Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were excellent
Location: Rio secreto, Chichentiza
Enjoyed the food, evening shows, the fun activities and he pool/beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

This is 3 stars hotel at most.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Overall, OK hotel. The facility is worn and it hasn't been updated recently. Drinks at the bars are OK at most. Food is also OK. We decided to do their Privilege upgrade, but except for the beach access and free internet, I don't think it's worthy it. Overall, if the price is right, we would comeback, but not for what we have paid for this trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Recent stay at Ocean Maya Royale

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff and very nice grounds.
Cons: No A/C in the main buffet area is a problem. Aggressive travel club presentation, don't sign up for it. If you don't buy it they get very rude!
Very nice resort at affordable price. Pros: Room very clean and the best A/C system ( we have been to Playa del Carmen 12 times over the years). La Dolce Vita restaurant is the best, perfect for romantic dinner. Ocean view, delicious food and great staff. Overall definitely worth returning. Cons: DO NOT sign up for travel club presentation, its not just 1 hour. It takes total of 4 hours and if you don't buy the program , they get extremely rude! Lack of A/C in the main buffet area is a problem, hard to stay long enough to finish your meal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Best resort I could have asked for!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: It was so warm, friendly, and inviting!! We loved everything about the hotel!
Cons: There is nothing I can think of that needs to be improved because everything was amazing!
Location: There were many excursions to go on but we did not go on any because we were plenty busy with all the activities on the resort.
Our experience at your hotel exceeded all of our expectations. We knew after booking our vacation it was going to a wonderful and exciting but your hotel went above and beyond everything we expected. The restaurants were amazing and so delicious, the waiters and waitresses were outstanding, and the atmosphere was so calming and relaxing. We also loved all of the entertainment, games, and activities that were provided. Our room was amazing and made us feel right at home. Everyone that we came in contact with that was employed with your hotel was so friendly and amazing! The shows each night were extraordinary. We loved our stay at your resort and will be recommending it to everyone!!!!! You guys have an amazing resort! Thank you so much!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply awesome

Posted Aug 19, 2016
This is one of the best stays I've had in a beach resort. 1. From the front desk to housekeeping to the activities staff, they made a genuine effort to keep us happy and engaged. At some hotels, you see the staff on the side grumbling or unhappy with something. Here, everyone was genuinely happy--getting along with other staff members. This made a difference in that no one seemed two-faced about their hospitality. 2. Beautiful area. Refreshing. Great photo opps and scenes throughout. 3. Bartenders were pleasant and fun to joke around with. Especially when you request stronger drinks (on top of the standing open bar) 4. Travel agents from your respective companies (if you have one) are available in the lobby to hook you up with great tour packages. 5. This is not a time-share scene and environment!! We didn't have to worry about that. 6. The food was great.. in ALL of the restaurants. Just wow
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The resort was great. The staff was extra friendly they made you feel at home. I would definitely stay at this resort again. The only thing I didn't like about this resort is that they can be pretty pushy trying to get you to attend their time share presentation. When I checked in I got offered to attend a presentation I said no and after I said no the person that was checking me in insisted I attend anyway. It was pretty annoying but other than that I had a great time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice and elegant hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Hotel was beautiful. Grounds were kept very nice. We participated in the timeshare presentation and received $100 Hotel credit and used it for souvenirs in gift shop. Hot water in shower broke and they fixed it same day. Food was tasty, drinks were plentiful and staff was friendly. Loved our lobby bartender, Tiger! The Lagoon was a bit further than I had anticipated. Humid, sweaty walk.. Very pretty though & cool water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The hotel is very up to date and clean. Very good location, right on the beach and close to the airport. Great staff! They are very helpful and friendly. The only thing I can think of that was not perfect was the cleaning staff, they took forever to get around to cleaning our rooms and I was in the honeymoon suite. Never the less I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will defiantly be staying there again! Great atmosphere and its adult only so you can relax with no kids running around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from celaya, guanajuato, mexico

Excelente hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
La atención por parte de todo el personal del hotel fue excelente, comida, instalaciones, todo nos encantó, fuimos de luna de miel y esperamos regresar el siguiente año.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful resort

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Very nice hotel with a wonderful staff! Our rooms were spacious and clean with a view of the ocean. There was something to do everyday and the food was awesome. The only downfall is that there isn't anything to do at night. My group took a cab to the local nightclubs and bars that were in the area. Other than that it was a wonderful trip.