Ratings based on 920 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall the Resort is really nice and very clean

Posted May 21, 2017
They missed up with our reservations the rooms that we blocked were not available anymore so they apologize and upgraded to a better room!!! Then the check in time also was delayed to 5:00 pm instead of 3:00 pm but they offered a credit towards our stay Overall I would recommend this Resort because we had a great time and it was spatious but close to every activities on the Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Wonderful resort!

Posted May 21, 2017
The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff is always kind. Our room was beyond what we imagined and some of the food we thought was even better than at home (ex- Brazilian steakhouse was delicious!). The water is filtered 4 times and we had no issues. My only complaint would be the beach. Although it's pretty, there's lots of seaweed. The staff worked hard to remove it each day which was greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meridian, ID

Nice hotel but resort credit is a scam

Posted May 19, 2017
Shows $550 resort credit when booking. When you arrive it is a coupon book. We were able to use zero of the book. Only good for expensive items like $90 bottles of wine. Totally misleading and unacceptable. Resort was beautiful, pool was great except pool bar and grill closed at 6pm. Ordered mini bar refresh for a few items. Never showed up. Called again after 11pm and the said service wasn't available after 11. Said only room service was available. Of course room service was an extra fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not really Paradise at Paradisus

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Food and Staff
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The food and staff were excellent. Our only disappointment was with our room reservation. We booked an adult only room but were surprised when we arrive that they did not have any rooms left for us to check into and they had to move us to the family side of the resort. It was a bit of an inconvenience but it did not ruin our trip and we made the best of it. The beach wasn't as nice as I'd hoped it would be. A little rocky and lots of seaweed. Overall, I would give this resort an 8 out 10.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Restaurants, specially the "Rodizio".
Cons: Communication between staff. The transportation company we used: "Local Expert" by Expedia - we were very disappointed, They were not on time.
Location: Again, the beach is horrible. Otherwise is located in a good location to do other activities.
If you are looking for a sandy beach, this is not. It is rocky and not a god beach at all. Be aware of the bait and switch attend by the front desk staff when you first check-in. We booked and prepaid our reservation in January 2017 for a Junior Suite at La Perla which is the adult side of the complex. At the time of check-in, the front desk staff came with the excuse that the room we booked was not longer available and that we needed to stay al "La Esmeralda" which is the kids side of the complex. We first resisted and stood firm on our resolution to stay at "La Perla". When the front desk staff saw that we were not going to be easy to change our minds, they offer a free upgrade to a master suite; we still indicated "no". Then another front desk staff offer a free stay similar to the same reservation we made good for a year. Reluctantly, we finally accepted since we were tired. However, in retrospect, we should stay at "La Perla". Our room at La Esmeralda was too far from the adult pool and from some of the restaurants. To put the icing on the cake, the staff at the hotel were very persuasive in us listening to a two hours sales pitch for "Club Melia". This is the last thing we have in our mind; we went there to rest; that is what vacation is all about. The same scenario took place for our daughter and her fiancé who travel with us an also got a separate room at "La Perla" and for our son and friend who check-in the next day. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, NY

Very relaxing

Posted May 16, 2017
Beautiful, clean, amazing food and service! Did not like the constant hassle for a "presentation" for time share. Our spa associate finally stopped after two days of asking. Beach is very beautiful but, the ocean was very rocky, had a ton of seaweed and was brown not the beautiful blue green as we expected. This is our second time in this area and the ocean was the same. Would not recommend this part of Mexico if you're looking for crystal water. Loved this resort❣
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy honeymooners

Posted May 14, 2017
Franklin fuego M bar Pool bar Alfonso Joaquin Maricela house keeper My husband and I chose paradisus for our honeymoon simply based on all of the amazing reviews it has received. I have to say, the reviews don't do it justice and the staff, food and resort in general beyond exceeded our expectations. We had booked a junior swim up suite and while waiting to check in, we were telling another couple that we were on our honeymoon. A staff member overheard, congratulated us and the next thing we knew, we were upgraded to a master swim up suite which was double the size of the room we booked. We were greeted by a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. One of the nights we came back after dinner, there was a beautiful bath set up with rose petals and a card thanking us for choosing Paradisus for our romantic getaway. All of this after VERY briefly mentioning our honeymoon to someone in line. The staff doesn't miss a thing. Every morning when we walked around the resort, ponds and pools were being scrubbed, floors were being mopped and decorations were being wiped down.Maricela was our housekeeper the entire week and she did an incredible job. Not only was everything restocked and the bed was made but shoes were lined up and put away, clothes were folded, our vanity was organized, our outdoor jacuzzi was scrubbed. Maricela didn't do a quick job, she took her time each day and didn't miss a thing the entire week. Our room was directly across from the pool bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful hotel, disillusioned by immediate sales

Posted May 10, 2017
We really loved our stay at Paradisus, with the exception of the immediate sales pitch we fell prey to. The whole experience left a bad taste in our mouths and many other people we met had the same feelings. After 10 hours of travel, we finally got to Paradisus and were told that our room wasn't quite ready so our "personal concierge" would get us set up with dinner reservations while we wait. We met with him, and we're immediately told about a special breakfast the resort had planned for us the following morning. I knew right away that this was the timeshare pitch, so I said that we weren't interested and just wanted to make our dinner reservations. This turned into a 30 minute conversation about why we should go to the presentation. After finally walking away, we learned that this guy doesn't even make reservations, he merely walks you to the desk that does after his pitch. It was obnoxious. Beyond that, everything else was great. Food is amazing, the amenities are clean and beautiful. We loved being able to go between adults only and family friendly areas. And the evening shows are great. Highly recommend, just don't fall for the "personal concierge" pitch unless you want to give up 90 minutes of your day to watch a timeshare presentation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA, USA

very luxurious hotel, absolutely recommend it!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: the staff was fantastic
Cons: recommend for live bands to be stay longer than 1030, La Perla is all adults after all! It finishes early @ 1030, then nothing to do, DJ wasn't loud.
Location: Great location
overall fantastic service. staff is very pleasant and helpful, great food. awesome music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing time at Paradisus LP

Posted May 4, 2017
Just got back from a 7 night stay at La Perla. Have to say it's the best all inclusive resort I have ever stayed at. The food was amazing, the staff are very accommodating and the facilities are immaculate! Make sure to stay at Royal Service if not bringing the kids, it's worth the extra fee.