Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andy from Belize

Great customer service

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: staff was friendly
Cons: resort is small for an all-inlcusive
Location: free shuttle very convenient
I've stayed at several other all-inclusive resorts in Playa Del Carmen. Riu Lupita is relatively smaller than the others. However, they make up for this. There is a shuttle to their beach club which stops at 5th avenue every 30mins. Internet is free (90mins a day), other places charge a lot for access. Food was good. Drinks were good; especially since the beer was dos equis (XX). The minibar in the room was an actual minibar. Minifridge was stocked and there was a bottle of rum, tequila, gin and vodka in the rooms. I've stayed at other places where the minifridge just has one bottle of water and one soda; with no other drinks. the staff was really friendly and genuinely tried to make us happy. Julie was wonderful and even reserved the restaurant for our group.
3 out of 5
by Bruce from Ontario, Canada

Their is nothing in a name.

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Beach front is new and well organized
Cons: Food quality and choice was repetitive. Very limited and 6 stations cooked 4 things of the 24 things 23 were the same night after night.
Location: Near the Playacar, beside golf course 10 minute bus ride daily to the beach
The question is why would a corporation like RIU with such a good reputation for such high standards keep a place like the Lapita in their crown. Mercedes never built a K car. They built high quality cars and established a name for themselves. Riu, according to my last 6 stays at RIU's other locations, had done the same as Mercedes- or so I thought. It does this corporation no good to keep a 2 star like Lapita in the crown. From the food quality and selection, location, rooms, unilingual staff and the grounds all about the Lapita is that it is "OK" that is it. It tarnishes the RIU reputation by having sub standard properties. They should sell it off to "Beaches" or Sandals or some 3 star group. From a marketing and corporate analysis I am at a loss as to why RIU keeps their name of on this property?????
1 out of 5
by Jack from Rhode Island, USA

Stay away from Riu.

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: coffee
Cons: food and drinks
Location: Playa del carmen
The food was awful, I was sick the second nite there. Drinks were very bad tasting, I could drink only whiskey on ice. Forget about the bar in the room no ice and the rum, gin, and vodka were generic and tasted so bad we did not touch it. we tried the two other resorts owned by Riu and they were pretty sad also. We had to go to town to find decent food. All inclusive is a trick with this company to lure you in, birds and wild animals come into the dining area as your are eating. Lost 8 lbs. at an all inclusive resort, How about that.
2 out of 5
by peppe from state island , NY, USA

very missleading

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: the pool
Cons: the food
Location: good location
The food was terrible i am not a drinker and i can tell you this the alcohol was watered down big time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julio from Houston, TX, USA

The real thing

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: Food
Cons: Lack of Parking
Location: Location is great.
Excelent food and service.....need to improove the AC. also the water cutted some times, the WIFi wireless to week couldn't connect my phone wireless from the room only on the reception. No parking available some times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good times

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: The food
Cons: Size
Location: Not on the beach but still great location. Playacar is a gated community and we felt very safe.
The Lupita is very small. If you want a relaxing and quaint resort this is the one for you. I got the sense that they know and understand they are so small in compairison to the other Riu's in the area and had to step it up with the food and entertainment. The food was GREAT! And there was tons of entertainment. The bus to the beach is a short ride. Also the ability to go to the other Riu's is a great plus.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good one..

Posted Mar 28, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Food, entertainment
Food was not good. Repeating the same food everyday. Entertainment was awful. You feel you are stuck there. Beach is far, pool is bad, staff at front desk was bad. Over all bad experience, especially when I came over from El Cid resort.
2 out of 5
by MATV from Chicago, IL, USA

Not worth it!

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Cons: The staff is horrible and I had food poisoning there!
Location: Location is the worst. It takes up to half an hour to go to the beach, by the hotel shuttle
The food was horrible - I had food poisoning. My room door wouldn't open so they had to change me into another room, but that took 2 hours and, surprise, the door of the new room did not work either. The staff could not be any less supportive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not 5 star, but pefect place when on a budget!

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Hammocks, service, all-inclusive, pool.
While this isn't a 5 star hotel, we found it perfect for what we needed. The rooms were clean, we weren't staying at the Hilton, so it was just a nice bed and a tv. There was an air conditioning unit in our room and a shower in the bathroom. There was also a nice balcony. The room was stocked with bottled water and the bar. You can tell they were using strong cleaning chemical to clean the room every day, but other than that we were pleased with our room. All the staff were super friendly and always answered our questions. Everyone spoke English. The pools and the lounge chairs and hammocks were all wonderful places to hang out. The food was what I expected. Again, it wasn't 5 star, but there were plenty of choices, from American to Italian, to Mexican dishes on the buffet. I enjoyed everything we ate. We would stay there again and the price was right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barrington from Illinois

Staff is what makes this place amazing!

Posted Mar 15, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: food and updating of hotel
Location: If you get an amazing deal it would probably be worth it; location is EXTREMELY safe! Definitley stay in the playacar vacinity!
Staff is amazing!!!!! Hotel is a bit outdated but is definitely made up for by staff. Food is about a 3 out of 5; same food every day, not high quality and no authentic mexican food, more commercialized. Shuttle offered every 30 minutes to take you to other stops that offer the ocean but bus can be over packed and not convenient. Taxi anywhere in playacar is only $7US each way so will not cost much to just get a taxi. Out of all the RIU's offered, RIU Playacar was probably the nicest, RIU Yucatan was over packed and needs more chairs to accomodate. You are not allowed at RIU Palace and another location. Staff is extremely nice but if you are drinking by the pool at the RIU Playacar, be VERY generous on your tipping or they will ignore you; a couple US dollars are definitely not enough for them to care at that location. Staff at ALL other RIU's are amazing, it is only the Playacar that they definitely were not pleasant without generous tipping. Rest of staff is amazing and front desk is exceptional! If you go into town and you want authentic quesadillas, definitely stop at Las Quecas! SUPER amazing, rediculously cheap, and will not upset your stomach! A great bar that is super cheap with specials is the "hidden bar". Great location and will not break you! If you are from the US, I would recommend keeping dollars if you plan to go shopping.