Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Check it out!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Great location - great access to beach, excellent food, secluded enough to feel special, close enough to attractions for convenience
Cons: A little less Americanized food would be appreciated
Location: Multiple beaches, Mayan ruins, eco-parks, cities or isolated beaches
The staff and location are the best to be found in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A small, relaxing resort

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This was our second stay and Petit Lafitte. We stayed last year and were happy to return. This small resort is has a beautful, sandy beach and a lovely pool. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. The board includes breakfast and dinner. Breakfast has an array of fruit, cereals and pastries, plus a wide variety of hot items. Dinner had a soup, salad, and dessert bar with different items each evening. The main course had two items each evening.Some evening were theme nights, like barbecue night or Yucatan night. All meals were delicious, well plated and always served with a smile. The kitchen was a little slow with the entrees, but we were on vacation and had no place else to go, so it wasn't a problem. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. This is an out of the way resort: no clubs or night life, but perfect if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Peaceful, excellent staff, right on the beach

Posted Feb 1, 2017
It was a perfect vacation and we loved our hotel. We felt like family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

relaxing

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: cozy, beach chairs always available(no rush to get them)
Cons: all good
Location: good spot--playa del carmen 15 minute ride away
enjoyable, great place if you like calm environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

The best Hotel in Playa Del Carmen!!!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Best hotel experience ever. The staff were very attentive, kind, gracious, funny, and real. Guillermo was the best hotel manager ever. He took care of all our needs. We were very grateful to have such a warm, kind, gracious host. We are definitely going back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Friendly family atmosphere right on the beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Very reasonable pricing, excellent food, beautiful beach. Behind the hotel is a nature preserve with birds and monkeys jumping through the trees.
Location: The beach is beautiful. There are many places to explore nearby - Akumal, Yal Ku, and fascinating cenotes. I'd recommend renting a car.
Loved the beach, the bar, the bartenders and the waiters. Front desk staff was extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Friendly family oriented hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This is a great little hotel right on the beach close to Playa Del Carmen. It is not a luxury hotel, so I can't give it five stars for everything. However, the staff is great, the rooms are clean, the bar keeps the drinks flowing, and the beach is right there. What more could you want!?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Perfect location, delicious meals, excellent staff...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA State

Just the right size, not to small or big.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The service, food and location.
Cons: Access to cheaper transportation to local areas and parks. Also the entrance needs some work, make it more appealing.
Location: The location was perfect next to the beach, playa and 5th Ave is close by. Water theme parks are also close by, good area.
My wife and I had a great time in Playa del Carmen, the hotel we stayed was perfect in size and location. The rooms were comfy all though we had a little ant problem, which was taken cared of. The staff was excellent, and the food was very good I know because I'm a Mexican :). We arrived late on a Wednesday night and as dinner was about to end in 10min, they asked if we were hungry and they made us a plate and brought it to our room at no extra charge, that's what I call service! The day we had to leave we got up at 3:30am, and the staff had a breakfast bag the next morning for our travel back home. The hotel manager greeted us one day and asked how our stay was going and if he could do anything for us, Val and Martin the waiters were very friendly and caring. The only draw back was lack of transportation to Playa, but they are looking into this little problem. I would recommend this hotel to any one, who wants a quite relaxing hotel next to THE BEACH! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson az.

Romantic holiday in paradise

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Lovely secluded hotel,beautiful ocean views,lush tropical surroundings. All staff very cordial,beach front bar-restaurant served outstanding lunches and tropical drinks concocted by ever so pleasent and entertaining Jesus.Meals were served and prepared in a style befitting a four star restaurant.We were very happy with our room accommodations with an ocean view. Memories of our vacation at this breathtaking resort will always be cherished and we remain appreciative to all the wonderful staff who went out of their way to make us feel so very welcome. Letty Anne and John R.