Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

The beach was beautiful as well as the resort.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
We were there for a wedding. The resort was beautiful and the wedding was perfect. Loved that we could walk right off of our beach into the adorable town of playa del carmen
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort and close to everything!

Posted Sep 12, 2015
We had our honeymoon here and absolutely LOVED it here! The staff were so amazing, the food was delicious, and our room was beautiful and nicely air conditioned. The spa massages were enjoyable and the people who helped us plan our week with store credits and excursions were extremely helpful too. Helpful tips: 1) if you're planning excursions, book when you get there and not online, since they know what kind of experience each excursion will give you. 2) if you're planning to do a photo shoot, always ask for the cost of the photos and photo session before you sign up. We were so happy to receive these pictures but didn't expect the higher than normal prices we'd have to pay upfront. 3) be prepared to pay for taxes when requesting services with store credits. Special thanks to Raul & Fernando, servers @ Alquimia and our beachside romantic dinner :) they made our dinner dates so smooth and easy going :) also, to Ricardo who took our beautiful photos. We loved them!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Terrible Experience

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Went to this hotel for our honey moon, and we ended up changing hotels. It was disappointing to see that the pictures don’t resemble reality. The hotel is not old but it needs work to be done; you can find doors with pieces of cardboard covering holes, it needs to be painted, the pool is not as big as it should for the number of rooms it has. It consists only of a building, it has no gardens nor sport zones. The beach in this area is dark because it’s very close to the harbor and it has a putrid smell. In addition to that, there aren’t a lot of palm trees. Next to the hotel is a wall full of graffiti, not the best location. The service is not good; when we checked in, none of the staff explained how to use the room service (which by the way it has very limited options). We ordered food to our room at 11:00 pm and next day at 10:00 am the food tray was still on the floor. When you go on holiday you want the best service possible, but you are not going to get it here. This hotel is not worth going for the amount of money they charge you, you can find excellent hotels with beautiful landscaping and top service for the same amount of money. This hotel deserves no more than 3 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel Needs Renovation

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: 5th Ave is about a block away.
Hotel needs renovation. Starting at the pool bar with it's cracked granite to flooring all over the hotel in need a new grout. Buffet menu needs a major retooling, food just sucks. The only restaurant worth your time is the Japanese restaurant. My only recommendation is to avoid this hotel until a major renovation is completed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Honeymooners stay away

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Probably a great place for families to stay. Lots of resort credits, things to do and close to everything. But not a place for honeymooners. <9yo's out number adults and there is ZERO activities for adults only. Even the "Luna Lounge" has more kids in it after 10pm than adults. Not a bad facility, nice rooms, nice people, but just not the place to go on a romantic honeymoon. Pools (realistically only 1 small one) are tiny and outdated. Good beach but seating and chairs are old and uncomfortable so most people use the pool anyway. Good food but only 3 restaurants (Mexican, Asian and Italian). Gets old after 4-5 days (we stayed for 10). We did visit Cozumel (even older and more run down) and Moon Palace. If you are going on a honeymoon and are mid 20's-30's GO TO MOON PALACE. It's like the Bellagio or an upscale Las Vegas resort. Awesome HUGE pools, TONS of awesome restaurants etc. It's family oriented too, but has adults night clubs etc. if I did it again I'd stay at Moon Palace (either the Nizuc or Grand wing). Palace is a good brand, nothing bad to say about the staff, but Playacar is not the place for honeymooners
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j


Posted Jun 22, 2015
We had a lot rain. But the staff always stay friendly. We had a fun time! Thanks, Maria Jaramillo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES CA

Older smaller resort Great staff

Posted Jun 17, 2015
To start room type, "ocean view" room was actually a partial view room, from inside of room unable to see the ocean, at extremely small balcony, a small round coffee table and 2 chairs, you had a wall on the left blocking the ocean view and meant no sunrises in the mornings also a huge pillar blocking the ocean view, so in reality was a corner partial view. Was invited to a sales meeting, didnt mind used to these throughout Mexico. Was insulted and was reminded why we did not have an oceanview room by sales staff. At the buffett, food would be cold, on a daily basis approx. 8am would run out of ...conchas, mexican sweet bread. At the grill at the pool area, everyday before noon time they would run out of syrups for the smoothies. In addition was told they ran out of shrimp and had not recieved shrimp, keep in mind they have shrimp ceviche and shrimp tacos on their menu Lastly, on our last nite i pre-checked out at about 6pm to avoid any issues the following morning, was being picked up at 3:30 a.m, by our private transportation booked thru Expedia. We had ordered breakfast thru their roomservice and we called to inform them of this thursday nite, we were told to place it outside on the door knob and it would be picked up.by 11pm. So, at 230am, when we got up expexting our breakfast, and none, i called and they had no idea of our order, i explained to them our situation and order was brought to us as our transportation arrived. And at the lobby was treated as a thief.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francissco

First time and good time

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Cons: How about a little cafe??
4 of us stayed for 7 nights and love this resort. It i s small and relax and most importantly not crowded like a grand hotel or resort and easy access to the beach and pool. The employees of this resort work hard and good as a team to care for the patrons. The location is also good, we just walk to the ferry dock within 10 minutes. We go to the beach everyday and enjoy all of those 3 restaurants. We will be back.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Carlos from Florianópolis

Ótima opção em Playa Del Carmen

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente hotel em localização privilegiada, próximo á 5ª avenida.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Andrea from SP


Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel maravilhoso, com serviços excelentes. Tem banheira no quarto. De cara nos deram um up grade (vista parcial para o mar). Amei!