Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Service, and facility were excellent. Only complaint i have is their in room docking stations are outdated and fit iPhone 4 or older and are not Bluetooth capable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect location for BPM featival

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Our main purpose for our stay in playa was the BPM music festival. After much research, I decided that The Playa Palms was reasonable situated amongst all the venues of the festival. The Blue Parrot was the closest which is 2 building away. The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are cozy but have everything you need. The balcony is a definite plus. The pool is very quaint but enough for a dip and cool down. The private beach is small but it did its job. I would definitely start here again and recommend friends and family to stay. The staff was very professional and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Location and view were perfect.
Cons: If there is a draw back, it was the three flights of stairs. There are no elevators.
Location: The hotel is two blocks from 5th St., the heart of Playa del Carman.
The hotel was very nice with a fantastic location and a beautiful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Detailed service/staff.
Excellent service. Absolutely worth the money. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Helped us find tourist destinations, fixed up our room with a special order, and helped us track down a late taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking a moment to write this wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel services. Our staff is dedicated to provide you with an incomparable level of personalized service and we are happy we met your expectations. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi.

Paridise.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: View of the water and the island of Cozumel just across the water.
Cons: A lot of the upstairs rooms have small winding stairs. Pretty, but dangerous and hard to clime for older people.
Location: Great! 100's of shops and great restaurants nearby. Lots of side trips to various pyramids and historical sites are available. The usual water sports.
Great hotel. Only 38 rooms, which keeps the traffic at a minimum. Right on the beach. My wife and I had an Ocean front room with kitchenette and even a second bedroom, sort of like a basement. Plenty room, Small but well shaded beach and no problem getting a beach chair. Only 2 blocks from 5 th Ave, the main shopping and dinning area. My brother and sister in laws stayed on the second floor right across from us. They loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your ocean front studio with a view over the Caribbean Sea and our central location. Regarding the winding stairs, actually only 4 of our rooms are accessed through these. All the others are either on the ground floor or use broad stairs. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun little hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 25, 2016
You can't get a better location than this place, right on the beach. I think the photos make it look a lot bigger than it actually is so keep that in mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel just in the beach and 5th avenue

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Excelent hotel in from of the beach, good price and 1 block from the 5ta aveniva that is a super 3 km of fun an, music and restaurants with good stores and activities, 1 hour to all arquelogic places
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Probably my 6th or 7th stay at Playa Palms.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The architecture.
Cons: Add a restaurant.
Location: Close to everything you visit Mexico for.
We spent our honeymoon in one of the larger beach front rooms 13 years ago (when the hotel was part of the Blue Parrot) and have been going back ever since. There was previously a noise problem with the nearby bars, but we didn't hear a peep out of them the entire trip this time. I think this is a combination of less noise from the bars and new sliding room doors that are double pane and better insulating. Very clean and well maintained hotel. Staff is without compare. The only reason I couldn't give the hotel 5 stars in every single category is because they have no restaurant on site, which is of negligible consequence since so many are so close.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Jack, Thank you for your wodnerful review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, that you came back several times already. We especially appreciate you highlighting the tranquility of our rooms, since we put a lot of effort and money into soundproofing our rooms and the hotel entrance. Thank you also for your great shout-out to all our staff - be sure your comments will be passed on. Please let us know when you're planning a future visit, so you can enjoy our returning guest discount. We're already looking forward to see you again! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywoo, Fl

Nice small hotel(it is a prívate own condominiums)

Posted Sep 7, 2016
It is not a hotel. It is a private own condominium with personal attention like a small boutique hotel. The pool is small and honestly with no appeal to swim or relax. Because the layout and location. The place is beach front , but you can not swim because the local fisherman's boats keep their boats here. personal attitude is beyond excellent, specially Luis (at the front desk). In general is a place that I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Nau, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your great shout-out to our staff and Luis. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you will come back! We are already looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and courteous staff.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: Very close to 5th Avenue which is the main tourist street with restaurants and stores.
Extremely helpful and courteous staff. Loved having breakfast delivered to my room each morning on my deck. Hotel right on beach and provided coupons for two complimentary drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your high punctuation and the kind comments. We are excited to read that you loved having your breakfast delivered and for the great shout-out to all our staff. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel