Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Excellent hotel with great service

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Excellent hotel with great service. I will definitely come back. Everything was perfect for vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

a Gem, outstanding and comfortable stay

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Great place, cant really fault it: amazing mexican decor looked like 5 star condo, spacious apartment with everything that you need, plus swimming pool was refreshing after a day out and entry to a proper gym with classes and all equipment included. Just behind is the 5th avenue and close proximity to anything you need. Had an amazing stay, highly recommendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent staff, good facilities, no soundproofing

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool, gym.
Cons: Soundproofing. Antislip on the paving and steps.
Location: Central location within walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Cant speak highly enough of the staff . Team Porto were efficient , helpful and always had a warm greeting. The pool is wonderful, the gym facilities are great and the beach is within walking distance. The beach though is littered with boats so you can't really swim in the designated area. In room facilities were good, albeit the plumbing needs some work. Unfortunately, our experience was marred by an insomiac in the floor above. You can hear every footstep which is amplified when someone hss thongs on. Not the fault of staff but resulted in two nighrs without much sleep. If you are on the top floor this is not an issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very much enjoyed this hotel. Traveled with our 7months old son and the 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for us. The only down side is that there is no ramp, so we had to take the stroller up and down the stairs every time, but the staff was very helpful. Perfect location for food and shopping. The beach unfortunately is not so nice anymore...lots of sea weeds! Finally, there was a little bit of noise at night, but much less than nay other hotels we've stayed at in Playa del Carmen before. Would highly recommend to stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

mold! With incense and candles for the cover up!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
This is my worst experience at any hotel in over 20 years! I knew there was a problem when I walked in the room and the temperature was really cold! I also noticed they had scented candles burning earlier to mask the smell of mold in the room. This room gets no sun light and can't be easily ventilated! I am still sick from staying here two nights of the 6 that we paid for! This room 203 is a death trap unless it gets cleaned and the necessary repairs are made to the room! The management would do nothing to either move us or relocate us! Really incredible ! We moved to another hotel in playa for the remainder of our stay! Hopefully Expedia and this Hotel step up to the plate and provide a total refund since they failed to provide a room that was adequate and standard! The room provided was sub standard and I could easily have had the place shut down if located in the us!
5 out of 5
by James from Dallas

Very welcoming condo stay

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Porto Playa - highly recommend. This is a condo, not a hotel. So you'll get a full kitchen and separate rooms. I got a 2-bedroom unit #212. It is beautiful, Well decorated, stainless kitchen appliances, 3 flat screen TVs with cable, semi private patio, I saw complaints of noise - the only noise I heard was occasional music from morning classes at 'the Gym' underneath. Which is free to use. It's a full health club, not just a hotel treadmill. You also have access to the beach club 'Indigo' at the nearby sister property El Taj. Unit 212, the sun does come thru the master bedroom window early - had to roll down an outside screen. Pre-stocked with reasonably priced drinks (red wine $200pesos, or $12usd, corona beer $25pesos or less than $2usd - bring you own lime;). I love this place and will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockville, Ontario, Canada

Great location to shopping and beach

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Tropical courtyard with patio. Great pool. Friendly accommodating staff. Walk everywhere.
Cons: Metal chairs at kitchen counter noisy on tile floor, hard to move once seated.
Location: Very nice club house with restaurant, the gym is next door and included. 5th. Avenue shopping and restaurants one short block away.
Chose this hotel to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Great location, walk to restaurants and shopping. Beach club close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DC

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Orbitz
Amazing place to stay! Great location between 5th St and the beach. Helpful staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great place , have everything you need with family, just in the middle of the Main Street without the noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location, blocks from beach, block from 5th.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: location, ambiance, smaller hotel, cleanliness and service
Cons: alternate beach clubs
Location: Shops, restaurants, fishing, swimming
Everything was as expected with hotel. Great and at a good value. own hottub, rooftop terrace and BBQ a bonus. only disappointment was at the associated Indigo Beach club, lots of seaweed, so went couple of hundred meters north to a club where it was cleaned up.