Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great service

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, staff on the whole are fantastic great service without before by over the top. We enjoyed the fact the resort wasn't pretentious and was fairly relaxed but you still felt special. Comfiest bed we have ever slept in too! Great location if like us you like to have a wander, you literally step out of the door and you are in playa del carmen, although once in the hotel you wouldn't know it. If you have stayed in other resorts in Mexico this one is definitely not quite as "mega" as some of them however they were constantly working on the hotel. Food was fantastic, didn't have a bad meal do find the Mexican restaurant it's worth the search! And great drinks your cup won't go empty! The negatives (that I'd of liked to know): the ferry port is literally next to the hotel this is the view from your sunbed and can be noisy. The pool is small, and very shallow, the 2nd pool in front of the beach isn't a pool it's ankle deep. Resort great in the week, at the weekend I felt like i was in Ibiza with loud music and people calling in the pool they were so drunk... we went out... hotel is great for Tulum and Akumal! Entertainment team are not too in your face but because the pool area is so small you can't get away from it unless you go on the beach. A note on resort credits, you pay the 16% tax, you don't have to use them but if you want a spa treatment or to do a trip they are worth it. The spa and gym are great! Despite any negatives we would go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Most Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Close to town, you can walk everywhere
All inclusive and everything was good. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Close to shops and best beach spot

Posted Oct 18, 2016
With a family of 9 with all age groups this hotel was perfect. The location is superb being close to all the shopping or the ferry. The service was flawless and the food amazing. The cocktails were also on point. The spa is also unbelievable, nicest one I've even been in. We stayed 3 nights and got hotel credits to spend on activities which we used for massages and swimming with dolphins! Everyone loved it. Hotel: 9 Service: 10 Location: 10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Room: 10 Service: 10 Location: 10 The hotel is clean, the rooms are very comfortable (the beds are amazing!), the food is great, and the location is perfect being a two minute walk away from the ferry to Cozumel and a two minute walk from the famous Quinta Avenida. The staff constantly went over and beyond in order to make us feel welcome and remembered our names and everyone in our group, they really made our holiday unforgettable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Favorite part was its location. Shopping 5th Ave. and mall within walking distance as well as ferry to Cozumel.
Cons: Food was good overall, but would've preferred one more casual atmosphere, BUTwith it's name containing 'Palace' expected royal treatment
Location: We took the ferry to Cozumel for a day of scootering around the island and enjoying a late lunch at the sister resort Cozumel Palace and swim free
Beautiful resort with wonderful staff and location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Holiday in Mexico was so good

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: 1 hour drive from airport but worth it. Beach was fantastic and lots of daytime trips available. Apart from hotel not much to do in the evenings.
I stayed for 12 days at the beginning of October at the Playacar Palace and it was very good. The room was perfect and cleaned everyday including change of bedding and clean towels. Had room 423 which had a fantastic view of pool and beach. Beach was the best ever and pool was very clean. Breakfast and lunch was buffet style and had so much to choose from. Choice of five resturants for evening meals although I think they should have had a buffet in the evening as this was advertised but changed for this year. Would have given overall rating 5 if wasn't for this
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Guayaquil

Good beachfront hotel and near the village

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Near the town without being noticeable or annoying
The hotel is average I expected a little more. But the most interesting is that this next to the village just a couple of minutes or less walk, but it's not something you notice or bother guests, rather it is a great advantage if you want to give you a ride down Fifth Avenue, do some shopping, eating out or some nightlife in Playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Angelo, Texas

Wonderful vacation at Playacar Palace

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Professionalism of the entire staff was exemplary.
Cons: Updating of the guest rooms which should happen in the near future.
Location: See notes of the experience above.
The resort is located adjacent to a beautiful sandy beach with quick and easy access to the water. The resort does an excellent job of maintaining the beach in a most pristine condition, an activity they accomplish starting at day break each day. There is one pool which is certainly adequately large for the size of the resort. It is also maintained in an outstanding manner and offers a verity of daily organized activities of guest. Also on the campus are several restaurants from which to choose and the food was always good. The rooms although very comfortable and clean could stand some updating, but I understand that project is in the initial stages and could get under way in the next few months. Other highlights include the near by Ferry Service to Cozumel as well as the famous 5th Ave market place which is only a five minute walk from the resort. All in all, a great to get away for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic getaway!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great amenities and fantastic staff. Location is perfect if you want to get away but still be close to the centre. The suites are worth the room upgrade with fantastic views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and friendly staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The AC was always working great in our room! You needed it after a hot day on the beach. The food was really good. Did not have a thing I did not like
Cons: It needs a little updating. Some of the furniture and amenities were a little out dated. Nothing to bad just needs a little up to date.
Location: Shopping, ferry to cozumel, restaurants
This hotel was a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and willing to exceed your expectations. It was close to the ferry if you wanted to go to Cozumel. We did not but it was nice if we wanted to. Nora was the best waitress ever out on the beach for service!! Keep them coming! Just over all great time with an awesome experience.