Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closer to a hostel than a hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great bargain! Excellent location. Two minute walk to the beach for a fraction of the price of the surrounding hotels. Mere minutes to dozens of restaurants, the bus and ferry terminals, shops on the outdoor pedestrian mall. The place itself is old and shabby, a real throwback to the old days before the PDC building boom. But the staff is very friendly and clean things very diligently every day. If you need a sterile environment where everything works perfectly, this is not your place. But if you just need a place to throw your bag and crash after a long day in the thick of the action, Popol Vuh is a budget lifesaver.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beat up old place in good location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I like to travel cheap, but I think most people would find this place disappointing. I chose this place based on a recommendation in a Lonely Planet guide. I stayed in a hotel room for the air conditioning as recommended by that guide. The location is fantastic! Right next to the beach, just off of 5th avenue, right around the corner from the ADO bus station. It is a bit of a walk to get groceries from Mega, maybe 20-25 minutes. I was on the bottom floor of the hotel, and even though it is close the 5th and there is a noisey "locals" bar right outside on 2nd, the room was quiet at night and I slept very well. The room was simple with tile floor & 2 beds, a private toilet & shower ( which I have not had in comparable places in New York or Europe), a fridge, a TV with 2 English channels (BBC cooking shows & some movie channel), & air conditioning. Windows were broken and wouldn't lock properly, dresser was broken. I figured if someone crawled in during the night I would wake up when they tried to open the dresser and it fell apart on them. ;) Otherwise I never left any valuables in the room. I will say that the woman there during the day was very friendly and kept the room very clean daily. Each day she left new towels made into a different animal sculpture, just like you might get at a fancy resort. For me, the cheap price during low season and the good location, outweighed the fact that this is not luxury accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint room

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice area, near to all attractions, beautiful garden with hammocks, very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to the beach and 5th avenue,

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice common area where guest can hang out, hammocks. Staff was excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great vaca

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Serene and natural beach hideaway in the city

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We loved our hut--the wooden frame, thatched roof and screened windows were charismatic and down to earth! We slept well with all the fresh air in the room and the fans were so practical that we didn't miss AC at all. The sandy courtyard was serene, shaded by big Palm trees which keep it cool during hot times of day. We enjoyed using the hammocks and the communal kitchen was clean and convenient. Walk east out of the property about 50 paces and you're at the beach! Had a great massage there and heard great music at the neighboring beach bar! Walk south out of the property and cross the street for the hotel restaurant--sit at the bar swing and try their margaritas and fish or shrimp tacos. Excellent! The housekeeping staff did a great job--we always had clean towels, porches and floors. It is within minutes walking distance from the pier/ferries to Cozumel, ADObus station, nightlife, shops and great local eateries recommended by a staff member. Thank you to the wonderful people there--Great vacation/experience!
4 out of 5
by barbara from Cozumel

Better than ever!

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
I've stayed at Popul Vuh many times. The location can't be beat and I love the friendly vibe. The owner has made some nice improvements to the property and it is even better than before. Highly recommended for a casual, friendly hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
This is a non traditional hotel that brings local culture relaxation and mystique in one package.
4 out of 5
by Rosalind from BC

Informal

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed it as always. The host Fabian is a genuinely nice guy. It's like a backpacker hostel, we enjoyed the relative privacy of the cabana. The fan was very loud, but the hurricane it provided kept the mosquitoes off, we didn't even need the net provided.
5 out of 5
by Jenica from Indiana

Great experience!

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
Everyone was extremely friendly. Very personable. They cleaned our room daily and made a different towel animal every day. We could see the beach from the gate and it only took us literally one minute to get there. I felt very safe givien the fact we had my daughter with us this trip. We will definitely stay there again next vacation.