Bongo is a night club in Playa Del Carmen. It was worth every penny. We had the best time. Shuttle picked us up at 8:40 pm, and dropped us back off at 3:30 am. We felt very safe going there and our driver was excellent. Also, do the foam party on Wednesday afternoon. Its really fun! The resort could better communicate restaurant menus/closures and advise people to put their names in early so your not waiting around for hours to eat. They also should have some snacks available instead of just always sitting down to eat.. sometimes you just want something quick to munch on. Otherwise, everything was great. 3/5 stars but I don't think Ill be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great place. We will be back!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, the grounds pristine and the staff was fantastic.
Cons: Wine selection.
Location: We stayed on property with exception of a catamaran/snorkeling excursion which one our travel companions have used in the past.
We had a fabulous time from the moment we checked in. From Luis our butler, to Gabriela our beach girl, Carlos, Angel, Mario, Jimmy, Juan, Ricardo and all the staff at the Privilege Bar/Restaurant you guys were fantastic. The food was excellent and if you did not like something the staff made it right. We did not eat at any of the buffets so I cannot critique the food there. Lunch at The Creperie was very good. The grounds were pristine and there was a wide variety of activities to choose from. The daily entertainment at the main pool was very entertaining and the nightly entertainment from the bands to the DJ were great. Our room was always cleaned properly and the turn down service was a nice touch.The beach was very nice and the staff did their best to keep the seaweed clear which is obviously an ongoing battle and to be fair out of their control. We recommend going the Privileged route. The food and service at the Privilege Restaurant was fantastic and we had premium liquor throughout the complex. We also made all dinner reservations with our butler and the various restaurants instead of lining up around 10:00 AM with numerous other people for an hour to make reservations. Anything we wanted Luis was there to make our stay fantastic. Also, purchase the transportation at the time of booking instead of doing on your own. The trip to and from the airport were safe and uneventful. Great times and we will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

January trek

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Privilege Beach, Privilege Lounge, availability of reservations @ a la carte restaurants
Cons: Availability of more outlets in the rooms as well as charging stations for the iphone or similar. Lights working checked before check in.
Location: Location 15 min by private transport from airport. Perfect!
Perfectly situated room on first floor of Privilege Section. Well worth the upgrade! Efficient housekeeping services with the room ready early afternoon. sometimes late morning. Only problem was charging phone as limited plugs in room. Butler, Lius, readily available to take care of any problem that should arise. Veronica, our beach concierge, was the best we have had in our travels to Riviera Maya resorts-15 total-over the last 12 years. All of the people with whom we were in contact during our week's stay were exceptional!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Beautiful resort and great service. We stayed in the privilege area, it was well worth the little extra. The service was fantastic. Having a butler for the week was such a luxury. He made dinner reservations and basically took care of everything we needed. The resort was very well maintained and the food was delicious. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Best all inclusive resort

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The best thing about this resort is the staff. They were friendly, patient, willing to help and spoke perfect English.
Cons: None.
Location: The resort is kind of isolated. There isn't anything to do nearby.
Ocean Coral & Turquesa is one of the best all-inclusive resorts I have ever been to. This resort is huge. Though there were a ton of guests, the staff were always attentive and willing to help. They were very friendly and all of them spoke English. The restaurants in the resort are all great. Especially the one near the privilege pool is phenomenal. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Every room has a small balcony or patio. There was room service everyday. Wifi was fast and available in the entire resort.