Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wish there were more activities

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Housekeeping.
Cons: More activities. Beach equipment not available.
More activities would have been nice and more music. Bar open outside at night would have been nice.c
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family concierge

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Recommend the family concierge, great service. If 4 people I recommend the 1 bedroom suite or above. The junior suite is too small to fit 4 people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice resort

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The resort overall is excellent- best food of all inclusive we have been to so far. Restaurants are big and spacious as well. You can contact the resort ahead of your stay and book your restaurants for the first 3 nights. Mole was our favorite, but all of them are good. Naos serves Caribbean food on Fridays and they have grilled lobster- fantastic choice! By the way, we didn't do family concierge and don't feel like we missed on anything the resort has to offer. Making reservations on site is very easy and convenient. The pools are ok, not so many but never felt too crowded. The kids pool was the main attraction and our kids liked it as well. The kids club has many activities. We never left the kids there by themselves but they enjoyed playing with blocks and toys in the club. Face painting was their favorite and the ladies doing it are very good. Service overall was good-could be improved around the side pools but overall great job by the hotel staff. The two worst things about the resort are: the beach and the club Melia promotions. The ocean is awful right where the resort's beach is - it's very muddy and rocky. Sand is ok but water is very dirty. Or you can take your towel and try to find a spot a little bit away from the hotel where the water was more clear and beautiful. The club Melia promotion- I told the concierge checking us in that we are not interested. Then I had at least 3 others ask me why am I not interested and trying to push me into it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice resort close to playa del carmen

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Wonderful family friendly resort. Swim up master suite is perfect if you have kids that like to swim alot. Food is above avg except breakfast buffet. A.C. turns off in the middle of the night? Lots of nice relaxing sitting areas throughout. Beach is fair but expected from previous reviews. Overall great vacation and would recommend to friends. Thanks Paradiscus!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Far from a 4 star hotel or experience

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Average hotel that provided a really poor experience for us. I spent many hours across several days with maintenance and the front desk working to resolve issues. It was anything but a relaxing trip. 1. We arrived to a room with no running water water. That should have been my first clue. They put us in the section of the hotel that was under construction and the water was turned off. Someone from maintainace turned water on for us but failed to mention they were renovating the rooms on that floor. If I would have known I would have asked to be relocated to another floor or building. 2. The next day it started to rain in our kitchen from the ceiling. 3. That evening I walked into a room that was overcome by an intense toxic smell. They were renovating the rooms adjacent to us. The fumes from the varnish and paint filled our room via the air conditioning ducts. The smell was so strong that I was getting physically sick. To make things worse they didn't want to move us (2 small kids) to another room and were insisting there were no rooms available because they were fully booked. After arguing with them for some time they "miraculously" found a room. 4. It took 40mins to check out because their system to apply hotel charges to guest accounts is manual. We almost missed our flight and the driver wanted to leave us there because he was tired of waiting. They only found a way to close out the account after I stated getting upset with them 30+ minutes into the checkout process.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago,il

Family vacation

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel was great very clean, food was good. Make sure to book your reservations for dinner before you arrive to the hotel. When we arrived we couldn't get reservations for 2 days out because they were booked which doesn't make sense to me since they advertise that they have a ton of restaurants, we had to ask a manager to fit us in which he did thankfully. Our swim up room was awesome to be able to swim right outside our room, wish the pools didn't close at 7 though. The kids zone is awesome no charge for them to watch your kids do fun activities with them. The hotel had awesome shows every night!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Best Vacation EVER!!!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The service and attitude of all employees is what set this hotel apart from others.
Cons: Leave the buffet open later even if it is the same food served at dinner.
Location: We stayed on the property the entire time.
This was the first time we have visited an all inclusive resort and we were blown away. We had a hard time believing that all resorts were even close to the level of Paradisus simply based on their customer service. EVERYONE had an amazing attitude and went above and beyond. When there were a few problems with our room, Alfredo Abundio made sure we were taken care of without hesitation. He took it upon himself to make sure all of needs were not only met but exceeded. His actions played a huge part in making this the best trip ever. As mentioned before, the service we received throughout the resort was impeccable. All servers were amazing but the one who stood out the most was Carlos who was a server on the beach. We never got his last name but he is someone we are going to be talking about for years to come. He was so attentive to us that we made sure to seek him out each day so that we could enjoy his stellar service. By the end of the trip we considered him a friend and will sorely miss him.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

great hotel and food

Posted May 28, 2017
But the beach had quite a bit of seaweed. The only downside. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic and great variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best Hotel for Families

Posted May 26, 2017
Second time we've stayed at Paradisus Esmeralda. The whole family had a great time. Lots of activities for the little ones. The food is amazing. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Paradisus truly is a paradise!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: friendly and helpful !
Cons: A surprise time share sale rep the next day just to get a $100 spending cash from the hotel. I wish they could have been more up front about it.
Location: close to Tulum!
Excellent service! Friendly service very family oriented. All staff are friendly.