Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmhurst, IL

Not even close to a 4 star hotel!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
1) This is not even a 4star hotel based on U.S. standards. 2) You have to ask 3 persons to obtain 1 thing. 3) Everything is cheap and beat up. 4) They try hard to make it look expensive but if you pay attention is Not. 5) The water/ocean is full of seaweed (looks dirty ) and with rocks in it. The water in the pool is cold and they don't have a main jacuzzi by the pool. Only individual jacuzzi (more like a bathtub ) in front of the room. 6) The food and variety is good and also the bed is fairly comfortable. We travel a lot and we stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels and resorts but this is NOT one them. Footnote - unless you get a very, very good deal DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Everything was great. The best resort I have been too! The only minor thing is they try to upsell you to death. my advice is to just be assertive at the first attempt & then they'll leave you alone , but if you show the slightest bit of interest they will not let up. Had to get a bit mad when they called our room & woke us up after I told them we are not interested & to please stop bothering us they did, but I would definitely go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel is very clean, relaxing, lots of amenities

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: I would just repeat what the previous question asked. There wasn't really anything to complain about. Very nice hotel.
Cons: Maybe a heads up when someone would be coming to turn down your room. There were times we left things out that we would have rather had locked up.
Location: Location was good: maybe a bit far from things to do other than the shopping because transpertation was not cheap. That's the tradeoff I guess.
This was our first trip to Mexico. Very nice hotel, staff is amazing and hosptiable! They were very helpful with any question we had and very knowledgable. The atmosphere was very soothing, relaxing with a breath of fresh air. There is truely something for everyone here wether you wanted to take in the entertainmnet in the evening or just sit in a quiet place and relax. Restaurants were very good with a very accomodating staff. We did not encounter one grumpy staff member at this hotel; this day and time that is unheard of. Kudos to you for providing and excellent staff across the board!! We will be returning and took advantage of the opportunity of becoming a Club Melia member! I think that speaks volumes for your hotel!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Experience. We'll go back!!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Restaurants, Service, Kids Club, Shows, Pool with the boat.
Cons: The pool with the boat should be heated. More activities for small kids.
Location: The location is ok. You have mall near by, some parks , the Mayas ruins (amazing) and is just 40 minutes from Cancun airport.
The hotel is great for families. The kids and us had an amazing time there. The restaurants, the pools, te beach... everything was great. If I have to say something that should improve should be the kids pool with the boat. The water should be heated because when is not sunny the water is too cold for the kids. Also the water on beach was full of plants and stones but the beach was nice in general and the service there was also great. The shows in the hotel are just AMAZING!!! Congratulation to the entertainment team that every night was so fun thanks to all of them. One show was better than the other and the kids where waiting every day the time show!! Even if we are not the kind of family that likes this things... We loved it!! The kids club is great. Not very flexible for some things but nice since you can leave there kids older 12 months. They should have more activities for small kids. For bigger kids (more than 4) is very nice. The restaurants are great!! Specially the Mexican one Mole and of course Pasion by Martin Berasategui (7 stars michelin). It was the best culinary experience I have ever had!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The resort was very nice overall, especially the food and the swim-up rooms. Access to the beach was a little cumbersome compared to some of the other resorts I've been to in the area. The one major disappointment was the amount of construction, painting, etc. they were doing right near our room. It stunk up the entire corridor and eventually had our room smelling as well. The smell made my dad sick, as he had been napping in the room, and he ended up vomiting. The hotel staff did give us a new room, but we had to wait 3 hours for it, and they did not seem very apologetic that one of their guests had gotten so sick due to the maintenance of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Incredible hotel near beach

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, food, pool, room, pretty much everything. Spa was great too. I would highly recommend this hotel for families.
Cons: Not sure you can improve this, but the area 10 to 15ft into the ocean is very rocky. Like big, painful rocks. Swim somewhere else.
Location: Location is isolated, but hotel offers everything you need. Only 5 minutes from Playa 5th Avenue. Tours will pick you up at the lobby.
Hotel was amazing. Staff was amazing. Food was amazing. Beach was so so. Too many rocks about 10ft into the water. That is my only complaint. Carlos from the Sunrise Grill and then the Mole later in the week really took care of us. Hotel Manager for La Esmeralda is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. Food is fantastic. Ramon, our guide was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Family Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Great Staff, Evening Shows were great for the entire family
Cons: Better Reservation systems for the Restaurants
Great Family Hotel... Had a great time with the family between Christmas and New Years... Kid's spent a lot of time on the pool, Beach directly on the resort has a lot of sea weed, but there is a nice public beach that is adjacent and it had clear blue waters. Also the Public Beach has a lagoon area for the little ones to play... Food was great all around and overall it is a great vacation resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Virginia

Awesome family destination

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Very family oriented.
Cons: beds retained too much body heat.
Location: We didn't leave the resort so don't know about anything off the resort.
We had a great time. My oldest son is 14 so he is at that awkward age but he still found excitement in the beach volleyball and ping pong. My youngest son is 10 and he had blast playing on the floating obstacle course along with the endless cheese sticks and ping pong. The resort is separated into three "sections" that we didn't know what to think of at first but ended up appreciating. Our only minor complaint is that the beds seemed to retain a lot of body heat so we woke up every morning in sweat. The beds were very comfortable so I am guessing they are memory foam. Overall we had an excellent time and definitely recommend this resort for a family trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Great place, family friendly!! Restaurants are very good, especially the Japanese, Italian, and Mediterranean food places. Make reservations beforehand. Overall great vacation!