Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: there is kids club where my kid enjoyed couple of times,
Cons: better service, cold beer!
Location: i didn't go around at this time. it is an hour south of the Cancun airport. Paid for round trip with Shuttle service.
relatively new facility, it is large and you spent too much time for basic activities; meals, waiting on lines, not enough pool shades. Stuff is over busy! so do NOT expect any friendly, personal touch. Although I did not experienced anything negative. None of the 10+ restaurants and bars serve cold beer! do NOT expect ice-cold beer! if you like hard alcohol, yes they are included but no premium ones.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Modern, perfect for families and great restaurants as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great all inclusive with great customer service

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Food was beyond expected. Service in general was really good and the staff was always around making sure everything was perfect.
We had a wonderful time at Paradisus. Everything exceeded expectations. My 5yo daughter love staying at the kids club. The kids pool was great for them. The beach was about a 4 min walk but it was great, with few stones and calm for the kids. Food service at the pool was exceptional and the food in general was above expectations. Only problem with had during our entire stay was in regards to our restaurant reservations, which keep being reserved for times we didn't want (after 8pm for dinner with the kids and 6:30 for an adult only dinner). We talked to Juan Carlos who was very rude about it, but then we talked to one of the customer service managers and she made everything perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
The service was great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Test Run Fail

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Rooms were the best part of the stay
Cons: Improve staff interactions with guests. Replace the rotten fencing around the resort instead of wrapping it with caution tape.
We were going to make sure we would like the resort before all of our family went there in Jan. We would've been age range of 5 years old to 60 years old. We upgrade to the butler service, which was a waste. We seen the Butler twice during our 5 day stay. The beach is horrible and has no bathrooms, so you would need to go back to your room. We smelled a horrible sewage smell at the beach - I would not go into the water. The staff at the family beach was the worse I have encountered. I was looking forward to this stay - we love the Melia in Punta Cana (Which was the reason we decided on the Paradisus) I can only say this stay sold us on going back to the Level at Melia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Our Mexico experience

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The service, the design, the atmosphere and the food.
Cons: Life guards were NOT present at any time! This has to change. Inside the room, a built in small stool would be appreciated.
Location: Excellent view on the beach, with MANY adventures parks in the near area as well as historical places to visit.
Our experience was truly exceptional to the very last detail. Our only reservation is that on the very last night (4/30/16), the fire alarm went off on our floor (outside in the hallway) multiple times, waking us up and not allowing us to get a good night sleep which was so necessary before we departed on a 15-hour trip home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, new york

Wonderful stay at La Esmeralda

Posted May 2, 2016
The staff were top notch. They went the extra mile to make you feel at home. Diego at the Market, Jorge and Reyes at the beach were excellent. The beach was well kept and clean. The only area for improvement that I would point out is hat the pool needs more chlorine as my husband and I got ear infections after a day at the pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Amazing experience from the minute we walked in. The food for an all-inclusive was better than expected. We really had a great time, I've read reviews about the lack of pool side chairs but we didn't find this to be an issue whatsoever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

swim up pool is worth paying extra

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect because it is not too far from the airport. It very clean, the food is good and the staff is amazing.
Cons: Provide more access to the beach or a separate area for weddings and a wave pool. Build bathrooms closer the the beach and keep the bars open later.
Location: Location is great, not too far from airport. Definitely visit Tulum and go snorkeling in Cozumel
The entire resort experience was wonderful, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is exceptional. We paid extra for a swim up suite and it was well worth the extra cost. This resort caters mostly to families with small children (la esmeralda) or adults only (la perla), so if you have children between the age of 8-18, there is not a lot of options for them to do, other than the pool or beach. We have a 10 year old, so we were very happy to have our swim up pool suite. We found that the food at this resort is far better than other resorts that we've stayed at in Riviera Maya and Cancun. Our favorites were Mole and The Market. Bana Hibachi was good and we did not try Vento or any of the "adults only" restaurants, but heard they were pretty good too. The buffet and the Grill were perfect for lunch. The staff members who we thought were exceptional are the following : Ivan, Karla, Ramone and Jose, but everyone was wonderful and I wish we could remember the staff's names at the beach because he (G) was pretty awesome too. The only reason why I am not giving the resort a 5 star rating is because there are no bathrooms at the beach and there are only 3 access points to the beach, so when there are weddings you cannot walk down or back from the beach. Also, they should also keep the pool and beach bars open until 6pm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Amazing hotel! Great staff and facilities. Best vacation