Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OK

Great Hotel & Staff

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The Staff, the location, the facility, the price.
Cons: No suggestions.
Location: 5th Street is only 2 blocks away...and it has it all.
We prefer smaller hotels, on the beach, close to restaurants/shopping...but we like hotels that do not offer all-inclusive. We have found the all-inclusive crowd can have a lot of nice folks who are intent on drinking all they can all day and all night to be sure they get their money's worth. Good for them. Playa Palms was the perfect hotel for our tastes. Small...only 39 rooms I believe. Direct access to a small beach. Our room was on the second floor with ocean view and a beautiful balcony overlooking the beach. They do not have a restaurant or bar on the property so no all-inclusive, but it is only 2 blocks from 5th Street and all the food, drinks and shopping anyone could need. Playa Palms does, however, have very nice continental style breakfasts that they deliver to your room and at the time you request. The best thing about Playa Palms though was the staff. Carlos, and all the folks there, went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who has similar tastes to what I have described above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod MA

Paradise

Posted Mar 12, 2017
I can't wait to go back, the most amazing hotel great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Erica, Thank you for the 5-star rating, you kind comment and for sharing your beautiful photo! It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Nice Hotel in front of the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Very nice and quiet hotel. People make you feel welcome all the time. Close to 5th Ave but away from all of the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. J, Thank you for your kind comments and the 5-star rating! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we made you feel welcome. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Excellent, small, beach front hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: location, building design, large room, nice grounds, great for couples
Cons: breakfast, sulphur smell at beach
Location: the club strip is just one street away, but clubgoers probably do not stay at this hotel, great for walking Avenida 5
We came to this hotel after 2 days in a palapa on the beach in Tulum, so the cleanliness and comfort of this hotel was greatly appreciated. We happened to have the best "garden view" room which had a partial sea view from the patio. I love the open patio to receive breakfast. The room was a good size with a large closet and plenty of shelf space in the bathroom. There are some gadgets and offerings in the room for simple food prep too. It would be a great place to stay for a week. The location is excellent, although we are not sure what caused a strong sulphur smell coming from the beach. It did not get into the room, so that was good. The cooling system was less responsive than a previous hotel we stayed at in Playa, but worked just fine.We also really liked how this room was not a standard box, the closet and shower were both interesting triangular shapes. My only complaint is that the included breakfast was limited to things made with croissants. We opted for fruit for only a few dollars upgrade, and were happy to receive a good portion of yogurt, granola, fruit, juice, and coffee. The design of the building overall was unique and fun. This place would be ok for families, but is best for couples. Not many partiers here, nice and quiet, but friendly. I will definitely look at this hotel again if I return to Playa del Carmen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear RenZ, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially your room with the open patio. Regarding the smell from the beach, it was probably because of the seaweed that can be washed up at this time of the year. We are sorry for the smell, but since it is a natural phenomenon there's only so much we can do about it. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Idaho

cute little hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: the staff was very helpful and nice
Cons: i know it sounds silly but we were given a coffee maker but no coffee filters and no coffee :( and i really needed some Qtips
Location: the market is two blocks away, and the night clubs are right there!
we loved being right on the beach, the only down falls were the fishing boats are right in front of the hotel beach so you have to get out past them to enjoy the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. We are also happy to inform you, that we recently switched to capsule coffee machines. Upon arrival, you already have some capsules in your room, and you can order more at the front desk. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that is on the beach.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: On the beach and close to town.
Location: On the beach and in the center of town close to all the action and restaurants.
Had a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. The continental breakfast delivered to the room each morning was an unexpected treat. If you enjoy fishing, scuba diving or snorkeling, there were many private boats fronting hotel willing to take you at reasonable rates. The hotel is very close to Playa's many restaurants offering many different cuisines.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for you kind review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the many possibilities of excursions, dining and entertainment you find close to Playa Palms Beach Hotel. It was our pleasure treating you with our room service breakfast, for you to enjoy on your balcony with ocean view. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meridian, ID

Awesome location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, general atmosphere.
Location: Close to 5th Avenue, for those that want to shop of dine.The beach is right there, an easy walk along to beach to many restaurants &bars.
This was our second time at the Playa Palms and enjoyed our stay both times. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help, just ask! The location, close to 5th Avenue, for those that want to shop of dine is perfect, close but just far enough away to avoid the hustle & bustle. The location, close to 5th Avenue, for those that want to shop of dine is perfect, close but just far enough away to avoid the hustle & bustle. The beach is right there, then an easy walk along to beach to many restaurants and bars for you to enjoy. for you to enjoy. Unfortunately the beach at times has quite a bit of seaweed, a problem in many places, and out of the hotels control.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Karl, Thank you very much for your kind feedback and your 5-star rating! It always makes us happy to welcome guests back, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us just as much. We especially appreciate your great shout-out to all our staff. It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Playa del Carmen! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to the beach, not private.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff, excellent service
Cons: nothing they can do, but moving the boats would be a huge plus to this hotel.
Location: There are several clubs a few doors down. There are great restaurants and 5th avenue is 2 blocks north. LIdo for lunch is a must.
This is a cute boutique hotel that sits on the beach. The beachfront is small and is where all the fishing boats dock so not a great view if you want to lounge and watch the water. The balconies face into a courtyard so you are opposite your neighbor while on your balcony. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The bathroom is a little small but it's a vacation,so it was fine. The staff is fabulous! The breakfast is served to your balcony each day at a designated time and they are always prompt and attentive. For us it was more than enough. Coffee, juice, toast, fruit and your choice of 4 different breakfast items. Make sure you get ocean front if you want to be in the front of the building and a direct view of the ocean. I got ocean view and it's not what I was thinking at all! Overall, a beautiful hotel where we had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you liked our property and enjoyed your stay here. We especially appreciate your kind comments about all our staff and the service we provide - be sure your words will be passed along! Regarding our Ocean View Studios, they all offer at least a partial ocean view from the balcony. As you mentioned, if what you're looking for is a unit that is facing straight to the ocean, one of our lovely Ocean Front Studios will fit your needs perfectly. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl keys

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great location.staff excellent. On the beach. Located close to 5th avenue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Doug, Thank you for your kind comments and the 5-star rating. We are pleased you liked our location and found our staff to be excellent. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Excellent overall and great value

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: No parking areas nearby, but it's a very crowded area. We were able to park on the street a couple of blocks away.
Location: Perfect location... situated on the beach but just two blocks away from countless clubs, shops, restaurants, bars.
The Playa Palms Beach Hotel was perfect for our stay. The staff was outstanding, friendly and so helpful. The hotel was very very clean and well kept. They have a wonderful and attentive staff. It's right on the beach and the rooms are entered through a beautiful courtyard surrounded by lush palm trees and native plants and a really nice, clean pool. Each room has it's own private patio or balcony with table and chairs and a hammock. The courtyard leads to a private beach area with cushioned lounge chairs and food beverage service. Everything about it was perfect and it's an incredible value for the price, especially when compared to the high cost of surrounding hotels. Great location, just a couple of blocks away from literally thousands of shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment. We felt very safe and secure here as well, they have 2 security attendants on premise every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are happy that you genuinely enjoyed your stay, and especially appreciate your 5-star rating and your great shout-out to all our staff. The kind feedback and satisfaction of our guests is the best reward for our team who works hard every day to make your stay a most comfortable one. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel