Ratings based on 924 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

excellent resort

Posted May 29, 2017
The room was very clean, the staff was attentive, and the food was fantastic. The all inclusive restaurants were extremely nice. This is a couples resort and it really does well with making you feel comfortable. I'd go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DMV

Disappointed

Posted May 29, 2017
The beach had so much seaweed and rocks that we were unable to get in the water. The hotel facilities are nice. Staff is nice. Very limited on entertainment. Overall, we prefer the carribean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location by the beach

Posted May 27, 2017
Everyone is extremely friendly and helps immediately!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

Swim up rooms are the only way to go!

Posted May 25, 2017
We booked a King Jr stuite. Upon arrival we found that our room type wasn't available so they ask us to walk around and have a drink and some lunch. We were an hour early so no problem, they gave us our full access bracelets and sent us on our way. We cam back after lunch and a few frozen drinks to find that our room wasn't available at all today. So they upgraded up for free to the Jr swim up suite, but it was only a double queen. They offered to push beds together and such but the way the rooms are layer out it wasn't possible. We decided to just live with it and it worked out perfect. We were able to sleep together in one bed but during the day take naps in both beds to not bother each other as we woke at different times from day naps. Walking out your patio into the pool is the only way to go!!! We never left the patio/pool area all day long. Service in the "ring" pool was just as good as the main pool! Food was excellent and tons of choices!! No more crappy all enclusive foods I've been use to! So bring a nice set of clothes for the adults only restaurants, including only 1 of 2 five star rated Michelin restaurants in the world!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall the Resort is really nice and very clean

Posted May 21, 2017
They missed up with our reservations the rooms that we blocked were not available anymore so they apologize and upgraded to a better room!!! Then the check in time also was delayed to 5:00 pm instead of 3:00 pm but they offered a credit towards our stay Overall I would recommend this Resort because we had a great time and it was spatious but close to every activities on the Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Wonderful resort!

Posted May 21, 2017
The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff is always kind. Our room was beyond what we imagined and some of the food we thought was even better than at home (ex- Brazilian steakhouse was delicious!). The water is filtered 4 times and we had no issues. My only complaint would be the beach. Although it's pretty, there's lots of seaweed. The staff worked hard to remove it each day which was greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meridian, ID

Nice hotel but resort credit is a scam

Posted May 19, 2017
Shows $550 resort credit when booking. When you arrive it is a coupon book. We were able to use zero of the book. Only good for expensive items like $90 bottles of wine. Totally misleading and unacceptable. Resort was beautiful, pool was great except pool bar and grill closed at 6pm. Ordered mini bar refresh for a few items. Never showed up. Called again after 11pm and the said service wasn't available after 11. Said only room service was available. Of course room service was an extra fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not really Paradise at Paradisus

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Food and Staff
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The food and staff were excellent. Our only disappointment was with our room reservation. We booked an adult only room but were surprised when we arrive that they did not have any rooms left for us to check into and they had to move us to the family side of the resort. It was a bit of an inconvenience but it did not ruin our trip and we made the best of it. The beach wasn't as nice as I'd hoped it would be. A little rocky and lots of seaweed. Overall, I would give this resort an 8 out 10.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Restaurants, specially the "Rodizio".
Cons: Communication between staff. The transportation company we used: "Local Expert" by Expedia - we were very disappointed, They were not on time.
Location: Again, the beach is horrible. Otherwise is located in a good location to do other activities.
If you are looking for a sandy beach, this is not. It is rocky and not a god beach at all. Be aware of the bait and switch attend by the front desk staff when you first check-in. We booked and prepaid our reservation in January 2017 for a Junior Suite at La Perla which is the adult side of the complex. At the time of check-in, the front desk staff came with the excuse that the room we booked was not longer available and that we needed to stay al "La Esmeralda" which is the kids side of the complex. We first resisted and stood firm on our resolution to stay at "La Perla". When the front desk staff saw that we were not going to be easy to change our minds, they offer a free upgrade to a master suite; we still indicated "no". Then another front desk staff offer a free stay similar to the same reservation we made good for a year. Reluctantly, we finally accepted since we were tired. However, in retrospect, we should stay at "La Perla". Our room at La Esmeralda was too far from the adult pool and from some of the restaurants. To put the icing on the cake, the staff at the hotel were very persuasive in us listening to a two hours sales pitch for "Club Melia". This is the last thing we have in our mind; we went there to rest; that is what vacation is all about. The same scenario took place for our daughter and her fiancé who travel with us an also got a separate room at "La Perla" and for our son and friend who check-in the next day. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, NY

Very relaxing

Posted May 16, 2017
Beautiful, clean, amazing food and service! Did not like the constant hassle for a "presentation" for time share. Our spa associate finally stopped after two days of asking. Beach is very beautiful but, the ocean was very rocky, had a ton of seaweed and was brown not the beautiful blue green as we expected. This is our second time in this area and the ocean was the same. Would not recommend this part of Mexico if you're looking for crystal water. Loved this resort❣