Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

On the beach

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location and laid-back local vibe.
Location: Close to most of the attractions in Riviera Maya.
Walk out of your room to the sand and beach. Quaint, quiet, and unique beach resort. Family friendly, good food and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado rocky mountains

Quiet friendly hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
So happy to have found hotel. We are a family of 4 with two children, ages 10 & 12, stayed for a week. Our family is not the mega, all inclusive resort type who never leaves the resort and eats all meals on site but we did like that breakfast and dinner were included here. Completely happy with our garden bungalow, staff, location, everything. Loved the beach bar, beach patio, pool, and hammocks hanging in the shade everywhere. Felt very safe and welcomed by hotel. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. We do not sit still long before we feel compelled to set out for an adventure. Location is the perfect spot if you want to see the incredible sights nearby. We had a car for the week and could eat breakfast then venture out for the day and make it back in time for dinner except for day we went to Chichen Itza. Woke at 5:30am to get there by 8:00am and so glad we beat the heat and crowds that were arriving as we were leaving at noon. Would stay again and would recommend to anyone who does not want a mega resort, wants to be centrally located, and is interested in seeing the incredible sites and Mayan culture. We loved tulum, coba, Chichen Itza, cenote dos ojos, cenote samula, xcaret. Even 5th avenue in playa was fun to walk and shop for a few hours. So much to see, a week is not enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Definitely Staying Here Again

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great hotel. Very relaxing. Amazing hotel staff. Amazing food. Awesome bar on the beach. I will definitely be staying here again. And I will be recommending it to anyone traveling to the area. Thanks for the great stay Petit Lafitte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baraboo, Wi

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Nothing but accolades for this resort and its staff. We needed a base for our touring and Petite Lafitte was our home away from home. Of special mention was the accomodaring staff. A special thanks to Eduardo at the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low key charm

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great place to chill out of Hussite of Cancun for a night or 2. Great food and service with friendly guests .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel , close to beach , quite , i like it ..

Posted Mar 27, 2017
I had reslly freat time there .. its nice place to stay if you really wanna relax, quite.. stuff is nice, i just wish it had all inclusive because i end up paying so much for drinks and lunch at my check out .. but if you not into drinking, its perfect hotel to stay to relax and enjoy with family ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Amazing small hotel right on the beach!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Perfect small beach hotel! A hidden jewel in Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Small, cozy hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We enjoyed our stay with a family of four with two teenagers. The hotel is a relatively small and cozy hotel on the beach. Don't expect a mega resort with entertainment, multiple pools and kid clubs like the ones next door. Lafitte is about peace, good food and friendly staff in a beautiful beach setting. Best perk: the hammocks between the bungalows!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Food Not Good

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was lovely.
Cons: The kitchen needs serious improvement.
Location: The hotel is jammed in between large resort.
Petit Lafitte is a small hotel with a friendly staff and offers a more intimate experience than the big inclusives that dominate the Riviera Maya. If, however, you hoped for better food than the assembly-line hotels, you won't find it here. Dinners were mostly a disaster. One night it took an hour-and-a-half to get soup. The paella at Saturday night's buffet was (45 minutes into a two hour dinner hour) nothing but rice and a few mussels. Another night's dinner was simply inedible. Breakfast was fine with a wonderful array of fresh fruit and juices. The bungalows seemed charming. Our basic two-bedded room with ocean view had only a peak of the ocean, but we could sit on our deck and enjoy an up-close view of the bar and pool area, which was full of joyous children through much of the day. It was presidents week and the place was full. People reserved every chaise under the palapas out front by dawn, when people come out for the beautiful sunrise. Because of coral in the water in front of the hotel one must walk a couple of hundred feet to the left and swim with the crowds from the hotel next door. Jet skis zoom in and out. Because of the great accumulation of seaweed that washes up in the morning a noisy tractor rakes the expanse of beach before nine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Check it out!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Great location - great access to beach, excellent food, secluded enough to feel special, close enough to attractions for convenience
Cons: A little less Americanized food would be appreciated
Location: Multiple beaches, Mayan ruins, eco-parks, cities or isolated beaches
The staff and location are the best to be found in the area