Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy agradable

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Todo, mas que nada la ubicación
Cons: Costo
Location: Muy cerca de la 12, donde estan todos los antros
Excelente, la ubicación es perfecta para estar muy tranquilo en la playa, pero también para que en la noche uno esté muy cerca de los antros
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel, on beach, close to shopping,

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Relaxing, great staff, good value for your money,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great stay!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, helpful staff
Cons: Beach front access isn't the greatest place to swim
Location: Lots of tourist shops and food. A big mall a few blocks away. Close to the bus station that has direct trip to the Cancun airport.
Hotel was right on the beach with a great location close to lots of food, shops and night clubs. Not recommended for young children as it was pretty loud and busy while we were there, but there was also the bpm festival happening, so that could be the reason. Beautiful location right on the beach, however, the sand has eroded quite badly and it's not the greatest entry into the water, in addition, many boats dock right up to the beach, so it's really not the best for swimming. We had to go to a different beach every day to swim in the ocean. The pool was nice and it was great to sit on the balcony in the hammocks. The breakfast that was included is really just coffee/tea, juice and a few pieces of bread. Any extras you want are more money on top of that. We never ordered anything else for breakfast as it seemed like pretty small portions. Staff was very helpful and friendly and could speak English pretty well. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by Désirée, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and your encouraging comments about our staff will sure be passed on! Regarding the beach, its erosion is a natural phenomenon which occurs seasonally. In the winter months typically we have more northern winds and that takes sand away. As the wind turns over time we get sand in return again. Further, keep in mind that Playa del Carmen originally was a small fishermen’s town. Even though it has grown significantly over the recent years, the fishermen are still a part of the town’s enchantment. As they cast for fish, usually in the mornings there are fewer boats. Also, as the water isn’t very deep in the area, you can easily walk into the sea between the boats or just enter a few meters further away. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Désirée Front Desk & Social Media
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Paradise

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent, location was perfect for all excursion activities, rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and nice kitchen amenities.
Cons: Nearby night clubs - could be an issue for lite sleepers. Upper floors are awesome if you don't mind stairs. Other than that this place is awesome!
Location: Right on the beach close to restaurants and shops. Lots of excursions - two we enjoyed were Xel-ha and Chichen-Itza.
We loved our stay at Playa Palms. The hotel is right on the beach very close to 5th Ave restaurants and shops. The staff was excellent and because it is a small hotel we felt like they got to know us, making us feel very welcome. The balconies all face the water which was a beautiful , great for enjoying the continental breakfast that was brought up daily. (very simple breakfast of coffee, juice and breads) The only negative was that we could hear the bass music from the clubs at times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by Désírée, Hotel Management
Dear Kirkland, Thank you for taking the time to review Playa Palms. We are glad you enjoyed our property and amenities. Be sure your lovely comments will be passed on to the entire team! Regarding the noise, we have invested a lot of effort into soundproofing our rooms and received many compliments that they are to a large degree well soundproofed. But we recognize that some need further sound isolation and apologize for any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Désirée Front Desk & Social Media Playa Palms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, Missouri

Room 214

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Everyone was wonderful, helpful as needed and always smiling. Our balcony/patio was huge overhanging the beach 50 feet from the sea. We enjoyed watching the fisherman come and go. Close to ground zero for partying but far enough away (2 minute walk) to avoid the crowds. Room comfortable, roomy and functional. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by Désirée, Hotel Management
Dear Jack and Vicki, Thank you for sharing your lovely review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, your room and your balcony. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Désirée Front Desk & Social Media
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Hotel agradable

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Mi estancia en el hotel fue buena ya que, esta bien ubicado, tiene club de playa y cerca de todos los restaurantes y avenida principal. Las habitaciones son agradables y comódas, salvo al principio que había mucho polvo y se escuchaban ruidos de una tubería o Caldera.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MERIDA, YUCATAN

HOTEL EXCELENTEMENTE UBICADO.

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: SU UBICACIÓN
Cons: QUE NO TIENE ESTACIONAMIENTO.
Location: PLAYA DEL CARMEN POR SI SOLO ES UN PARAÍSO, TANTO ESCÉNICO COMO EN RESTAURANTES Y PLAZAS COMERCIALES.
UN HOTEL EXCELENTEMENTE UBICADO TANTO EN PLAYA COMO EN LAS PRINCIPALES ATRACCIONES DEL LUGAR. MUY TRANQUILO Y PINTORESCO
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Muy mal hotel muchas carencias y sin agua fatal !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

オーシャンビューのリーズナブルホテル

Posted Nov 20, 2015
ホテルはプラヤ・デル・カルメンの5番通りからすぐのところにありアクセスは良好。 部屋は普通の部屋は部分的に海が見え、オーシャンフロントだと海が目の前に見える。 オーシャンフロントの3階に宿泊しましたが、テラスの目の前は海で、ハンモック、ロングシート、朝食など食事のできるテーブル(4人席)がありよい。朝日がキレイに見える。 朝食はコンチネンタル・ブレックファスト(パン、コーヒーor紅茶、オレンジジュース)が無料で、オプションでフルーツプレートなど(数十ペソ/ 人)を追加ができる。頼んだフルーツプレートはかなりフルーツが盛りだくさんでよい、一方、オプションをつけないと寂しい朝食かも。 ◆注意点 ・Wi-Fiは遅くてPCだと使い物にならず、スマホであんんとかサイトを表示できるレベル ・ホテルの近くがクラブ街になっており、女性1人で夜出歩くと危ないかも ・クラブの音は夜7時過ぎから朝の6時過ぎまでうるさい、クラブに壁が無いので音漏れはかなりひどい ・道路沿いの部屋になると夜うるさいかも、オーシャンフロントの部屋は道路と反対の海側なので、多少は音がマシだったが、重低音の音漏れが気になる人にはつらいかも ・自分は相当重低音の響きが気になる方なので、海側の部屋でも夜は気になった(耳栓をして寝ました) ・宿泊した月〜水で毎日クラブ営業していたので、曜日関係無く音漏れがひどい可能性が高い
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Very nice boputique hotel. Luiz at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The entire staff is amazing. I got a small studio # 107 room with all amenities, a great terrace with ocean view. Even though it is the "furthest" room from the sand it is just about 100 feet away, seriously! so you are right on a nice sandy beach, Can't do any better than that.